We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mix of old and new”

Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.25*
and up
The Duomo Complex and Its Hidden Terraces
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Florence Duomo Sky Walk: Exclusive Entrance to Cathedral Terraces
More Info
US$100.85*
and up
Duomo Tour Secret Terraces Visit and Restoration Workshop
Ranked #3 of 632 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Designed by Arnolfo di Cambio at the end of the 13th century, the Cathedral's trademark dome is now the symbol of Florence.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A mix of old and new”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

An ancient church amidst high fashion brands. Its an amazing atmosphere. We went in summer, so it was crowded and hard to take a picture. But its a beautiful place. The old buildings around the new shops. At night it was nice to sit out the cathedral steps and just enjoy the crowd.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank makusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,870
    4,145
    947
    182
    109
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Better than I'd expected. Pictures can't do it justice.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yuri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful three color marble design”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Outside was spectacular but inside very plain, as explained it was politically purposeful.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pequannock, New Jersey, USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The center of Florence”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The duomo has the ability to stop a person in their place when they see it for the first time. Or at least that is what it did to me. It is really a quite large cathedral and I would recommend just walking by at night just because of the way it is illuminated. I went with my wife and her two sisters, one of which is studying in Florence so she was throwing out little pieces of info here and there. My wife and I did the basement tour which is 2 euro, it is a little archealogy because it shows the original foundations and what the cathedral was originally supposed to look like. It took about 25 in but I found it enjoyable.

We climbed the duomo which was also very enjoyable because you are allowed to circle the duomo going up and again going down so you can get a chance to see the ceiling much more closely. Its like 400+ stairs so it is a little workout but completely worth the view when you get to the top. I would recommend this to anyway interested in trying to get a great view of Florence.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank beans987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The true heart of Italy”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This Duomo sits in the heart of Florence, which itself is like the heart of Italy. We stayed in an apartment for 9 days and used it as a base to explore the Duomo/Baptistry/Gitto's bell tower, the local leather markets, cafes, Piazzale Michelangelo (stunning views over Florence), Ponte Vecchio, Boboli Gardens, Uffizi Gallery, ), San Miniato, Piazza Della Signoria (David replica), Piazza Santa Maria Novella (+ Parfumary), Basilica di Santa Croce (graves), Bargello sculptures and the Piazza Navona We also treated ourselves to a day long Tuscan/Chianti winery + olive tour + cooking class/lunch/wine/oil tasting for 100 Euros pp through 'The Accidental Tourist'. we caught a local bus to Fiesole (Etruscan town about 30 mins away) and drove into Tuscany to visit to Lucca (1hr), Siena, San Gimignano, Arezzo, Lucignano,Cortona, Pienza and Greve. As long as you plan ahead and book ahead for tours then there are many magical experiences to be had in this beautiful part of Italy.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank GregEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing