We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,666)
Filter reviews
1,666 results
Traveller rating
483
663
317
132
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
663
317
132
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmbreakfast roomfaded gloryseen better daysgrand old ladypublic roomsbygone eravia romaold stylehigh ceilingsbeautiful buildingrooms are largecannolipastriescharming hotelside streetlocation is excellent
Filter
Updating list...
556 - 561 of 1,666 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Great location. Was within walking distance of all we wanted to see. We were also shocked by how large the rooms were. (Twice the size of anywhere else we stayed on our 10final night stay in Italy).

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AggieLifter132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and the hotel appears to be in good repair. The elevators are very small, 3 people and 2 bags had to squeeze in so I usually used the beautiful grand staircase. Our room was on the third floor facing into the center of the hotel. When opening our window we were looking straight at the concert hall domed roof. Shy of having one concert during our stay which ended around 10 - 10:30pm the room was quiet. The room was clean and spacious. My largest concern was having street noise and Via Roma is a busy street so a domed roof was totally acceptable. Our room was at the end of the hall which did take some time to get to but the halls were wide, well lit and warm. The front desk staff were very welcoming and provided us with assistance whenever we asked. The temperature in the room was difficult to control as the room was quite warm even when selecting the thermostat to 14C. An open window helped to regulate the temperature we were looking for. The breakfast buffet had a great variety of items including cerial, buns, bakery, meats, cheese, scrambled eggs, sausage, etc and even had blood orange juice. I enjoyed the breakfast and there is no reason why anybody should go away hungry. The bar is small, welcoming and reasonably priced but we typically had food and drinks up the hill at varying other restaurants. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northern_Mover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We very much liked staying here. The public rooms are certainly grand, including the lobby and the breakfast room. On our arrival the hotel had no record of our booking (fortunately we had) and kept us waiting for 20 minutes while they checked. The reward though was a splendid suite, probably more sumptuous than the room we'd booked. The hotel is well placed for seeing the city, and is only c. 400m from a bus stop that serves the airport. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate.

We came to Palermo to see the historic buildings and their art treasures. Just wonderful - particularly the Cappella Palatina and the cathedral at Monreale (a 20-minute bus ride away).
And coming in February, we had these places almost to ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timperley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

As others have said, this property is both a little tired, but a great location. Our check-in went off smoothly but when we were shown to our room (a junior suite), it had not been made up. This was however very quickly remedied with us moving to another suite. The suites are huge as are the bathrooms. Parts of the hotel are obviously undergoing renovation. There is no on site parking, but the car was taken care of (paid parking elsewhere) by the staff - who we found were helpful, friendly and efficient. The location of the hotel is central to most things in Palermo. No free internet anywhere in the hotel. Even the machine in the lobby was pay per minute, and very expensive as well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

It was our first night of three at this hotel at the beginning of a Sicilian tour.
How beautiful and grand the hotel must have been in the past. No longer
Our first room was on Via Roma, very noisy if window left open , no air conditioning, leaking toilet, a very large tired room. Beds were good. Reception staff on arrival had attitude.
On complaint in the morning a delightful receptionist changed our room which was cleaner and brighter and toilet did not leak.

Breakfast was laid out for the fit. Nothing had any sequence as one would expect. Again the grandeur of the past was so obvious but every thing is so so tired and needs so much money spent.

The situation of the hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Not on the via Roma which is the main Rd in Palermo
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandparent65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews