We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
288
100
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
100
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent coffee airport bus shower city host
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Perfect location - central and quiet at the same time, the room was clean and very nice , we had everything we needed and it felt very comfortable.The staff is very sweet and friendly, also with dogs :) - highly recommended !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarolineA2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The staff was very friendly and gave good tips about the city and its food. Perfect location to explore the city by walking. They offer a private parking where you can park safely for only 5 euros a day.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lilio772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

I would say this was a good deal and I would recommend this to,anyone wanting to visit the main attractions of Palermo and have somewhere pleasant and comfortable to retire afterwards. It's a bonus that the staff were so friendly and helpful

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rbligh_656619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

I am rating this hotel based on expectations for a value hotel.

The good: Most important the hotel was very clean and safe. The room was nicely decorated. The bed and pillow were comfortable, the shower had lots of water flow and was hot. The internet in the room was good. I did not need heat or air conditioning so I can't speak to that. The room had adequate electric outlets. The beakfast was good, but primarily sweets. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was nice.

The bad: There is not much storage in the room and the lighting is kind of dim for reading. There are a couple of stools in the room but no chair with a back. It can be kind of hard to find the key holes in the dark. The main building entrance is under construction, but does not effect the B&B

Stayed: April 2017
2  Thank Richard_Greer_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

I have a very mixed feelings about the place. The only reason why I choose it among the other properties was the Certificate of excellence of tripadvisor. And it was a big mistake.
I agree that staff is very helpful , caring and polite but you don’t come to hotel to be pleased by staff. You need a good room to stay during your trip and in Carella it is a big problem.
The entrance to Carella is an old ugly door. When I came in I was scared with terrible mess of old pipes and metal sticks on the first floor. Repairing time for the hotel – I have found the excuse for it. Check in was fast and easy.
The room they give me was on the third floor. Big and wonderful apartment, a beautiful bathroom, shared kitchen. I was happy until the shower time. I have found full absence of hot water and had to call to a manager. She came, said that it’s the city fault but they have hotel boilers on the second floor only, she apologized and moved me to the second floor to Nairobi room. Yes, it has hot water. And it’s the only plus of the room. Nairobi room is dark, no day light, the only window is faced inside of building to smoking place of the hotel and to passage to other rooms, so people are passed by or come to smoke to your window.
I have asked to move again and they moved me to Temple room. Wow! Hot water, balcony and day light. But they put some disinfection liquid before I moved and I didn’t notice from the beginning how terribly the room stinks. Even walls in bathroom smelled! I had to sleep with open balcony in January to get some fresh air and not die!
The breakfast was ok and in a nice room. Location is very central.
I understand and appreciate all management efforts to make my stay comfortable. But as to be honest I haven’t asked too much: hot water, day light and fresh air. It’s not a special demand, it’s something you should get automatically in any hotel. I have changed three rooms and all of them were out of such easy demand. I have calculated days when I can move to other hotel. And it’s not something you should feel staying in Trapadvisor Certificate of Excellence hotels.
I have to admit also that if I stayed in first room my review would be great and my stay wouldn't be spoild.

Room Tip: No Nairoby or Temple room
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lubitelj r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BB-Carella, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at B&B Carella, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

We are sorry for the disadvantage of hot water (unfortunately once every 100 years the unexpected happens) .... For all the rest .... entrance door (multiple times documented by past reviews), bad smell (? ), room too dark ..... is not that maybe you had too many pretentions for what is still a bed and breakfast? Charming, surely, and we do our best to give you an unmistakable service. But it still remains a family run bed and breakfast.
I hope, however, that you will give us another chance one day. The door is finally restoring it. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews