We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a grimace”
Review of Da Ganino

Da Ganino
Ranked #336 of 3,068 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Duomo
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch, had a lovely wild boar ragu with a glass of montepulciano. Extremely tasty, but be warned the waiting staff are pretty grim faced and absolutely zero smiles (despite my partner speaking Italian and trying to be friendly).

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank lilypop86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped by for lunch and was pleasently surprised with the quality of the food and the reasonable price in the middle of touristy Florence. The pasta was delicious, but unfortunately the service was terrible. We had to ask several times for everything from more wine to the bill. The waiters (we had two) really seemed to suffer from short term memory loss. I think we asked for the bill about 3 times. Such a shame regarding the quality of the kitchen.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank cfsch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

I’m literally still eating my meal while writing this review! My wife and I just shared a traditional Bistecca a la Fiorentina, which can only be described as exceptional! I suggest the roast potatoes with this. Judging by the the other patrons and their food, the same could be said, I highly recommend this place! I would suggest that visitors don’t dismiss any establishment out of hand for looking uninteresting or drab. In this case, the magic does happen outside your comfort zone

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

After leaving Rome, we spent the day seeing the sights in Florence and stumbled upon da Ganino as I was scoping out a restaurant for my party of 8. I found the outdoor patio of the restaurant to have a section that had just come available. I am so glad we stopped in here. The pasta was simply amazing. I had the spaghetti with pepper and cream sauce. Two others at the table had the truffle pasta, one had carbonara, another had gnocchi in pesto sauce and another risotto with spinach. We all ate every single bite and were even served some fried dough with cheese and garlic “for the wait” that we all agreed we could eat a lot more of. Wonderful tiramisu rounded the meal. Do yourself a favor and stop in when in Florence! Your taste buds will delight!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank EricaBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Our starter, described as fried bread balls with prosciutto and cheese, was delicious. A fantastic appetizer. The prosciutto was not too salty and the best we've had in Florence. The cheese was also great, and went perfectly with the bread and meat.

I had a fusilli in a tomato sauce and my wife had another pasta dish with beef. My tomato sauce was excellent. Lots of flavor and some spicy heat. Unfortunately the pasta was a little undercooked. My wife's pasta was very good though, no complaints.

House wine good value. Service was fine, no complaints.

Overall a pretty good restaurant. Not the best meal we've had in Florence, but certainly not bad.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Ganino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Da Ganino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing