We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Nearby Hotels
Alma Hotel(Palermo)
US$117
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$105
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ai Vicere(Palermo)
US$79
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Bel 3(Palermo)
US$72
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$158
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$388
US$363
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Columbia Palermo(Palermo)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,607)
Filter reviews
1,607 results
Traveller rating
473
639
300
126
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
639
300
126
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmbreakfast roomfaded glorybygone erapublic roomsvia romaold styleelegant hotelwithin walking distancecannolihigh ceilingsroom was largepastriesside streetexcellent breakfastteatro massimolocation is excellent
Filter
Updating list...
532 - 537 of 1,607 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Overall, the hotel is in need over a general overhaul. Service was honestly terrible - every time we had to ask for anything (including check-in) we just seemed to be annoying the hotel staff. While I understand we were in Sicily and English is not the first language, we stayed in other hotels where English was understood. However, in this one they either pretended or really didn't understand us.

In terms of looks, the hotel was probably quite lovely about 40 years ago - everything just seems run down. My sisters and I said it reminded us from the hotel in the ride "Tower of Terror" at Disney World. Obviously this was a top notch hotel once upon a time, but now it is very run down.

Our rooms - we had 3 for my family - were just ok. We paid extra for 2 rooms for an upgrade and they were comparable to American normal room sizes (for a standard room), but the one that we did not upgrade was very tiny. They seemed as if they had been renovated recently, but there were some weird black spots on the floor in the bathroom shower.

The highlights:
- Breakfast that was included was very comprehensive (fairly standard for European hotels I believe).
- Location is wonderful - we could walk to many parts of the city and there are some nice restaurants nearby

My family travels a lot and stays in top quality hotels, so I will end by saying we have high standards - however this hotel did not live up to them. I

If you can get a deal on this hotel, it may be worth it for location. However be warned there is a slightly creepy vibe and worn down facilities.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room to avoid a tiny bathroom. Also ask for a room away from the street - noise was very loud.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyctribecatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Great location. Was within walking distance of all we wanted to see. We were also shocked by how large the rooms were. (Twice the size of anywhere else we stayed on our 10final night stay in Italy).

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AggieLifter132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and the hotel appears to be in good repair. The elevators are very small, 3 people and 2 bags had to squeeze in so I usually used the beautiful grand staircase. Our room was on the third floor facing into the center of the hotel. When opening our window we were looking straight at the concert hall domed roof. Shy of having one concert during our stay which ended around 10 - 10:30pm the room was quiet. The room was clean and spacious. My largest concern was having street noise and Via Roma is a busy street so a domed roof was totally acceptable. Our room was at the end of the hall which did take some time to get to but the halls were wide, well lit and warm. The front desk staff were very welcoming and provided us with assistance whenever we asked. The temperature in the room was difficult to control as the room was quite warm even when selecting the thermostat to 14C. An open window helped to regulate the temperature we were looking for. The breakfast buffet had a great variety of items including cerial, buns, bakery, meats, cheese, scrambled eggs, sausage, etc and even had blood orange juice. I enjoyed the breakfast and there is no reason why anybody should go away hungry. The bar is small, welcoming and reasonably priced but we typically had food and drinks up the hill at varying other restaurants. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northern_Mover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We very much liked staying here. The public rooms are certainly grand, including the lobby and the breakfast room. On our arrival the hotel had no record of our booking (fortunately we had) and kept us waiting for 20 minutes while they checked. The reward though was a splendid suite, probably more sumptuous than the room we'd booked. The hotel is well placed for seeing the city, and is only c. 400m from a bus stop that serves the airport. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate.

We came to Palermo to see the historic buildings and their art treasures. Just wonderful - particularly the Cappella Palatina and the cathedral at Monreale (a 20-minute bus ride away).
And coming in February, we had these places almost to ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timperley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

As others have said, this property is both a little tired, but a great location. Our check-in went off smoothly but when we were shown to our room (a junior suite), it had not been made up. This was however very quickly remedied with us moving to another suite. The suites are huge as are the bathrooms. Parts of the hotel are obviously undergoing renovation. There is no on site parking, but the car was taken care of (paid parking elsewhere) by the staff - who we found were helpful, friendly and efficient. The location of the hotel is central to most things in Palermo. No free internet anywhere in the hotel. Even the machine in the lobby was pay per minute, and very expensive as well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews