We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Springtime in a Tuscany Villa”

Together in Tuscany & Umbria
Ranked #7 of 18 Tours in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours and experiences in the heart of Italy. With over 10 years' experience, we plan stress-free holidays. Private guided tours - Cooking classes & wine tastings - Car transfers with licensed drivers - Bike, Vespa & car rentals. Discover Tuscany, Umbria and Italy with us!
Reviewed 31 May 2018

What's not to like when it sinks in: "We're visiting a walled city in Tuscany that has been occupied by residents before Christopher Columbus sailed to the Americas!" We stayed in a villa; "Casa Sogni" just outside the walls of the city a short walk (up hill) from the villa. Good news? The walk is down hill after shopping?

Casa Sogni is a recently converted (2004) and modern remodel of a stone building dating back in time when many of the structures were used as a convent. Views from the property which has a private driveway and entry look all the way out to Lake Trasimeno, and the hills south to Montepulciano.

This was the essence of "La Dolce Vita". Sufficiently large and comfortable for two couples with two baths and a kitchen/dining area that allowed us to prepare several meals.

Together in Tuscany handled all the details for us, including transportation, reservations. and just about everything else with prompt and professional service. The team of people were great and their English speaking excellent given our limited ability to communicate in Italiano.

We felt immediately immersed in the community, especially the large family that occupies several of the surrounding buildings. We met our host family on our first day including "Ivo" are resident grand-pappa who tended to the small garden on the property.

If you plan on staying in or around Cortona be aware that with the exception of the main street "Via Nazionale" and the central plazas, all the streets leading into the city and around are very steep. Folks with walking disabilities, or in poor health should research well in advance.

Thank WDLuisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words! The team and I are so happy to read that you got to experience "La Dolce Vita" at Casa Sogni and got along splendidly with grand-papa Ivo. We'll make sure to let him know.

Grazie! We wish you all the best and we look forward to have you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"casa san"
in 4 reviews
"rental car"
in 5 reviews
"amazing week"
in 2 reviews
"planning stages"
in 2 reviews
"chef ivan"
in 2 reviews
"washing machine"
in 2 reviews
"spent a week"
in 4 reviews
"dinner reservations"
in 2 reviews
"chef's home"
in 2 reviews
"train station"
in 5 reviews
"cooking class"
in 13 reviews
"olive oil tour"
in 2 reviews
"prior to our arrival"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 4 reviews
"including transportation"
in 2 reviews
"during our stay"
in 3 reviews
"these ladies"
in 2 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2018

We spent a wonderful week at Casa Pontormo in Cortona. ON a quiet side street but within the city walls and in the middle of things. Clean, spacious and well-supplied. We took many wonderful day trips within an hour's drive, as well as participating in events in Cortona. The Together in Tuscany people were responsive and helpful. Carlo, who either owns or remodeled the house, came by several times to check on us and show us how to use the washing machine, etc. He couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. I highly recommend and would stay there again, as well as use the Together in Tuscany folks.

Thank DM4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Grazie! It's so lovely to read you enjoyed your stay at Casa Pontormo - thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review and we’re so pleased that you had a great vacation in Italy.

We'll also pass on your kind words to Carlo for sure.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to have you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

We stayed for eight days in Cortona. Our villa was well supplied, clean and very comfortable. We were just outside the walls of the city and could easily walk to a wide variety of great restaurants and shopping. Denyse was very helpful getting us some additional tours arranged for a local winery and olive oil mill. Both were excellent. If you want to visit Tuscany, Cortona is a great place to stay.

Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Dear Kris,

We're so happy to hear you had a great time in Cortona and that you enjoyed our tours.

Thank you for sharing your travel experience with Together In Tuscany here on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review and we’re so pleased that you had a great vacation in Italy.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to have you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed a week in Casa Comedia in Cortona. It is a great 2 story home, well supplied and the location is perfect. It is quiet but merely 75 meters to the town square. Denyse and the whole group at Together in Tuscany and Umbria were exceptional, so nice and helpful with everything. Cortona and the surrounding area are a must see!!

Thank mickeym51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Mickey,

Thank you for sharing your travel experience with Together In Tuscany here on TripAdvisor.
The team and I really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Casa Comedia, as well as your visit to Cortona.
We wish you all the best and we look forward to have you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018

We stayed at Casa Daniela in Cortona and found it so comfortable and relaxing. Great central location in Tuscany to drive to all the other 'must-see' villages and the train in/out of Terontola or Camucia is super easy.

ALL of the Tuscan hill-towns are hilly but Cortona has some real 'hikes' if you want to venture outside of the main commerce area. This is the village of the famous "Under the Tuscan Sun" villa too. Very much worth visiting if not staying for an entire week like we did!

Thank Lynda544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Lynda,

Great to hear you had a lovely stay at Casa Daniela and that you enjoyed your holiday in Cortona.
You're right, Cortona's residents certainly don't need a gym pass to keep fit with all the uphill streets :-) but as you wrote, it's part of its charm!
Thank you for sharing your travel experience with Together In Tuscany here on TripAdvisor. The team and I really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review.
We wish you all the best and we look forward to have you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Together in Tuscany & Umbria also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Together in Tuscany & Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing