We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and breakfast with a view”
Review of Hotel San Luca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Cortona
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Hotel San Luca was a great pick in terms of its location just a few minutes walk from Piazza della Repubblica. Breakfast with panoramic views was another good thing. The hotel is quite dated, but well-kept. Our guest room was nothing special, but comfortable enough for one night stay. Free public parking is available one street down the hill; you can use escalators to go up and down.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RHxpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

The view from our deluxe room was spectacular. The room was nice and air conditioned but it was not good air conditioning. The breakfast was nice and would be 100% better if we were given glasses instead of plastic cups.

We had a drink at the hotel before going out for dinner and the waiter was rude when we said we weren't ordering dinner.

Great location and the parking was free and not too difficult considering the part of town it's in.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank SarahfromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Myself and my partner stayed at The Hotel San Luca at the beginning of August and were not disappointed. The area itself is of an untouched and rustic Italian village and really is very, very beautiful.

The hotel is situated right on the piazza. The second you arrive outside the hotel you will be greeted by what I can honestly call ' the most spectacular and breath-taking view of Cortona'.

The reception staff were very nice. Our room was lovely and clean. We were very lucky to have been blessed with a room that had yet another spectacular view of Cortona. We were very much delighted. The air conditioning is great. It saved us massively as we stayed during the 'Lucifer Heatwave'.

Facilities all very contemporary with aspects of historical art hanging on the walls.

The elevators were very, very small. We found them quite old fashioned and almost claustrophobic. So if you don't like small spaces, avoid them or ask to be roomed on a lower floor. They were very rickety and we didn't feel like they were the safest! We had no problems with them though.

Unfortunately the only bad thing I would have to say about the hotel is the breakfast provided. The pastries and juices feel very much supermarket bought. There are so many glorious restaurants and cafes owned by local owners though, that I would recommend not having breakfast at the hotel and exploring the village and trying the various cappuccinos, and 'caffe;. The pastries are a whole lot better in other cafes no more than 2-5 min walks from the hotel.

Overall we had a lovely stay at this hotel and would definitely stay here again. It's affordable, clean and the staff are lovely. But the view is by far the selling point.

Room Tip: Don't have breakfast here, go and explore and eat at the cafes in the area. Local and authentic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JordanCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
7
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Very good place to stay for 1-2 nights. The hotel is elegant and simple. The view from terrace on the valley is astonishing. Breakfast is average. Standard rooms are very small. Interior of the lobby is very nice.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Actually had a very nice lunch meal. Sat outside by the circle, overlooking the city of Cortona and the view of the Tuscan countryside.

The menu was quite broad, we had a mixture of appetizers, bruschetta with several spreads, quite tasty. The main courses were also good, I had some excellent lamb chops, but the other dishes the family had also looked great. Chicken on a skewer, ravioli pasta, steak and burgers. Enjoyed some decent prosecco.

Decent place to eat.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Barnesms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 23 in Cortona
322 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#4 of 23 in Cortona
416 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sabrina
Hotel Sabrina
#17 of 23 in Cortona
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 23 in Cortona
834 reviews
1.3 km away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#6 of 23 in Cortona
415 reviews
3.8 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 1, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cortona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: €53 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Luca is in Cortona historic centre, a 15-minute drive from Lake Trasimeno. It offers air-conditioned and stylish rooms with satellite TV and minibar.The hotel’s terrace offers a panoramic view of the surrounding countryside. There is a gym on the covered terrace and a separate sun terrace with a hot tub.Free Wi-Fi is available in the whole building. Reception is open 24 hours a day.The hotel is around 3 km from Camucia di Cortona Station and a 25-minute drive from the A1 motorway. You can reach Perugia by car in 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel
San Luca Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing