We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic b & b steps from Cortona's main piazza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Gelosie Bed and Breakfast and Apartments
Ranked #29 of 42 Cortona B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantasic b & b steps from Cortona's main piazza”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We've visited Cortona many times but never stayed in its center. We chose this b & b because it is just of Cortona's celebrated Piazza Republica. Our room was pristine, well air conditioned and quiet. Typical Italian breakfast is served at a bar just around the corner. The hosts, a young couple, are super helpful offer great advice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rock1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    35
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

If like us you love the buzz of Cortona then this a great place to stay. The rooms are clean, with a modern Italian feel and the bed's are large and comfy which means you get a good night's sleep. The location is great as you are at the heart of Cortona and you can experience everything this town has to offer. Breakfast is provided at a cafe located 2 minutes down the street and is simple but adequate, usually comprising of a pastry, tea/coffee and fruit juice. The service is good both at the B&B and at the cafe with our hosts being very helpful and friendly. We asked to view their apartments on our last day, as had they been unoccupied earlier on our visit, Andreas would have let us stay in them for the remainder of our trip as they are ideal for longer visits. Again, they are nicely decorated and provide ample facilities for a longer stay. I am looking forward to staying in the apartments on our next visit.
I should mention that there is no parking within the town for visitors but the car parking is free and plentiful. We used the car park at the top of Via Dardano, outside the walls. There is a public outdoor swimming pool located at the other end of the park, along with a tennis club and football pitches. The facilities at the pool are great and it is very clean and friendly. Pick a hot day though for your visit as it is not heated.
The only minor problem being located in the centre of Cortona and with the rooms facing a main thoroughfare is that life starts early in the morning.....you may be woken a little too early. However, we still loved this B&B and we are planning to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di-Gaz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed in the larger apartment on one of the main squares in Cortona. The apartment was spacious and the kitchen well stocked with pans, dishes, etc. The 2 bedrooms on the 2nd level were small but adequate and the main bedroom on the top floor was great. There are lots of steps so take that into consideration. We stayed for a week and did not want to leave! Cortona is beautiful and there are several restaurants with reasonable prices. We had fun shopping in the market across the street for staples or around the corner for fresh fuits and veggies so we could cook for ourselves as well. Andrea was helpful. We will certainly return soon. There is no parking inside the city but you can bring your things in and then park the car.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharilop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We chose this B&B based on its location (close to town centre), affordable price and gorgeous décor.

The B&B: is located within the walls of a traditional Tuscan building. There is no WiFi, but you can use their PC and internet if needed. There are a handful of wine bars that offer free WiFi (ask at reception for a recommendation).

The room: we stayed in room 1 and paid €90 / night. The room was big enough for two people to move around comfortably and was decorated with traditional yet modern tastes. We had a heater, AC, TV, dresser and chairs. The linen/queen size bed/pillows were sensational! The bathroom was near-new with expensive tapware and porcelain – I don’t normally care about that sort of stuff but when it’s nice, I like to mention it.

The service: the owner’s sister (Isabelle) spoke fluent English and was very friendly. Breakfast is served off-site in a café. Breakfast includes really good fruit juice, cappuccino/tea and a pastry item.

The location: Cortona is really quite small, so it’s hard to find a bad location. This B&B is a mere 60 second stroll from the main piazza and restaurant area. There is ample free and paid street parking outside the walls of Cortona, with a handful of spots inside the walls. Paid parking is €0.52 / hour.

The conclusion: Cortona was the first stop of our Tuscan experience and it left us with jaws wide open. A stay in Cortona and Gelosie B&B is a must!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdsMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Le Gelosie is a small B & B located in a narrow building which was once someone's home. It has been totally refurbished. Le Gelosie is perched on the edge of the Piazza Signorelli which is one of the hubs of life in Cortona, so we stayed right in the middle of it all and I'm glad we did. In the B & B, you have to climb stairs to get to your room; this was not a problem for us. Indeed, all of Cortona is steep and hilly and some of the streets are all stairs, so bring sturdy shoes. The views of the surrounding countryside are breath-taking.

Our room was spacious and spare. No strange hotel art to look at on the walls--they were bare and simply stuccoed in a warm yellow color. We had a nice window with shutters which opened onto the square. The bed was especially comfortable--one of the newer foam-topped styles, I think. I like the shiny wood floor--no mouldering old carpets like you find in so many hotels. The bathroom was large and the shower stall, especially so. I loved the huge heated towel rack and really want one to have at home. Our room was warm, too, which was a plus since the weather had been quite chilly.

Here are a couple of suggestions though, to make the place better: though there is the wardrobe, please put a few coathooks around the room and in the bathroom, as it would be helpful to have more places for two people to put their clothing. Also, a little fridge and hot water pot would make great additions.

If you choose, breakfast is included (a slightly higher price). There is no breakfast room in the B & B, though, so you have to go to a nearby bar, so you get to really be part of the local breakfast scene.

Getting to Cortona was a lesson in using public transportation. We took the train from Florence. The station is in Camucia, which is about 4 miles from Cortona, so you either have to take a taxi or a public bus. The buses are more scarce on the weekend, so pay attention to the schedules.

This B & B is different from some I have stayed in because the owner does not live on the premises. So, while you are met when you arrive, you are pretty much on your own for the stay. We had no problem with this as we like being independent. Unless you are with a traveling companion, though, it could feel a little lonely. I am sure the proprietor is available by phone if you have a question.

By far, the two best meals of our whole Tuscan trip were both in Cortona. Nissun Dorma has really interesting and delicious food; my porcini risotto was so good and the best I've ever had. Trattoria Toscana is just a door or two up the hill from Le Gelosie, and our meals there were just great--I had a square-spaghetti-like pasta with flavorful fresh artichoke sauce and my husband enjoyed a spicy fusilli dish with crumbled sausage. The best cornetti (croissant, Italian style) came from the little bakery across the street--pay attention to when it is open, because it is worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtTraveler A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.5 km away
Villa Santa Margherita
Villa Santa Margherita
#13 of 24 in Cortona
136 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sabrina
Hotel Sabrina
#18 of 24 in Cortona
111 reviews
6.1 km away
B&B Gabri
B&B Gabri
#7 of 42 in Cortona
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Rugapiana Vacanze
Rugapiana Vacanze
#24 of 42 in Cortona
221 reviews
0.2 km away
Locanda Petrella
Locanda Petrella
#13 of 42 in Cortona
63 reviews
0.1 km away
Cortona Suite
Cortona Suite
#10 of 42 in Cortona
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gelosie Bed and Breakfast and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gelosie Bed and Breakfast and Apartments

Property: Le Gelosie Bed and Breakfast and Apartments
Address: Via Dardano 6, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Le Gelosie Bed and Breakfast and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing