We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
195
201
41
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
201
41
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spare bed air conditioning works recently stayed nights within walking distance via roma sized bedroom booked a double room big room central location taxi ride hotel room change rooms dining table small hotel places of interest would stay here again shopping district
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

The Residenza d'Aragona is spotlessly clean. The rooms are enormous, with couches, four seater table, and an enormous bed. Plenty of storage space.

The common seating area off reception are comfortable. There is a lift to all floors. Luggage storage is available on day of check out. WiFi is faultless. Air Con is in perfect working order. Reception and housekeeping staff are all extremely accommodating.

The property has a two set down car spaces outside the entrance for your limo / taxi pickups / drop offs and CPO team vehicles. The reception is secured 24/7 with one internal locked door on buzzer from 7am to 11pm when reception is manned. After 11pm two locked doors secure the property and access between 11pm and 7am is via keys issued to you by reception on arrival. Doors to rooms are like bank vaults and my room was noise free - no other room noises and no street noise.

The property is the perfect base for the Arab-Norman sites of Palermo and most of the sites are within walking distance for those who like a pleasant walk - the Cathedral(s), the Norman Palace also the Opera, the docks, the shopping district are all within easy walking distance. There are many bars, cafes, restaurants, tobacconists, and grocery stores within a couple of hundred metres of the location.

The taxi fare from Palermo airport to the property is between 65EUR and 85EUR depending on various factors including time of day, amount of luggage, and whether your drivers meter is on the fiddle. The ride is 20-30 minutes depending on time of day.

The taxi ride to Mondello Beach (which is beautiful) is between EUR25 and EUR35 - the reception will arrange one for you. There is also a bus to Mondello Beach - the 603 - I note there is some confusion about this on some sites. Its about a 45 minute ride.

Note to those going to Mondello Beach by taxi. The taxi ride is 20 minutes or so. Make sure you arrange with the outgoing taxi to pick you up for return or get the number of a firm of taxis. You will struggle to hail a taxi on the street in Mondello. There is a taxi rank but I never saw one there. Also if Palermo FC are playing at home then be aware that you will struggle to get back to the city using the normal route after 6pm for evening games as the stadium is on the Palermo - Mondello main route and roads close for match days.

The taxi rank in Mondello Beach is opposite the bus terminus for Mondello which has a frequent service to all areas and the city.

The taxi rank and bus terminus are on the opposite side of the road to the section of private beaches at Mondello where you pay circa 14EUR for entry for two beds and an umbrella rather than using the public beach. Card readers are issued for entry and on returning them you receive a 2EUR refund. These beaches close at 7pm. They have showers, changing rooms, toilets, bars, and snack bars with full access to the crystal clear waters of Mondello Beach for which it is famous.

For excellent coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, snacks, pasta, and salads give Bar Da Dominik a try on the square around the corner - 5 minutes walk. Also La Duchessa is the best for huge Sicilian salads and pizzas (pics below).

Smokers note: the tobacconists close at 10pm and unless you have an Italian National ID Card then the machine will keep your money and issue a receipt after a long delay for a refund at a shop.

Cannot comment on breakfast at the property as I did not have any.

Enjoy!

Room tip: No particular tips on room selection - all rooms are excellent
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza A, Responsabile reception at Residenza d'Aragona, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Graham

Many thanks for your very kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your staying at Residenza D’Aragona.
We hope to welcome you soon in Palermo for your next trip! We look forward to meet you.

Kind Regards Reception – Residenza D’Aragona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Check out time at 10.30 and breakfast only until 9:30 is a little unusual for a high end season in europe. In addition to 40 eur fee in cash on the spot for late check-in because of a plane delay.

Large family room but wallpaper peeling off.

I don’t think we are going back.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dagmar010681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza A, Responsabile reception at Residenza d'Aragona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Dagmar,

Thanks for your review.
We are really sorry that you didn't like our conditions.
Dear Dagmar,

Thanks for your review.
We are really sorry that you didn't like our conditions.


We are a small hotel with 20 rooms, so we don't have enough rooms to guarantee late check-out, because check-in is at 2 pm and we need enough time to clean well all the rooms.
As we don't have reception 24h (this is written everywhere in all the websites) a person must wait for you with overtime after 11:00 pm.
The late check-in charge is a kindness which we do, because we should close at 11:00 pm without waiting for late arrivals.

Kind regards,

The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Maybe it’s a good position and a large room but overall it’s tired and the website presents a far better picture than the reality. Sadly lacking in Italian charm or style this small hotel could do with a makeover.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza A, Responsabile reception at Residenza d'Aragona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Mrs Farrell,

Thanks for your review.
We are really sorry that you didn't like our style, which is often appreciated by our guests.
The Neoclassical style is an authentic Italian style of the 19° century.
All our furnishings are handmades by Sicilian carpenters. Obviusly it depends on personal tastes.
By the way the pictures showed on our websites are exactly the same of the rooms which we offer to our guests.

Thanks for staying with us.

Kind Regards,

Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Clean comfortable well located hotel,we had a suite with an extra room with a sofa,dining area and lots of wardrobe space only downside bathroom a bit small but had a good shower. Good breakfast with a very nice smiley lady serving. Excellent reception staff who showed us places of interest on the city map and recommended an excellent fish restaurant and were very helpful when I was knocked down by a car on our departure day and arranged for a taxi to collect our luggage from the hotel to the hospital and then to the airport

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza A, Responsabile reception at Residenza d'Aragona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Mr Mayfield

Thanks for getting touch to us!
We are really sad for the accident that your wife had. Hopefully She will be ok soon.
We wish to her a speedy recovery. Obviusly we did just our job helping you to arrange a taxi to collect your luggage and leave to the airport.
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback! We are very grateful of your generous words about our staff, which will be surely passed on at all departments. We do our best to make our guests' stay as enjoyable and pleasant as possible, so it is rewarding to read that we were able to help you in this case. Again thank you very much and our best regards to you.

Thanks for staying with us!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel is nice and location is great, however staff was not at all courteous. On our arrival the receptionist, by the name of David, forced us to take another room because we have a 9 years old kid, my nephew. Although, the hotel website clearly states that children up to 12 years can accompany adults. We paid for an extra room. An experience we never had before.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Varun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza A, Responsabile reception at Residenza d'Aragona, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear Varun,
When you booked with us you have chosen a QUADRUPLE ROOM FOR 4 PEOPLE. It's impossible to provide this room to 5 PEOPLE for law and safety reason which Davide explaned to you spending his time and at the end you didn't understand.
Anyway the children are free up to 12 years only for CITY TAX and not for the room.
For your information a QUADRUPLE ROOM is JUST FOR 4 PEOPLE and not more. The receptionist did his job well and you paid an extra which was forced due to the reasons above.
Kind Regards

Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews