We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view, beautiful desin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing view, beautiful desin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

The Ashbee has been totally renovated and the result is brilliant. Standard rooms are looking onto the courtyard and have a small terrace but they can be quite noisy. The hotel is very practical since it is only a few meters from the city center, which is a great avantage since cars are not authorized in the old city center. The service is excellent and very kind. The swimmingpool is overlooking a fantastic panorama. The only negative point is the poor comfort of the beds.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YPollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    73
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
257
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffern, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. From the rooms to the service, everything was outstanding. Highly recommend for business or pleasure. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

This hotel is not the standard Hotel, Well positioned to visit the old town of Taormina ( just a few minutes away by foot) but very calm in a lovely garden with terraces and swimmingpool. We had a suite , very well decorated as was the whole Hotel. The service was excellent , good advice concerning restaurants etc. We would love to come back.
Next year they will also open a restaurant. For now only breakfast and snacks

Room Tip: The rooms are of different sizes but all luxurious and with lovely bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lonegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We spent 4 nights at The Ashbee Hotel in the last week of September for our Honeymoon. We had such a wonderful time there and it exceeded our expectations. The staff were lovely from the moment we arrived and had a real air of professionalism yet they were very relaxed. I don't think there was much they wouldn't have done for us had we asked. We had pretty wet weather whislt we there so they equipped us with a great umbrella. They also changed our towels twice a day so we always had dry ones and white fluffy robes to wear whilst drinking Prosecco on our balcony. The grounds are so pretty and the view stunning. We did dip in the pool (which is very clean) but it was really cold-still worth it for the infinity view. People have complained about the breakfast so we were prepared for it but found it quite nice and enough for us for the length of time we stayed. Taormina is a fantastic place to stay and the hotel is perfectly positioned to take walks day and evening. We will be going back we hope as I think we have spoilt by having stayed at the Ashbee-im sure nothing will come close-you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We drove into Taormina and as the streets got narrow and steeper we made the turn around at the first gate into the old city and went back down to the parking garages and I suggested to my wife that if I found a place on the street to stop she should hop out and check out the Ashbee. PERFECT, This place has onsite parking and is just at the edge of the action. It is quiet, the views are super the room is modern, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is wonderful when the weather is good eat out on the patio. The staff are also perfect. It is a bit of a walk up the hill to the first gate but well worth it as the town is not that large unless you have really bad knees ( mine are not so great) it was no big deal. There is daily newspapers, english TV and just about everything you could ask for. I give it a 12 out of 10 top drawer all the way. If you have anything bad to say about this place you don't travel much or are very picky! We came for one night and spent 3.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skibumFernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.3 km away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.8 km away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.9 km away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.8 km away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Property: The Ashbee Hotel
Address: Via San Pancrazio n. 46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city.A short walk leads to famous restaurants, to enjoy an excellent cuisine.Today, this new charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 25 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing