We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff!”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #36 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and staff!”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is an excellent location for Florence. Within steps of the Ponte Vecchio and within walking distance to everything else. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We arrived before our room was ready and they stored our bags and put them in the room later so that we could begin exploring Florence. They offered to made dinner reservations for us. They were so friendly. Just be aware that there are about 20 or so steps from the ground level to get up to the Lift. But, for anyone who travels abroad, a few steps are not uncommon in any hotel. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 7 October 2015
Thank you so much for writing for us, we're so glad you enjoyed your time with us here in Firenze! We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    472
    62
    13
    10
See reviews for
367
843
155
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We visited Florence while traveling through Italy. I had researched many hotels, and read several books and reviews until finally deciding on this hotel. My husband really wanted a view of the Arno river, and I settled on the view over a private en suite bath, I figured what the heck. To our surprise and excitement, the hotel manager had upgraded us to a gorgeous room with a view and a private en suite bath at no extra charge. The staff were really friendly and had a smile on every time we left and came back. They made some great recommendations as far as local sights. We loved the wine bar 2 doors down. We took a chance and paid a temporary membership for the night that included 1 glass of wine and a cover charge to listen to the most amazing live jazz trio. The continental breakfast and cappuccino with the shaved chocolate smiley face was a great way to start the day. The location is awesome, just steps away from the Ponte Vecchio Bridge, the Uffizi Art Museum, really cool German market place with killer sausage sandwiches, and the beautiful Santa Mario del Fiore, and of course all of the leather vendors in the main square. Give this place a try, you wont regret it. Its the little places like this hotel, and that wine bar that made our visit a truly unique experience. We cant wait to go back and stay there again. PS, there is a lift, but that starts on the 2nd floor, so be prepared and have a good sense of humor when you have to lug your bag up the landing.

Room Tip: I would pay for the view and the en suite bathroom. The bell tower does sound off, but not at all ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank julessandiego43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
We are so very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that someday you will come back to Florence and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The location for the hotel is a convenient walk to all major attractions. The furnishings in our room were a bit on the shabby side, but kept very clean. The hotel staff is wonderful especially Monti! Our departure was scheduled before breakfast and the hotel arranged a take away breakfast and set up our taxi for our early morning departure. We would stay here again! The staff makes your visit to Florence even more enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsAboutTheTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
Thank you very much for writing, we're so happy you enjoyed your time here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We just spent 4 nights at this hotel in Florence, Italy, and the staff are SO helpful. We couldn't find the hotel (we were driving) and the concierge ended up finding someone to meet us where we were, drive us to the hotel, and then drive the car to the parking garage.

The only drawback to the hotel is that it is not handicap accessible. To reach the lift you have to go up two flights of stairs. And the lift is only large enough for one person and a suitcase, or two people without luggage.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conniethemagni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
Alas, the drawback of our 15th century design! However, we're glad the stairs didn't affect your stay too much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here during one of our honeymoon stops. We spent a few nights in the hotel which is located a short walking distance from all of the major Florence sites. The staff was wonderfully warm and friendly...especially Monti! He greeted us whenever he saw us and always asked how the honeymoon trip was going. It may not be anything fancy, but they have internet you can use, a lovely little breakfast room and all the staff works hard.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
We're so glad you decided to spend part of such a special trip with us! We hope to see you back for all the big anniversaries!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,719 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,296 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#42 of 412 in Florence
802 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#39 of 412 in Florence
1,766 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing