We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smal pearl of a boutique hotel in the center”
Review of El Jebel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Jebel Hotel
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

El Jebel is a small hotel only 8-9 rooms of good size in the middle of the center, that is a "promenade" street.

Located a few steps up from the busy street the 4 floor hotel that was previously a quite upscale and nice villa for generations.
On top there is a fantastic rooftop where you can have a relaxin dinner or watch the sun go down over Etna the Vulcano.

There is a good breakfast and a small bar where you can relax in.

There is good sound proofing and air condition, the place is well maintained and is spotless.

NB
There is no swimming pool or easy access to beach. So in the hot summer be aware that the beach is a bit away, either by walking to the end of the street and take the cable down to sea or use the hotels suggestion.

The hotel has an agreement with a private beach(Euro20) it takes 15 min by minibuss, that goes 3-4 times from 09-12.:00 and return until 17:30.

That beach is really nice and well worth the price. You will have lockers, towels, sun beds a garden to chill in and a welcome drink (small cava) in an ice bag. There is guards so all your belongings is safe when swimming.
If you want they have massage Euro 40-50 Pr hour.

There is a quite good restaurant serving a variety of sandwiches, pasta, fish&pizza.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 August 2017

Dear Guests, thanks for your rewiew. It’s a pleasure to know that you had a very positive experience at El Jebel, expecially at the Beach Club, very important in those hot and very crowded days. We will be glad to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Great boutique hotel, very easy to find. We caught the train into Taormina and got a taxi up to Porta Catania which is one of the entrances to the main strip. Very easily located. Staff were excellent, with communication prior to our arrival and during our stay.

The room was clean, modern and spacious. Breakfast had enough variety for the size of the hotel and dinner at the restaurant was lovely. Service was second to none and the view from the terrazza was just stunning.

The only thing lacking was that the hotel doesn't have its own gym or pool, however they have an agreement with Paradise Beach Club which for 20 euros per person you get the shuttle there and back, a beach lounger, umbrella, your own change room and a welcome drink as well. We thought it was worth it. And the place has a pool too which is filled with ocean water- pretty cool.

The staff were able to recommend a couple of gyms within easy walking distance so this was also fine.

Would stay here again.

Photos are the view from the terrace.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank didi1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 August 2017


Dear Guests, thanks for spending your time for this rewiew. We always try to anticipate our guest's wishes to make their stay comfortable and pleasant. We're glad to know that our services satisfied your expectatives. The points you mentioned are our krafts: high standard services, restaurant, position and panoramic view. All the staff thank you for your rewiew. We will be glad to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This hotel is greatly located because in the centre of Taormina but very quiet and away from the crowds. You can walk everywhere without having to climb hills.
The rooms are beautiful and each very different so ask to see rooms first before choosing.
Restaurant is lovely on top terrace and food is excellent. Service is wonderful and very friendly.
Only caveat is to make sure of room rates because what are on booking sites may ot be offered. Also the suites are much better hate the double rooms.

Room Tip: covered in review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Reading other reviews, I must say, I'm not sure I would have been able to find this hotel at 1 am, the hour we arrived due to delayed flights. However, The staff at this hotel speaks very good English and are SO helpful! They helped us secure a driver, Cesare, from Catania airport that knew exactly where we were going. He stopped in the palazzo in Taormina and carried our luggage up the stairs to El Jabel. Thank goodness the hotel has a lift to get our luggage up to our room! It's true that hotel doesn't have numbers on the door but we were escorted to our room and they showed us around so we could find the safe and room amenities. The room was pretty modern and absolutely spotless! It was light and bright and had about 4 large windows that open to a beautiful breeze and lovely scenery. The bed was comfy and we never heard another person the whole time we were there. (3 nights) The hotel had a great air conditioner. It was unseasonably hot but I was never uncomfortable. The breakfast was served in a large glass "greenhouse" type room that was bright and lovely to have breakfast in. Breakfast was certainly adequate with several options including fresh fruit, scrambled eggs and sausage, breads, croissants, meats, juices and I even saw gluten free options. They bring you cappuccinos, coffee, teas, etc.
The hotel was in a great location. It was just up the stairs from the main street, Corso Umberto, through Taormina. Everything was walkable. We walked to the funicular that took us down to the beach and had a nice time exploring that area. We didn't leave Taormina to explore Mt Etna or other areas as we were there to unwind for a few days which made this walkable little town perfect for or relaxation. We did a great cooking class, walked back to the hotel and took a nap then walked around some more and had dinner at a nearby restaurant! This hotel fit our needs perfectly and Luca was super sweet and quite helpful. (Everyone on staff was but I'm afraid I can only remember Luca's name.) I think our room number 102 and it had a very nice bathroom with a rain shower head above and a handheld with the partial glass to sort of keep the water in. I will surely stay here again and definitely look forward to my return!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AFBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 July 2017

Dear Guests we thank you for your rewiew. Hotel El Jebel offers an unconventional stay, where the rooms are not numbers but special and comfortable places where you can relax and appreciate the beautiful landscape that offers Taormina.The menus reflects local tastes and traditions, our abundant breakfasts as you described them, offer local and international food to permit you to feel at home too. We really appreciate your rewiew and your positive feedback.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

In a discreet area, where you may meet ocasionally VIP' the 4-th level is a must destination for Ciampoli restaurant. Booking is a must for late dinners; otherwise, you may be lucky as us, that found a 6 pax table just in time. Staff is friendly, even some Prosecco arrived on my trousers acccidentaly from their fault. The Chef is amazing, the view is great, atmosphere is full of joy and relax... Etna works at the horizon and the sunset send orange lights on the other side of the vulcano... prices are accordingly, but not exagerate. Thank you, El Jebel resort!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank TheFairClient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 km away
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
0.7 km away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
0.7 km away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#20 of 87 in Taormina
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
1.7 km away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
1 km away
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Grand Hotel San Pietro
#39 of 87 in Taormina
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jebel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jebel Hotel

Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: €243 - €549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Jebel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Jebel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jebel Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing