We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$515
US$451
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Panoramic Hotel(Taormina)
US$302
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$592
US$562
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$295
US$205
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
US$388
US$364
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$157
US$128
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$999
US$629
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$569
US$545
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace(Taormina)
US$680
US$647
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$2,125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
426
68
14
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
68
14
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracethe main streetjunior suiteboutique hotelsmall hotelwelcome drinkyour luggagecorso umbertostairs to climbparadise beach clubmulti storey car parkbeautiful hotelporta cataniamount etnathe location is perfectthird floorlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Great boutique hotel, very easy to find. We caught the train into Taormina and got a taxi up to Porta Catania which is one of the entrances to the main strip. Very easily located. Staff were excellent, with communication prior to our arrival and during our stay.

The room was clean, modern and spacious. Breakfast had enough variety for the size of the hotel and dinner at the restaurant was lovely. Service was second to none and the view from the terrazza was just stunning.

The only thing lacking was that the hotel doesn't have its own gym or pool, however they have an agreement with Paradise Beach Club which for 20 euros per person you get the shuttle there and back, a beach lounger, umbrella, your own change room and a welcome drink as well. We thought it was worth it. And the place has a pool too which is filled with ocean water- pretty cool.

The staff were able to recommend a couple of gyms within easy walking distance so this was also fine.

Would stay here again.

Photos are the view from the terrace.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank didi1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 August 2017


Dear Guests, thanks for spending your time for this rewiew. We always try to anticipate our guest's wishes to make their stay comfortable and pleasant. We're glad to know that our services satisfied your expectatives. The points you mentioned are our krafts: high standard services, restaurant, position and panoramic view. All the staff thank you for your rewiew. We will be glad to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This hotel is greatly located because in the centre of Taormina but very quiet and away from the crowds. You can walk everywhere without having to climb hills.
The rooms are beautiful and each very different so ask to see rooms first before choosing.
Restaurant is lovely on top terrace and food is excellent. Service is wonderful and very friendly.
Only caveat is to make sure of room rates because what are on booking sites may ot be offered. Also the suites are much better hate the double rooms.

Room Tip: covered in review
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Reading other reviews, I must say, I'm not sure I would have been able to find this hotel at 1 am, the hour we arrived due to delayed flights. However, The staff at this hotel speaks very good English and are SO helpful! They helped us secure a driver, Cesare, from Catania airport that knew exactly where we were going. He stopped in the palazzo in Taormina and carried our luggage up the stairs to El Jabel. Thank goodness the hotel has a lift to get our luggage up to our room! It's true that hotel doesn't have numbers on the door but we were escorted to our room and they showed us around so we could find the safe and room amenities. The room was pretty modern and absolutely spotless! It was light and bright and had about 4 large windows that open to a beautiful breeze and lovely scenery. The bed was comfy and we never heard another person the whole time we were there. (3 nights) The hotel had a great air conditioner. It was unseasonably hot but I was never uncomfortable. The breakfast was served in a large glass "greenhouse" type room that was bright and lovely to have breakfast in. Breakfast was certainly adequate with several options including fresh fruit, scrambled eggs and sausage, breads, croissants, meats, juices and I even saw gluten free options. They bring you cappuccinos, coffee, teas, etc.
The hotel was in a great location. It was just up the stairs from the main street, Corso Umberto, through Taormina. Everything was walkable. We walked to the funicular that took us down to the beach and had a nice time exploring that area. We didn't leave Taormina to explore Mt Etna or other areas as we were there to unwind for a few days which made this walkable little town perfect for or relaxation. We did a great cooking class, walked back to the hotel and took a nap then walked around some more and had dinner at a nearby restaurant! This hotel fit our needs perfectly and Luca was super sweet and quite helpful. (Everyone on staff was but I'm afraid I can only remember Luca's name.) I think our room number 102 and it had a very nice bathroom with a rain shower head above and a handheld with the partial glass to sort of keep the water in. I will surely stay here again and definitely look forward to my return!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AFBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 July 2017

Dear Guests we thank you for your rewiew. Hotel El Jebel offers an unconventional stay, where the rooms are not numbers but special and comfortable places where you can relax and appreciate the beautiful landscape that offers Taormina.The menus reflects local tastes and traditions, our abundant breakfasts as you described them, offer local and international food to permit you to feel at home too. We really appreciate your rewiew and your positive feedback.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

In a discreet area, where you may meet ocasionally VIP' the 4-th level is a must destination for Ciampoli restaurant. Booking is a must for late dinners; otherwise, you may be lucky as us, that found a 6 pax table just in time. Staff is friendly, even some Prosecco arrived on my trousers acccidentaly from their fault. The Chef is amazing, the view is great, atmosphere is full of joy and relax... Etna works at the horizon and the sunset send orange lights on the other side of the vulcano... prices are accordingly, but not exagerate. Thank you, El Jebel resort!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank TheFairClient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

It was really difficult to find this hotel by car: in the end we phoned when the GPS indicated that we were close. Reception told us to park in the multi-storey car park nearby and take the lift to the exit at the 7th floor of the car park, where the bell-boy would meet us. I am not sure how we would have found this hotel if we had not phoned.

In the hotel, the staff were helpful and welcoming, although we were offered no town map on arrival – which we had to ask for later and separately.

Oddly, the rooms are not numbered or identified on the outside. The Receptionist said that they were all different on the inside, so it was felt to be unnecessary…

Yes, maybe, but how can you find your room with no distinguishing mark outside?

Our room was not particularly large and had little capacity for storing much luggage or clothes. There was a kettle for making tea/coffee, which was welcome, albeit unusual in the places we stayed in Sicily. There was a good-sized safe, but it was light and not actually anchored to anything, so was hardly secure.

In the bathroom the water was hot. The air-conditioning did not extend to the bathroom.

There was wifi in the room, but of variable strength and sometimes it did not work well.

Breakfast was indifferent and in a soul-less room: there wasn’t much of anything. The scrambled egg on both mornings was dry and slightly grey, but was made fresh when we asked. The bubbles were flat, but, again, were replenished when we asked.

There is a good view from the roof terrace but no shelter at all, so a potentially useful facility is not usable.

Location of the hotel is good.

It is a fairly expensive hotel, but not worth the money...

Room Tip: I am not sure that any of the rooms have good views
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews