We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Borgo il Melone(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Italia(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Luca(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Ambra(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Relais Villa Baldelli(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Marsili(Cortona)
Book now, pay at stay
US$186
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Sole del Sodo(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$99
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais La Corte dei Papi(La Dogana)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$521
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
266
146
48
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
146
48
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarehotel parkinglovely hotelpark the carvia guelfaother hotelscity gatewi fistaff went out of their wayold worldhuge bathroompiazza della repubblicafamily weddingbreakfast was excellentair conditioningpastriesrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This by far was a beautiful hotel room/suite and the staff was awesome. The city of Corona is fabulous and if you stay, book here at San Michele. It is located up the hill, and just a few mins by car from the train station.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank 2sam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear 2sam6,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review 5/5!
I am glad that you appreciated your accommodation at the Hotel San Michele and also the politeness of our staff, it makes me proud of them. I will be happy to pass your feedback on to the Team with regards to the excellent service provided. I look forward to seeing you soon at the Hotel San Michele in Cortona again.

Best regards,

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager
Cortona Luxury Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is top-notch in every aspect. Our room was big and had even a living area complete with sofa on the side. The staff is very helpful and friendly, immediately took our car out of the way as the access road is very steep and narrow. Bathroom is big and comfortable and WiFi works well. Breakfast is very good.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruedi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Ruedi S,

Thanks a lot for you kind review 5/5. I am so glad you have appreciated our comfortable rooms and our staff’s politeness. I hope you will decide to spend some days in our hotel soon again,

Best regards

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager
Cortona Luxury Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Spent a week here in Sept. From the moment we were picked up at the train station to the moment we left for our next destination everything was perfect and just seemed to get better with each passing day. The rooms are surprisingly large, very clean, well air conditioned and with good supportive beds.

But that was the easy part ... the staff at this hotel is what made the difference. Warm, friendly, helpful and always with a smile only just begin to tell the story. I apologize when I get these names wrong, but these folks should be recognized and when you stay there look for them - they will make your stay the best. Said, who picked us up at the train station and then carried our bags to our rooms, as we enjoyed a bottle of prosecco in the patio, was great and ever present to offer assistance. Gabriella who worked the front desk during the morning/day was always a smiling face to great us in the morning. Anna (I know I got this name wrong) who was there every morning with a wonderful breakfast, but most importantly a cup of cappuccino to get the day started, was the best. Fabio who did everything it seemed in addition to tending the bar in the evening was the hardest working guy I have ever met. Be careful what you ask him for ... he will have it done before you realize what has happened. And last, but definitely not least LouAnna who worked the front desk in the evenings. She always had a smile to greet us as we came 'home' after roaming around Cortona and gave great advise on where to go and where to eat. And she gives the best hugs when you leave - we will miss her.

If you find yourself in Tuscany this is a great place to use as a base to make day trips and visit all the other incredible places in Tuscany. And the Town of Cortona is a wonderful place in its own right. But Hotel San Michele is a place you must stay - in our opinion the absolute best Hotel and staff in Cortona! Thanks for a wonderful week in Tuscany. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The rooms - all of the are great. Our friends stayed in one of the suites and it was incredible.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Joe V,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We’re all incredibly proud of our recently refurbished property and the high standards of cleanliness our hardworking Housekeeping Team maintain and the politeness of all the staff. I’ll be happy to pass your feedback on to the Team with regards to the excellent service provided. The only thing we could wish is to see you again next year and make you feel at home again.

Yours Sincerely,

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager
Cortona Luxury Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Our stay at Hotel San Michele was perfect! The hotel is very efficiently run and the staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly. Staff at reception speak English and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The breakfast was outstanding and over our weeks stay we noticed that standards never dropped even as the hotel became busier. The hotel is obviously well maintained. Our room was comfortable with excellent air conditioning and bathroom facilities. All in all our stay was everything we could have hoped for. We were travelling with our mum (89 yrs old) and the location was excellent for walking around Cortona and having beautiful memorable nights at the Piazza...

Room Tip: We had a room for 4 adults (loft room) and were pleasantly surprised how spacious the room was...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Ms. Helen M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience 5/5.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed breakfast and your stay with us, I am very pleased to read how well our team took care of your family.
We look forward to welcoming you again in Cortona!

Best regards,

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager
Cortona Luxury Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to Cortona for the last 10 years and have never actually stayed in Cortona itself. Whenever we have visited we have always said we would like to stay in this hotel. It did not disappoint. Lovely spacious triple room with a distant view of Trasemino. Really comfortable. The staff were so helpful especially with our cases. Breakfast on the terrace was plentiful and lovely despite the presence of some especially loud and rude Slovakian tourists. So glad we finally came and visited.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank MistertheTrixter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolò A, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear MistertheTrixter,

Thank you for your wonderful review, thanks a lot for the 5/5.

It make me feel so happy to read that you loved our hotel and our team! I will share your nice comment with them.

We look forward to welcoming you soon in Cortona,

Best regards,

Dott. Nicolò Alunno
General Manager
Cortona Luxury Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews