We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”
Review of Il Giglio d'Oro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Il Giglio d'Oro
Ranked #4 of 643 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
“Super”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Was great, Edo and Celia were so kind and helpful.
We were a family of 5 all adults, we feel welcome and they help us in all what we need. The location was, the bus to the historical center at few step from the B&B, great hospitality and the rooms so clean and nice. They have a "very" good and friendly restaurant just at the next door.
We love it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcela_cabello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    36
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
101
444
42
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United states
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I just loved staying at the Giglio d'oro. My room was wonderful and very clean. Every day when I was out and about my room was cleaned and reorganized. There was always fresh fruit on my table. The hosts were wonderful, sweet people. I would definitely stay here again if I am lucky enough to return to Florence.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is not a B&B. At least not my idea of a B&B. No breakfast or even common area, except the back patio, which smelled like laundry. Yes, the service by Edo and Celia is great. But I dont know if it is enough. The rooms were nice - nothing special, but there were cobwebs and for some reason that bothered me. Also because this is a retrofitted home, the sound travels through the walls very easily. Thankfully there are only 3 rooms. The B&B is also far out of the way of historical Florence. When I left, Edo gave me a tripadvisor print out and circled 5 stars and said "we need the 5 stars!" Maybe I am being picky but my expectations, for a number one rated B&B were not met.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jules0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Arriving at our B&B Edoardo gave us a quick rundown on what buses to take to the historical center, a map of the main highlights, places to eat nearby, where to get breakfast, the perfect host. Our bedroom was very comfortable and spacious with a very large bathroom. Our room was facing the street so it was a bit noisy, but nothing some ear plugs could drown out. Edoardo and Celia and their adorable daughter Jennifer were wonderful and every time you saw them they checked to make sure everything was good. The historical center was only a bus ride (about 6 stops away) so it was very convenient, but yet away enough from the hussle and bussle of the tourist areas. Enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lespaul91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We spent a week at this lovely, intimate Guest House, a 15-minute bus ride to the Duomo. Edo, Celia and Jennifer were helpful, friendly, attentive and cheerful. Fruit and chianti awaited us in our roomy chamber with a small fridge, tv and wireless connection, although we spent most of our time exploring the living museum that is Florence.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,178 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 643 in Florence
808 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 643 in Florence
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Monte Oliveto
#2 of 643 in Florence
383 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 643 in Florence
918 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 643 in Florence
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio d'Oro

Property: Il Giglio d'Oro
Address: Via Antonio Pacinotti 11, 50131, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A CHARMING GUESTHOUSE WITH GARDEN IN THE CENTRE OF FLORENCE, HAVE A LOOK AT THE PICTURES AND SEND US A E MAIL TO CHECK THE AVAILABILITY!!!!Edo and Celia are delighted to welcome you in their typical tuscan home recenlty renovated and is situated close to the historical center of florence. This brend new guest house typical italian style, offers its guests warm and elegant hospitality at very advantageous prices, just few steps away from the town center. The building has been completely renovated strictly following the rules of tuscan old craft's style and Its charme can be recognized in the red tuscan tiles, the pietra serena staircase, and the intimate walled garden. The bedrooms, furnished in delicate pastel colours, terracotta tilling, and the original doors, are all euqipped with en-suite bathrooms, Colour Tv, Wi-fi internet acces, and full bath & bedlinen's set. Edo and celia will be glad to inform guests about monuments, sites of interest and florence surroundings, as well as on the schedule of all events exhibitons, shows and concerts. "Giglio d'oro" as your own private home in florence, gives you the freedom of come and go 24 hours a day. Please inform us on your arrival time and will be glad to welcome you and leave you both the room and the front door key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Giglio d`Oro Bed And Breakfast
Il Giglio d`Oro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing