We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible restaurant with very poor cooking hygiene and a dirty nails cooker”

Vini e Vecchi Sapori
Ranked #40 of 2,712 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Uffizi
Wohlen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrible restaurant with very poor cooking hygiene and a dirty nails cooker”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We ate at this restaurant in April 2012. We came to eat here based on the very high notes from TripAdvisor for this restaurant. It was the worst idea of that day!

1. We had a table allowing us to see how the cooker (an old man) was working. The overall hygiene by cooking is very poor. The cooker was preparing the salats on the garbagge bin.
He was dirty and had dirty nails.

2. As the cooker served us the hot pasta he was breathing in the plate of our baby to cool down the pasta. Terrible!

3. The drinking glasses were dirty.

4. The food he brough us was not fresh, the potatoes and meat were probably from the previous day and just re-heated before serving to us.

When we saw all these terrible things we did not eat and we left the restaurant after paying the food (it was not cheap what we ordered).

DO NOT GO THERE! If you are sensible, you may vomit after seeing these things!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
18 Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,359
    338
    74
    25
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian, you have to go here”
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

Very small authentic Italian which gets booked up. We ended up going for lunch as we ran out of time in Florence, the atmosphere is personal, you share tables with other diners but this all adds to the atmosphere! Service is amazing and for what you get it's such good value. I've now been travelling around Italy with my husband for 2 weeks taking in Rome and sorrento and this is still the best place we've eaten in!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaime222red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Dinner in Florence”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is the place you hope actually exists in Italy. It is tiny, maybe 16 seats. The one waiter will explain each dish in English while pouring the house wine. The food is excellent. The pasta with lamb ragu was amazing. My favorite was a pasta with zucchini flowers.

Make a reservation....this is the one place you shouldn't miss.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Make reservations!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

With scores of great places to eat in Florence, we inadvertently saved the best for last. We stayed just a few blocks from Vini e Vecchi Sapori, but we'd stroll past, it was always busy or closed. Finally smartened up, put our name on the wait list ... and now I can recommend it to you with no reservations. Creative tasty food, excellent service, a fun friendly place. My favorite dish was Rissoto con Radicchio but everything we tried was outstanding. Our excellent table mate was a young Russian touring Italy on his own. If we return to Florence, this charming cafe will be both our first and last stop.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kawster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must go”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

If you have to wait half an hour outside waiting for a table (its a small place and popular), wait outside. You wont be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickg_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vini e Vecchi Sapori also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vini e Vecchi Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing