We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
146
157
94
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
157
94
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall balconythe breakfast areafree public parkingview locationpedestrian areawonderful viewgladly stay here againdefinitely return to this hotelbreakfast stafffour starbest location in townperfect locationfrench doorsone night stayvisiting cortonaexpensive hotelgreat town
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

The view from our deluxe room was spectacular. The room was nice and air conditioned but it was not good air conditioning. The breakfast was nice and would be 100% better if we were given glasses instead of plastic cups.

We had a drink at the hotel before going out for dinner and the waiter was rude when we said we weren't ordering dinner.

Great location and the parking was free and not too difficult considering the part of town it's in.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank SarahfromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Myself and my partner stayed at The Hotel San Luca at the beginning of August and were not disappointed. The area itself is of an untouched and rustic Italian village and really is very, very beautiful.

The hotel is situated right on the piazza. The second you arrive outside the hotel you will be greeted by what I can honestly call ' the most spectacular and breath-taking view of Cortona'.

The reception staff were very nice. Our room was lovely and clean. We were very lucky to have been blessed with a room that had yet another spectacular view of Cortona. We were very much delighted. The air conditioning is great. It saved us massively as we stayed during the 'Lucifer Heatwave'.

Facilities all very contemporary with aspects of historical art hanging on the walls.

The elevators were very, very small. We found them quite old fashioned and almost claustrophobic. So if you don't like small spaces, avoid them or ask to be roomed on a lower floor. They were very rickety and we didn't feel like they were the safest! We had no problems with them though.

Unfortunately the only bad thing I would have to say about the hotel is the breakfast provided. The pastries and juices feel very much supermarket bought. There are so many glorious restaurants and cafes owned by local owners though, that I would recommend not having breakfast at the hotel and exploring the village and trying the various cappuccinos, and 'caffe;. The pastries are a whole lot better in other cafes no more than 2-5 min walks from the hotel.

Overall we had a lovely stay at this hotel and would definitely stay here again. It's affordable, clean and the staff are lovely. But the view is by far the selling point.

Room Tip: Don't have breakfast here, go and explore and eat at the cafes in the area. Local and authentic!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JordanCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Very good place to stay for 1-2 nights. The hotel is elegant and simple. The view from terrace on the valley is astonishing. Breakfast is average. Standard rooms are very small. Interior of the lobby is very nice.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Happiness730288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Actually had a very nice lunch meal. Sat outside by the circle, overlooking the city of Cortona and the view of the Tuscan countryside.

The menu was quite broad, we had a mixture of appetizers, bruschetta with several spreads, quite tasty. The main courses were also good, I had some excellent lamb chops, but the other dishes the family had also looked great. Chicken on a skewer, ravioli pasta, steak and burgers. Enjoyed some decent prosecco.

Decent place to eat.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Barnesms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

This location is so lovely. Its right where all the people coming to Cortona want to reach. Then you walk up another 5 minutes and you reach the main square and there is a nice supermarket to pick up stuff and also arrange for a picnic basket. There is a lovely gelato place as well and such good stuff there. Pizza on the go get a slice and walk off. They have escalators to come up this incline so most out of Europe people who will huff & puff after 2 minutes of climb can rest assured this is taken care of.
Rooms were clean. too much over powering blue in the decor tends to make the place a little dark. Mosquito troubles a little bit all over so get a spray or so just to be safe.

Biggest draw is the lovely restaurant attached which has some really awesome food & better wine.
Room - Suite style with good amount of Cupboards and suitcase props. too much blue on the walls and the bed covers
Toilet - Good with shower cubicle.
Breakfast - Good range out overlooking the panoramic view
Staff- Evening staff is confused but rest are friendly and helpful
Overall - Lovely and beautiful location

Room Tip: Take mosquito sprays for Cortona. This hotels lift goes downwards. So up is 1 & down is 6.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews