We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,890)
Filter reviews
1,891 results
Traveller rating
967
517
222
112
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
967
517
222
112
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service overlooking the marina hotel shuttle pool restaurant free shuttle hotel grounds terrace bar main building art nouveau an oasis minute drive town centre classic hotel old world wonderful hotel old style loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,891 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2018

We spent three nights at the Grand Hotel Villa Igeia in early October 2018. All the staff are welcoming, most helpful and professional, making our stay memorable and relaxing. Our room was very well looked after and comfortable, looking out over the main gardens to the sea. The setting of the hotel is magnificent and we enjoyed the more traditional style - and the sense of history, summed up in the old photographs of famous guests over the years. We booked up the shuttle rides in advance and with a bit of forward planning we found that to be a great way to get in and out of the city centre during the day and up to 7pm if I recall. Palermo is fascinating - passeggiata on the Saturday early evening down in the city centre is well worth experiencing - and is quite a contrast to the quiet city streets only hours before. We stayed on a three day culture package which suited us very well and provided an extra half day car trip which we used to visit the spectacular cathedral at Monreale - as we did not have our own car. Next time we plan to do the boat trip! We really enjoyed our breakfasts on the main terrace (try the lemon granita) and our evening meals at the hotel's two main restaurants - where the service, food and wines were excellent. Our anniversary meal on the terrace at the Cuvee du Jour Restaurant was particularly memorable. Thank you to all the team for an excellent stay! We do hope to return at some point!

Room tip: I agree with other reviews that a view over the front gardens to the marina and out to sea, would be best.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Explore25513581016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

This is an excellent place to have a lovely stay in Palermo. The location is beyond the harbour where SS113 turns north towards Mondello. There is a grocery store 70 meters north of the hotel. We ate every dinner on the patio terrace, between the piano and the fountain. The Piano player was first rate. It was magical. The hotel operates a shuttle which proved to make the hotels location a moot point. The Shuttle is seasonal. The hotel has a very interesting history and is very popular with business, government and global organizations.

Room tip: We had room 251 with a bath and a patio terrace where we sat for cocktails.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BobbyBoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

What a nice hotel and dito ambiance. The staff was helpfull and so nice.We got a upgrade in a really beautiful big room! Wauw the bed was really beautifull and perfect, the room was clean. Every detail of a 5star hotel is tangible and visible. This hotel has class!The breakfast is really perfect you can choose basicly everything you want, and of course the real Sicilian sweet is present.Garden is beautiful, swimmingpool a little small. The view is very nice except for the big cranes situated on the shipyard.I say YES

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

My wife and me been in the hotel on end of octubre and start november 2018.

The hotel is too old to insist on being a 5 star of Sofitel. No hot water in the room (warm, not hot), the internet does not work, and everything, since you arrive, smelll like mildew.

The people there work hard, in order to offer o good assistence, but without hard civil works, forget this hotel...

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RiodeJaneiroduque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

The room was terrific, with a great terrace, the restaurant and bar were excellent and fun, and the whole property was a joy. The location was a bit off the track, but the property itself was unbeatable. We would return and certainly recommend this hotel for travellers to Palermo.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank R8225EOjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Igiea G, General Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and for reccomending our property. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to,welcome you back soon.

Best regards.

V. Giglio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews