We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
209
230
61
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
230
61
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount etna stunning views up hill minute walk traditional hotel cable car sun loungers lovely hotel cakes following morning corner room the bus faded grandeur breakfast room old world charm walking difficulties week stay
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel staff all very friendly if you are thinking of booking check which room you have got I thought all rooms looked over the sea from the side or front but we have a room on the back and it's dark and no we're to sit out when you have been out all day
When I asked if I could change the answer was no it would of been nice to have a sun lounger to sit on like all the rest of the rooms

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank traceyanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

My friend and I stayed at this beautiful hotel for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised. The room was comfortable and the view was great. Gaby at the Reception was extremely helpful. There was sufficient to eat at breakfast. The only drawbacks were: shower area (although a good shower, there was not enough room. The shower curtain kept sticking to you), the balcony was not private (although we had friendly neighbors) and wifi connection was not that strong.

Although it was at a walking distance (a few stairs depending on how fit you are) to the city center, what surprised me is that if you choose not to take the stairs you had to dodge cars & buses and other vehicles on the road (not fit for pedestrians).

On our last night, we ordered two pizzas and man were they huge!!! We underestimated the delivery time because it was delivered in less than 10 minutes. Gaby did a great job.

Room tip: We stayed at room # 33. You could hear some sound of the noisy road but I suppose you could hear it in all the rooms.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank borgt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Just arrived home this morning from a weeks stay, we stayed in room 38 low down apart from the main hotel lovely and private with sun loungers and table/chairs and canopy and lovely and private, no fridge in fact didn't meet anyone who had a fridge am beginning to think it's an urban myth ha ha met people staying in different rooms and nobody had one, it would have been lovely because service at the bar was very sporadic and often we had to hunt round the hotel and go to reception to get someone to get us a drink.
The walk up the steps to breakfast and the road outside does get wearing as the week goes on and I must admit to feeling glad to be coming home as no more steps (tip it's easier to walk up the slope outside the hotel rather than the steps) but the walk to town only takes 15 mins and isn't as bad as we thought there's 55 steps and once you get up them the rest of the walk is fine. Breakfast is lovely as is service and the views and the beautiful dining room made it a lovely experience every morning and it's 8-10am but they will do you an early breakfast if you are going out early on a trip. Check out is 11am despite Thomson telling you it's 10am. If you want a trip to la dolce vita beach it's €8 each for transport (3 times to choose) and you get a welcome drink 2 sun beds and a parasol excellent value sea was choppy and pebbly but there is a shower for cooling down and a lovely beach bar that serves good food. Choice of 3 times for return home 4pm 5pm or 5.30pm highly recommend just book at reception and pay at beach. Rory our Thompson rep was fantastic gave us loads of info and tips, we went on the etna sunset trip (fantastic will do separate review) and the godfather tour great fun again will do separate review. Can highly recommend the Bella Blu restaurant fabulous food and service. Loved the hotel it was a unique stay and the staff were lovely and welcoming and the views were stunning and although rooms look old they are kept lovely and clean and fresh towels every day but I probably wouldn't stay here again because of all the steps and lack of pool. Taormina itself is very hilly and lots of steps generally and the tours involve lots of walking/climbing steps too in fact my legs are aching now I'm home and we're reasonably fit (climbed Ben Nevis last year) so we are used to walking etc but everywhere you go there are steps ha ha that's the only reason I haven't given 5 stars, if you like a mini workout every day on hols then go for it!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank DebsnMark1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Spent two weeks in this lovely hotel. Staff are lovely and breakfast was better than I expected. Variety offered every day.
Views are amazing.
Some rooms are better than others, did not understand room allocation, we had a balcony room and were staying for 2 weeks, others had less nights and had better rooms with terraces and deckchairs.
Walk to town was better than I expected, the climb was steeped and easily achievable when we paced it.

Room tip: We had 4, not good for long stay
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesBoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one week as we visited Taormina for a friends wedding . This hotel is charming beautiful and looks like a scene from a romantic film set in days gone by . The gardens are stunning and the views are among the best in Taormina .
We had a side terrace over looking the bay and mount etna .

There is a round communal terrace too that looks out to sea .

The dining room is gorgeous very Art Deco and simple yet beautiful .

The hotel only serves evening meals once a week , we didn't stay for that, however the breakfast is varied high quality and delicious , especially when eaten on the terrace .

The staff were polite and helpful .

The minus points of the hotel is it is on a hill and quite a trek up to the town , there is a short cut over the road and up 60 steps then you can walk up the hill , but it's still a 15 minute walk .

Our room was really small and our air conditioning was inefficient as the room was hot , bearing in mind there was a heatwave the week we were there with temperatures of 100 degrees .

The bathroom fittings have seen better days , our sink had a crack as did the shower tray .

All in all if you are looking for a charming boutique style hotel with old fashioned charm , polite well mannered staff and stunning gardens and views this is perfect even though it would have been lovely to have a pool .

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank beetlenanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews