We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Cortona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cortona Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

My wife and I spent 3 nights here during our 3-week honeymoon in August. The hotel is located towards the bottom of the hill below Cortona, but still has good views of the Tuscan countryside. The hotel grounds has a very relaxed vibe to it with two swimming pools and a lawn with lounge chairs and even a hanging chair! You really do get the feeling that you're staying in the countryside. The pool connected to the spa is very modern and has massage showers and jets. The spa has many amenities: a shower bucket, salt room, steam/ Turkish bath, and sauna. The first maitre d' we had was very welcoming and helpful (the older of the two). The restaurant food was very good and the service was great. The included breakfast was also very good.

Now for the downsides. We were placed in one of the "private garden" rooms, which are disconnected from the main building about a two minute walk away by some grape vines. The room was OK, nothing special about it, seemed a little dated, and not in a vintage way. The biggest issue we had was the air conditioning didn't work. When we were there it was 35c/ 95f and to not have the AC working is unacceptable considering the price we paid. This may have been an isolated issue to our room only, but if it's that hot during the summer the room should be repaired before it's offered to guests. Also, a small gripe, other hotels in the same class offered us a complementary bottle of champagne, and maybe some chocolates or fruit as it was our honeymoon, but for some reason Cortona Resort didn't. Maybe we shouldn't have expected it, but if their competitors are doing it well...

One more issue is the overworking of the poor staff. We would go to dinner and leave between 10-11pm. And then we would wake up and have breakfast at about 8am, and the SAME staff would be serving us coffee etc. They probably got off at midnight, and got back to the restaurant at 7-7:30. If you factor in commute time this is not healthy and I felt bad for them. We also experienced this at other hotels in Italy so I will make a point to add it to their reviews too.

Cortona is a beautiful place and the Cortona Resort is a relaxing hotel in a great location. With a few improvements it could be a true 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aceworth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

The place is nice and well located. The staff is helpful.

But the rooms are quite uncomfortable. We booked a "deluxe double room with private garden":
- the room was rather small, as well as the bathroom, especially the shower
- the fridge was hardly cool
- the air conditioning was definitely not cool
- the "private garden" is a simple entrance to the room (2 m x 3 m), sticked between the gardens of both adjacent rooms

More over, the pools are rather small as well. And the breakfast could be improved.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BessHaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

I really enjoy our stay. Nice house, and outbuildings. People Working there are really nice and make your life nicer.
Spa treatments are really well done, facilities, notably poolS (I insist as I have 3 kids shouting, jumping, diving!:-)) are very well positioned: you want silent, you have... you want my kids, you have them also! But far away from the quiet pool.

Restaurant is good, not expensive, but fine foods.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank chipafilaoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We spent a week in that Spa – it was one of our best decisions since years. The hotel is really nice and romantic, service is perfect and all facilities are marvels (spa, garden, swimming pool, big warm water swimming pool with Jacuzzi, dining room and evening live music in the garden).
Having time you can visit nearby Cortona, Montepulciano, Pienza so feel like a Tourist but coming back you immediately feel relax and refresh.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We were on a tuscan road trip and found this place. It was just What we needed after 2 days driving from Pisa to lucca firence to Siena to cortona . Very private we had our own private garden. Swimmingpool amazing! Jacuzzi as Well. The sauna facilities were amazing ! Great breakfast and very friendly staff. And a breathtaking view of Tuscany. Also a restaurant with great food ( Ps :the house from the Movie " under the tuscan sun" is at the other side of the road ssssst )
We loved it and Will come back soon.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank roel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortona
2.4 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
674 reviews
1.4 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 23 in Cortona
834 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#4 of 23 in Cortona
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
776 reviews
3.9 km away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
1.8 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 23 in Cortona
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortona Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortona Resort & Spa

Address: Nucleo Campaccio 5/8, 52044, Cortona, Italy (Formerly Hotel Villa Aurea)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: €152 - €290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortona Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cortona Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurea Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing