We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$123
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mercure Palermo Centro(Palermo)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$294
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$311/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$91
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alma Hotel(Palermo)
US$128
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casena dei Colli(Palermo)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bel 3(Palermo)
US$83
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
US$99
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
276
97
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
97
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent coffeenice roomfirst floorairport busshowercitystoragesweetspillowssightseeinginternethost
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2017

I am rating this hotel based on expectations for a value hotel.

The good: Most important the hotel was very clean and safe. The room was nicely decorated. The bed and pillow were comfortable, the shower had lots of water flow and was hot. The internet in the room was good. I did not need heat or air conditioning so I can't speak to that. The room had adequate electric outlets. The beakfast was good, but primarily sweets. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was nice.

The bad: There is not much storage in the room and the lighting is kind of dim for reading. There are a couple of stools in the room but no chair with a back. It can be kind of hard to find the key holes in the dark. The main building entrance is under construction, but does not effect the B&B

Stayed: April 2017
2  Thank Richard_Greer_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

I have a very mixed feelings about the place. The only reason why I choose it among the other properties was the Certificate of excellence of tripadvisor. And it was a big mistake.
I agree that staff is very helpful , caring and polite but you don’t come to hotel to be pleased by staff. You need a good room to stay during your trip and in Carella it is a big problem.
The entrance to Carella is an old ugly door. When I came in I was scared with terrible mess of old pipes and metal sticks on the first floor. Repairing time for the hotel – I have found the excuse for it. Check in was fast and easy.
The room they give me was on the third floor. Big and wonderful apartment, a beautiful bathroom, shared kitchen. I was happy until the shower time. I have found full absence of hot water and had to call to a manager. She came, said that it’s the city fault but they have hotel boilers on the second floor only, she apologized and moved me to the second floor to Nairobi room. Yes, it has hot water. And it’s the only plus of the room. Nairobi room is dark, no day light, the only window is faced inside of building to smoking place of the hotel and to passage to other rooms, so people are passed by or come to smoke to your window.
I have asked to move again and they moved me to Temple room. Wow! Hot water, balcony and day light. But they put some disinfection liquid before I moved and I didn’t notice from the beginning how terribly the room stinks. Even walls in bathroom smelled! I had to sleep with open balcony in January to get some fresh air and not die!
The breakfast was ok and in a nice room. Location is very central.
I understand and appreciate all management efforts to make my stay comfortable. But as to be honest I haven’t asked too much: hot water, day light and fresh air. It’s not a special demand, it’s something you should get automatically in any hotel. I have changed three rooms and all of them were out of such easy demand. I have calculated days when I can move to other hotel. And it’s not something you should feel staying in Trapadvisor Certificate of Excellence hotels.
I have to admit also that if I stayed in first room my review would be great and my stay wouldn't be spoild.

Room Tip: No Nairoby or Temple room
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lubitelj r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BB-Carella, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at B&B Carella, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

We are sorry for the disadvantage of hot water (unfortunately once every 100 years the unexpected happens) .... For all the rest .... entrance door (multiple times documented by past reviews), bad smell (? ), room too dark ..... is not that maybe you had too many pretentions for what is still a bed and breakfast? Charming, surely, and we do our best to give you an unmistakable service. But it still remains a family run bed and breakfast.
I hope, however, that you will give us another chance one day. The door is finally restoring it. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This is a very cozy and beautifully renovated B&B run by sweet and friendly people. Our room was quiet and comfortable for the one night that we stayed in Palermo. Our check-in process was quick and easy, and the price was very reasonable. We were able to easily walk to restaurants and other sites in Palermo. Also, the full Sicilian breakfast was great! I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

B&B Carella is a charming place within one of old Palermo's lovely palaces. Totally modern rooms, very quiet, comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms. And the people who run it are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect -- very central to the old part of the city and convenient to the evening promenades, outdoor music events, museums and other cultural attractions. Just a wonderful place to stay. My only regret -- that our itinerary only allowed us a couple nights at this lovely B&B. And yes, the prices was a real bargain.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank billmatthiesen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

I recently stay here during my trip to Palermo. The room is very Beautiful, the property is in great location, lovely staff are always very helpful. Sicilian Breakfast is also very nice. I highly recommend!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ltran_582588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews