We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
174
112
37
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
112
37
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarno riverponte vecchiocharming hotelmain attractionsminute walksmall hotelair conditionerour honeymoonuffizi gallerycroissantsbalconyantiqueskey
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2015

What a wonderful gem! We loved staying at Hotel Principe. We learned the history of the establishment (great story) and loved the charm and elegance of the garden. The frescoes in the public rooms were beautiful. Their reception unfortunately had a smell of cigarettes but our room facing the lovely garden was incredible. It generously fit our family of 4 and the bathroom would have held a lot more people! The amenities were wonderful, along with the proper afternoon tea. Their breakfast was delicious and the staff always attentive. We enjoyed a glass of prosecco on the roof terrace. Warm and charming!@

Room Tip: The room fit our family of four very comfortably.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthStar803047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

This is a very good value. The hotel is clean and nicely kept. It's a very old building that has been taken care of. We had a nice room overlooking the river. It was quiet and had a great balcony. The hotel has a great roof terrace that is horribly under utilized. They should add a bar, or serve breakfast or something up there because the view is incredible. Instead, they have two tables with ash trays on them and that's it. They should really make more out of that roof terrace. Breakfast is a bit awkward. It is a cold breakfast with bread, assorted meat etc., but it was served in a single room crowded with tables in complete silence. When you have a conversation, the entire room hears it. Like I said, they should move breakfast to the roof and it would be amazing. Free parking was awesome and service was good. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPGMUSIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

A previously wonderful hotel, just outdated and in need of an overhaul.
A little out of the buzzy center of Florence which we preferred.
Breakfast was rather disappointing but nice free selection of wine, prosecco, and canapés in the afternoon in the common area. Nice and posh touch!
Noise level rather high within the hotel (doors). Bedrooms are good sized with enough space to store your belongings. Bathroom average and in need of some TLC.
We had one with view over the Arno and there was some band playing across until midnight. Not the worst we experienced and the quality of the beds made up for it.
Reception staff was well minded and helpful.
Overall it seemed very unfortunate that the Florentines aren't that happy and we missed the "La dolce vita" feeling. Florence itself is definitely worth a visit. This was the hotel we booked on short notice after we left the hotel La Residenza in Florence because of mold issues. Hotel Principe was an absolutely great find and we didn't regret staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms with nice view over Arno are a bit noisier.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariestom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We enjoyed excellent service from an attentive, helpful staff. Our room was nicely decorated in Tuscan style and we enjoyed a glimpse into local life from our terrace. Looking forward to another stay here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have small terrace overlooking gardens.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Stayed from July 4 to the 6, 2015. Staff was great since we arrived early getting us in our roam on very hot day! Roam over looked the river and was great. Staff was very helpful in giving directions and idea for sites to see in town. Little off from the major attractions in town but well worth the extra walk. Easy to get to property from train station, only three or four blocks!

Room Tip: Three four roams with the river view and terrace the best. Stayed in roam 34!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brainnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews