We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
51
92
44
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
92
44
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking pastries mezzanine floor first floor air conditioning ortigia island elevator sights car espresso keys mosquitoes lounge
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Booked a triple room with balcony online, but got a "double" and "without balcony." When pressed and pressured, another room was finally and reluctantly shown - the proper triple with a balcony - but the toilet in that room did not flush and the fridge was dirty. Besides, the hot water was going to take more than 1 hour to get heated for the new room, so I capitulated (after a 40-hour airplane hopping) and stayed in the double room.

Wifi was sporadic at best. And, of course, they tried to refuse credit card payment. The worst, however, was the TOTAL LACK OF ENGLISH and CARE. Mr. Morelli, who was in charge of manning the front desk, did not even understand "check out." Don't bother ask him anything because all he could say was "Io non lo so (I don't know)." He would not help you planning your trip because even with the aide of Google translate, he would still only repeat "Io non lo so" to everything.

However, the only time Mr. Morelli was active and even aggressive in communication was when he wanted to know when you would leave and when you would return because he would have to be at the hotel to open the door and get the keys. Excuse me, so I cannot come and go as I please? But I am a tourist, how do I know when I will come back or leave?

So, if you want to ENJOY and HAVE A VACATION, stay away from this place.

Room Tip: LOOK and CHECK first to see everything works.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheWorldDigested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

Hotel short walk from bus station . Good location as also short walk from ortigia. Friendly helpful staff . Good room and nice breakfast with huge range of pastries and sweet stuff if that's what takes your fancy. Able to print flight tickets with the help of reception staff. Quiet hotel , nice courtyard area to sit outside. Our room had a problem with the air conditioning and so left window open and mosquitos had a great supper. On walk into ortigia found great cafe on corner called cafe Apollo - highly recommend it for the free food you get with the drinks - like a full meal. Ortigia is amazing promenade along the sea front and then the maze of little streets full of character. Lots of great
places to eat and also great
shops for local products. All in all very good quality for a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure air conditioning working in room.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Allowing for the fact that Hotel Mediterraneo was 30-40% more expensive and offers lower standards than the same 3 star hotels in Catania and Palermo, in this respect it appears to be a disappointment. A few examples: the elevator would work (at a snail's pace!!!!) if the button was pressed all the time, then the fridge which barely cooled or wifi which did not work upon arrival and would shut down later in the evening.
However, on the merrier note, the courtesy and friendliness of the front desk staff is superb (e.g. they went to great lengths to make wifi work again). The kettle with the kit for in-room preparation of tea/coffee is another merit. The room was specious and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marek_ZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Hotel Mediterraneo is handily placed being easy to get to by car or rail, has free parking outside the door and is half way between the historic island of Ortigia and the Archaelogical Park and museum area (each just 15 mins walk). So once there you can relax.
Arrived at 1pm and our room was ready. Staff spoke a little English but the welcome was very friendly and included a town map on which we hand key areas and opening times pointed out.
As a family of three we were given room 39 which was adequate though dated in the furniture style. However, it was on the second floor (and lift only goes to first floor), had a balcony but wall was so high you could not see over it (!) and fridge in room was so noisy it was better to unplug it (plus it made the room warm which then required the aircon which spat out dust after a winter of not being used).
But this is a character hotel in an old palace with charming mezzanine floor lounge areas, free use of computer and wifi here and in rooms and the warmest of welcomes. Not all staff spoke English but with our little bit of Italian we made ourselves understood.
Breakfast was basic continental fayre served in the basement (more stairs) and you need to remember to ask specifically for caffe con latte if you want white coffee or they can do cappuchino or espresso. The fruit panetonne was lovely.
We ate well and without the higher Ortiga prices by going locally, to Caffe Itaca (on docks road near bus park on way to Ortigia island) and twice at Le 7 Spezie (very popular with locals and just round the corner so you may need to book). Do visit the market on Ortigia in the morning and be prepared to haggle - its great fun. Also be prepared to book an early boat tour to caves and round island and again haggle and be prepared to walk off - we got the joint trip for 10 Euro each after being quoted 20 Euros each initially to go on 11am trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor at front have best balconies and are not at all noisy
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busy_Lissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

A very good 3- night stay in the hotel. The staff is polite + helpful, the rooms clean & the hotel perfectly located, at a short distance from Ortygia.

If you are looking for a decent place to stay do not hesitate.

All staff has been polite & at disposal

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank spada231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlMediterraneo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Guests,

we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again and we wish you all the best.

Reception Staff
Hotel Mediterrano Siracusa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews