We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, would prefer different bedding”
Review of Principe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Principe Hotel
Ranked #202 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I had a beautiful view of the Arno, room 32, with a great terrace. The hotel let me check in very early, maybe 0930...which was super nice of them. They came in during the day and re-cleaned the room while I was out, which was a nice service, since the room was already clean when I checked in.
I have a couple suggestions for improvement:
The tv is next to a door that adjoins the next room, and even though I had the tv on very low, someone came to the door in the middle of the night and banged very loudly on the door--twice! I thought the hotel must be on fire, they were banging so loudly. I called the front desk to find out what was the matter, and the front-desk-man said that my tv was on too loud! It would have been better if the desk had called me on the phone instead of scaring me half to death by banging on the door like that. Maybe you could move the TV so it isn't right next to that door, as I did not have it on loud at all.

2. Also, the bedding is very lovely, but it is obviously not machine washable, so it appears to have been on the bed for many guests, which is icky. Consider replacing with washable duvet covers and add mattress pads. There is no mattress pad, so you can see the mattress through the sheets--also gross.

All that said, the location is lovely, the day-time management was lovely. Hopefully the hotel can correct the minor problems mentioned--it is certainly a gorgeous building, a perfect location, and an incomparable roof-top terrace-- the terrace on the room I had was gorgeous too.

Room Tip: rooms facing the arno with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DelphisKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2015

What a wonderful gem! We loved staying at Hotel Principe. We learned the history of the establishment (great story) and loved the charm and elegance of the garden. The frescoes in the public rooms were beautiful. Their reception unfortunately had a smell of cigarettes but our room facing the lovely garden was incredible. It generously fit our family of 4 and the bathroom would have held a lot more people! The amenities were wonderful, along with the proper afternoon tea. Their breakfast was delicious and the staff always attentive. We enjoyed a glass of prosecco on the roof terrace. Warm and charming!@

Room Tip: The room fit our family of four very comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O&Msmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

This is a very good value. The hotel is clean and nicely kept. It's a very old building that has been taken care of. We had a nice room overlooking the river. It was quiet and had a great balcony. The hotel has a great roof terrace that is horribly under utilized. They should add a bar, or serve breakfast or something up there because the view is incredible. Instead, they have two tables with ash trays on them and that's it. They should really make more out of that roof terrace. Breakfast is a bit awkward. It is a cold breakfast with bread, assorted meat etc., but it was served in a single room crowded with tables in complete silence. When you have a conversation, the entire room hears it. Like I said, they should move breakfast to the roof and it would be amazing. Free parking was awesome and service was good. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPGMUSIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

A previously wonderful hotel, just outdated and in need of an overhaul.
A little out of the buzzy center of Florence which we preferred.
Breakfast was rather disappointing but nice free selection of wine, prosecco, and canapés in the afternoon in the common area. Nice and posh touch!
Noise level rather high within the hotel (doors). Bedrooms are good sized with enough space to store your belongings. Bathroom average and in need of some TLC.
We had one with view over the Arno and there was some band playing across until midnight. Not the worst we experienced and the quality of the beds made up for it.
Reception staff was well minded and helpful.
Overall it seemed very unfortunate that the Florentines aren't that happy and we missed the "La dolce vita" feeling. Florence itself is definitely worth a visit. This was the hotel we booked on short notice after we left the hotel La Residenza in Florence because of mold issues. Hotel Principe was an absolutely great find and we didn't regret staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms with nice view over Arno are a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariestom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We enjoyed excellent service from an attentive, helpful staff. Our room was nicely decorated in Tuscan style and we enjoyed a glimpse into local life from our terrace. Looking forward to another stay here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have small terrace overlooking gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#230 of 410 in Florence
439 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#236 of 410 in Florence
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Della Robbia
#188 of 410 in Florence
206 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#84 of 410 in Florence
535 reviews
Classic Hotel
#222 of 410 in Florence
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Hotel

Address: Lungarno Amerigo Vespucci 34, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in Florence
#99 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#104 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: €132 - €286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Principe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing