We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
432
70
15
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
70
15
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace the main street boutique hotel small hotel corso umberto welcome drink your luggage stairs to climb paradise beach club upgraded to a junior suite porta catania multi storey car park mount etna rooms are beautiful the location is perfect third floor view of the bay
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Reading other reviews, I must say, I'm not sure I would have been able to find this hotel at 1 am, the hour we arrived due to delayed flights. However, The staff at this hotel speaks very good English and are SO helpful! They helped us secure a driver, Cesare, from Catania airport that knew exactly where we were going. He stopped in the palazzo in Taormina and carried our luggage up the stairs to El Jabel. Thank goodness the hotel has a lift to get our luggage up to our room! It's true that hotel doesn't have numbers on the door but we were escorted to our room and they showed us around so we could find the safe and room amenities. The room was pretty modern and absolutely spotless! It was light and bright and had about 4 large windows that open to a beautiful breeze and lovely scenery. The bed was comfy and we never heard another person the whole time we were there. (3 nights) The hotel had a great air conditioner. It was unseasonably hot but I was never uncomfortable. The breakfast was served in a large glass "greenhouse" type room that was bright and lovely to have breakfast in. Breakfast was certainly adequate with several options including fresh fruit, scrambled eggs and sausage, breads, croissants, meats, juices and I even saw gluten free options. They bring you cappuccinos, coffee, teas, etc.
The hotel was in a great location. It was just up the stairs from the main street, Corso Umberto, through Taormina. Everything was walkable. We walked to the funicular that took us down to the beach and had a nice time exploring that area. We didn't leave Taormina to explore Mt Etna or other areas as we were there to unwind for a few days which made this walkable little town perfect for or relaxation. We did a great cooking class, walked back to the hotel and took a nap then walked around some more and had dinner at a nearby restaurant! This hotel fit our needs perfectly and Luca was super sweet and quite helpful. (Everyone on staff was but I'm afraid I can only remember Luca's name.) I think our room number 102 and it had a very nice bathroom with a rain shower head above and a handheld with the partial glass to sort of keep the water in. I will surely stay here again and definitely look forward to my return!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AFBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 July 2017

Dear Guests we thank you for your rewiew. Hotel El Jebel offers an unconventional stay, where the rooms are not numbers but special and comfortable places where you can relax and appreciate the beautiful landscape that offers Taormina.The menus reflects local tastes and traditions, our abundant breakfasts as you described them, offer local and international food to permit you to feel at home too. We really appreciate your rewiew and your positive feedback.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

In a discreet area, where you may meet ocasionally VIP' the 4-th level is a must destination for Ciampoli restaurant. Booking is a must for late dinners; otherwise, you may be lucky as us, that found a 6 pax table just in time. Staff is friendly, even some Prosecco arrived on my trousers acccidentaly from their fault. The Chef is amazing, the view is great, atmosphere is full of joy and relax... Etna works at the horizon and the sunset send orange lights on the other side of the vulcano... prices are accordingly, but not exagerate. Thank you, El Jebel resort!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank TheFairClient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

It was really difficult to find this hotel by car: in the end we phoned when the GPS indicated that we were close. Reception told us to park in the multi-storey car park nearby and take the lift to the exit at the 7th floor of the car park, where the bell-boy would meet us. I am not sure how we would have found this hotel if we had not phoned.

In the hotel, the staff were helpful and welcoming, although we were offered no town map on arrival – which we had to ask for later and separately.

Oddly, the rooms are not numbered or identified on the outside. The Receptionist said that they were all different on the inside, so it was felt to be unnecessary…

Yes, maybe, but how can you find your room with no distinguishing mark outside?

Our room was not particularly large and had little capacity for storing much luggage or clothes. There was a kettle for making tea/coffee, which was welcome, albeit unusual in the places we stayed in Sicily. There was a good-sized safe, but it was light and not actually anchored to anything, so was hardly secure.

In the bathroom the water was hot. The air-conditioning did not extend to the bathroom.

There was wifi in the room, but of variable strength and sometimes it did not work well.

Breakfast was indifferent and in a soul-less room: there wasn’t much of anything. The scrambled egg on both mornings was dry and slightly grey, but was made fresh when we asked. The bubbles were flat, but, again, were replenished when we asked.

There is a good view from the roof terrace but no shelter at all, so a potentially useful facility is not usable.

Location of the hotel is good.

It is a fairly expensive hotel, but not worth the money...

Room Tip: I am not sure that any of the rooms have good views
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

WE stayed for two nights here in May 2017. On the second night there was a food and wine pairing meal with wines from the Etna Vineyard and a meal with many traditional elements. These were both excellent. Breakfast was a wide ranging buffet with many cooked options to any tastes.

The rooms are clean and bright and look over the amazing views of this hilltop village. They are well equipped pleasant. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of main sights. The staff were welcoming and helpful, arranging a personal trip to Mt Etna. They spoke English well.

The roof top terrace has spectacular views as far as Mt Etna and all the surrounding countryside. It is an exciting ride up from reception.

The car parking is more difficult and the hotel recommends a parking garage just outside the town. At the time we arrived this was full and the reception arranged a second parking . Taormina is not accessible to ordinary vehicles.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Our room was quite spacious with a view of the bay and part of Etna. There was a sitting area, a very comfortable bed, and the bathroom was large with a fabulous shower. The staff is gracious and very helpful. We definitely recommend this hotel, however if you have trouble with stairs this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleljebel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at El Jebel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Guests we always manage to guarantee the best service and we are glad of your satisfaction. Only 38 steps are to separate the Hotel from the main road, but enough to assure quiet and confidentiality, also to elevate the panoramic roof terrace in a high strategic point; A good compromise at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews