We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and professional friendly staff. Great Location !”
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2017

The hotel and staff are really lovely. Breakfast is good with lots of choice. We upgraded to a larger room but unfortunately we did not have views and room looked out on to hotel walls. Bedroom however was lovely. Bathroom with jacuzzi bath but no shower which was a little disappointing. We paid for hotel parking which was really useful.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have a room without external views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjkearns2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear mjkearns2016,

Thank you for taking the time to place your kind review.
Naturally, we are very sorry to learn that some details of your room and bathroom were disappointed. On a more positive note, we are pleased to understand that your stay was to your liking and that the service provided by our team was to a high standard. Thank you, once again, for taking the time to advise us of your stay.

Yours sincerely,

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

This by far was a beautiful hotel room/suite and the staff was awesome. The city of Corona is fabulous and if you stay, book here at San Michele. It is located up the hill, and just a few mins by car from the train station.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank 2sam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear 2sam6,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review 5/5!
I am glad that you appreciated your accommodation at the Hotel San Michele and also the politeness of our staff, it makes me proud of them. I will be happy to pass your feedback on to the Team with regards to the excellent service provided. I look forward to seeing you soon at the Hotel San Michele in Cortona again.

Best regards,

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager
Cortona Luxury Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is top-notch in every aspect. Our room was big and had even a living area complete with sofa on the side. The staff is very helpful and friendly, immediately took our car out of the way as the access road is very steep and narrow. Bathroom is big and comfortable and WiFi works well. Breakfast is very good.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruedi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Ruedi S,

Thanks a lot for you kind review 5/5. I am so glad you have appreciated our comfortable rooms and our staff’s politeness. I hope you will decide to spend some days in our hotel soon again,

Best regards

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager
Cortona Luxury Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Spent a week here in Sept. From the moment we were picked up at the train station to the moment we left for our next destination everything was perfect and just seemed to get better with each passing day. The rooms are surprisingly large, very clean, well air conditioned and with good supportive beds.

But that was the easy part ... the staff at this hotel is what made the difference. Warm, friendly, helpful and always with a smile only just begin to tell the story. I apologize when I get these names wrong, but these folks should be recognized and when you stay there look for them - they will make your stay the best. Said, who picked us up at the train station and then carried our bags to our rooms, as we enjoyed a bottle of prosecco in the patio, was great and ever present to offer assistance. Gabriella who worked the front desk during the morning/day was always a smiling face to great us in the morning. Anna (I know I got this name wrong) who was there every morning with a wonderful breakfast, but most importantly a cup of cappuccino to get the day started, was the best. Fabio who did everything it seemed in addition to tending the bar in the evening was the hardest working guy I have ever met. Be careful what you ask him for ... he will have it done before you realize what has happened. And last, but definitely not least LouAnna who worked the front desk in the evenings. She always had a smile to greet us as we came 'home' after roaming around Cortona and gave great advise on where to go and where to eat. And she gives the best hugs when you leave - we will miss her.

If you find yourself in Tuscany this is a great place to use as a base to make day trips and visit all the other incredible places in Tuscany. And the Town of Cortona is a wonderful place in its own right. But Hotel San Michele is a place you must stay - in our opinion the absolute best Hotel and staff in Cortona! Thanks for a wonderful week in Tuscany. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The rooms - all of the are great. Our friends stayed in one of the suites and it was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Joe V,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We’re all incredibly proud of our recently refurbished property and the high standards of cleanliness our hardworking Housekeeping Team maintain and the politeness of all the staff. I’ll be happy to pass your feedback on to the Team with regards to the excellent service provided. The only thing we could wish is to see you again next year and make you feel at home again.

Yours Sincerely,

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager
Cortona Luxury Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Our stay at Hotel San Michele was perfect! The hotel is very efficiently run and the staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly. Staff at reception speak English and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The breakfast was outstanding and over our weeks stay we noticed that standards never dropped even as the hotel became busier. The hotel is obviously well maintained. Our room was comfortable with excellent air conditioning and bathroom facilities. All in all our stay was everything we could have hoped for. We were travelling with our mum (89 yrs old) and the location was excellent for walking around Cortona and having beautiful memorable nights at the Piazza...

Room Tip: We had a room for 4 adults (loft room) and were pleasantly surprised how spacious the room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Ms. Helen M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience 5/5.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed breakfast and your stay with us, I am very pleased to read how well our team took care of your family.
We look forward to welcoming you again in Cortona!

Best regards,

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager
Cortona Luxury Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortona
4 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
675 reviews
1.8 km away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#3 of 23 in Cortona
450 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 23 in Cortona
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 23 in Cortona
319 reviews
5.7 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
776 reviews
2.2 km away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#8 of 23 in Cortona
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Address: Via Guelfa 15, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cortona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: €117 - €221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Michele is located in the historical heart of Cortona. Born out of a restoration of a renaissance palace, it is listed as national monument by The Italian Ministry of Art and host a 15th century fresco (Masaccio school). Restored with taste, the hotel offers classic, superior, junior suite as well as suites some of them with a private balcony with a view, all equipped with moden comforts. Air conditioning, private bathroom, elevator and covered garage. Massages, cooking classes and tours are available on request. You can also taste a Tuscan aperitif at the Bar dell'Accademia on the first floor. On request: "La Torretta" a relax area with a 360° view and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Hotel
San Michele Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing