We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great visit”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #42 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Winterville
1 review
“great visit”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed at Hotel Alessandra with my wife for 2 nights. We felt right at home in a friendly environment. Anna and Andrea were wonderful hosts and were very helpful in making reservations for us at both the Uffizi and the Accademia. Now that Florence has taken cars out of the historic center the street was very quiet with just the occasional cab. There were a fine choice of places to eat without having to go very far. The quiet street and the hotel were a peaceful and safe refuge from the more active parts of town. The bathroom was shared but privacy was not a problem and the rooms were always kept very clean. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of choices and a good way to start the day. Its hard to beat the location- one block back from the Arno near the Ponte Vecchio and just a short walk to the Uffizi. There is a one flight walk up to get to a small elevator but this was no problem. I hope I have the good fortune to stay here again. I wish them the very best.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelWinterville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
We loved having you to stay, and are so pleased we were the right choice for you. Come back soon!

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    465
    62
    13
    10
See reviews for
357
830
150
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the Hotel Alessandra after two days of travel, and were met very warmly by Andrea at the desk. We were very hungry, and he recommended a Trattoria nearby that was open between lunch and dinner that was fabulous. That was a preview of the rest of our stay there. The entire hotel staff was so kind, and the charm of the building itself was irresistible. Our view of the Arno River was lovely, and we were in walking distance to everything. Our private bathroom down the hall was a non-issue, as you seldom see other guests in the hallways. They arranged for a cab to pick us up early on our departure date, and were always excited to answer questions or give recommendations. We loved our stay here, and would recommend it to our friends!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Fabulous! So pleased that you enjoyed it - and we hope you come back one day.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel is perfect. The room is fairly large for European standards. The ceilings were at least 12' tall, which made the room look huge. We had a river view which was nice. The room was very clean, no funky smell sometimes associated with older hotels.

The real gem was the staff. They were all very friendly, especially Andrea. If you need to know anything, ask him. He was very helpful in recommending a good pizza joint, and it didn't disappoint. I will definitely stay here next time i'm in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tattooed_beast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This lovely hotel is simple and perfect, in 15th century building with good modern updates (windows, bathrooms, etc). It was exactly what we hoped to find: so close to many locations but on a quiet sidestreet that took you away from the crowds. Friendly owners and staff, very accommodating and a solid breakfast with as much espresso or cappuccino as you like.
There is a flight of stairs to climb to get to the elevator and some internal stairs which is important if mobility is restricted. I wish the toiletries were a bit nicer (but that is a minor point).

Room Tip: The "junior suite" category is a larger room which we found to be perfect, suggested rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enigmander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Glad that you loved it and thank you for finding the time to comment!

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC Metro area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Hotel Alessandra could not have been in a more ideal location for exploring the center of Florence. It was a very comfortable and clean and the man at the front desk could not have been any more helpful. He was extremely welcoming and gave us lots of great advice and booked us on a wine tour of Tuscany which was a blast. The breakfast was great and did I mention the location? It was truly ideal. It was right by Ponte Vecchio, but tucked away on a side street so it was super quiet which is always critical when you are running yourself around like crazy during the day. And you can easily walk to the hotel from the train station, so you save yourself some extra money.

There are a few different tours that are offered through the hotel's webpage and I would recommend the half day afternoon tour of Tuscany. It was a lot of fun and the winery we visited was beautiful.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay thanks to Hotel Alessandra and their wonderful staff. I would recommend this hotel without question to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Wonderful! We hope to look forward to seeing you again in the future too!

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,268 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 422 in Florence
2,670 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 422 in Florence
1,719 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 422 in Florence
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing