We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in historic part of Catania”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bj887
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in historic part of Catania”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

When we arrived Suleimah and her husband were there to greet us. They showed us where everything was and let us know that if there were any problems, to let them know right away. Very friendly and helpful. There were no problems and loved the historic place. It was a 10 - 15 minute walk to the town square and market, 5 minutes walk from an historic monastery. We are big walkers, so it was easy to walk to the bus stations. We stayed here a week and used this as a base to go to other places as well, such as Taormina, Siracusa, Agrigenta and Mt. Etna. Buses are very good.
Remember that this place is very old and in the historic part of Catania, so isn't modern which is what we loved. We found it comfortable and it had an air conditioner in the main room which cooled the place up nicely after a long day of site seeing.
We would stay there again if we ever are in that area in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saesu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very excellente proprity”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a fab stay at Salvo's. Communication was swift, very friendly, and uncomplicated. Just as our check-in. Salvo and his lady showed us around the apartment, which was very well appointed with everything you need, clean, and excellently situated to find the Piazza del Duomo and Via Etnea within easy walking distance. We would not hesitate to stay here again on our next visit to Catania. I'm not in fact what they wrote in a review, because the apartment is the same as described on site web Holiday Letting both of pictures of rooms, I found this place very comfortable!!!!! We should not write lies just to write and put the pleople in doubt when it's not true.......

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
go'connor
Manly NSW Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“property not as desbribed on tripadvisor”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

First the positives: good aircon; good fridge; plenty of hot water; and the owners had the little table in the bedroom covered in a cloth with an Australian motif - very nice touch.

Negatives: the property was described as having three bedrooms and two bathrooms. There was only one bathroom, with a window opening to a stairwell and no natural light.

As to bedrooms - when we arrived we were shown to a large bedroom with a tv in it, angled towards the bed, two small side tables with reading lamps (which were useless for reading in bed) a small wardrobe and a small cafe table with two upright chairs in it. We were then shown the bathroom and kitchen. The kitchen had no window, a small cafe table and two chairs in it. No natural light. We then went back to the bedroom and I asked where the other bedrooms were and was asked why I wanted to know - there was a bed for two people and we were two people, what was the problem. I tried to explain that the website described the apartment as having three bedrooms and we had paid for this and wanted what we paid for. I was then shown two other bedrooms, one tiny with a single bed in it, and a window opening on to the street, and the other with two single beds in it but no window at all, and was asked to choose which one I wanted. I said I wanted what we had paid for. I had been awake for about 30 hours at this stage and just wanted to get this sorted and to be able to get to bed. I asked why I had to choose but her English seemed to fail her at this point, and again was told to choose. I stupidly as it turned out, chose the bedroom with the window. Opening on to the very noisy street.

Let me explain. When I was looking for apartments in Catania I chose this one because it seemed to offer the opportunity to choose a sleeping arrangement where, if one room was too noisy, we could have another one. This was my main reason for choosing this apartment as it seemed to offer this amenity.

As it turned out I should have chosen the windowless room, as it was would have been far less noisy than the others, which opened onto a very noisy street - not the owners' fault, but just a factor which I had hoped to cover.

When I made the choice (which I shouldn't have had to make) she then locked to other room !!!

The amenities listed on the tripadvisor site included double beds (1), single beds (3), sofa beds (1), dining seats (6) I had assumed this meant that there was a lounge/living room with a large dining table in it, and a sofa of sorts. WRONG. There was no living room - the bedroom was it. To watch tv you had to sit propped up on the bed, but there were only two very thin pillows and no cushions at all to prop against the (very attractive) iron bedstead.

The kitchen had no window and there was a cafe table in it with two chairs, but as it had no window we did not use this to eat in at all - too depressing. It was also very badly equipped, with the sort of cutlery you would take on a picnic, and no wine glasses, only two small water glasses. There was also a small cafe tale in the passageway leading up to the kitchen and bathroom, and the cafe table in the bedroom. So if you wanted to have 6 dining chairs around a table, then you would have to do a good bit of moving tables and chairs, but in any case you would have to take it in turns to drink from the two glasses provided.

The property was also described as having both a terrace and a balcony - in fact there was one, call it a balcony or terrace as you wish But only one, though quite attractive, but on the very noisy street.

We were so uncomfortable in this apartment that we spent two nights in (lovely, beautiful, quiet) Taormina, and I managed to get into our Palermo apartment a day earlier than planned. So for the 9 nights we paid for in Catania, we only used 6.

When we got to the apartment in Palermo, it was huge, very light and airy, lovely big bedrooms, lovely big living/dining room, very well equipped kitchen and bathroom with washing machine all for about 9 or 10 euros more than we paid for in Catania!

I have used Tripadvisor for booking places many times and have never been let down before. This was a big shock to me, and I guess I should be more careful in future . . .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the floor ties and pictures on the walls
Liked least: misdescribed facilities and the fact that one of the bedrooms was made unavailable to us. And the noise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
Our apartment is an old mansion -style Sicilian Catania, it is a typical old apartment in the historic center , it is certainly a style that not everyone understands , but only to those who love the character of the place. If it's the ultra modern apartment , mine is not for you! What is new is noisy until now has never claimed anyone, in fact all inostri guests as you can also read reviews on other sites are very excited and happy because of the quality / price ratio !! It 's impossible that there is noise , especially at night , since it's an apartment in the historic center of the city and is also a restricted traffic zone and monumental . And if our guests choose to sleep in the comfort of their neighboring provinces not to come back several times to visit them is obviously not our fault. If you rent the apartment but you are only 2 people can not give you to use all 6 beds , it seems obvious that give you the opportunity overstating many beds to many of you , I can not offer more seats if you pay for 2. However, the taste and art of the ancient is subjective ..... proprietàrisulta the same as described on both the sitoche on the photos , it is not even written two bathrooms and living room , but wrote three bedrooms with 6 beds and is thus as written !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsseeth...
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at the apartment with three grown ups and one baby. The location is great, the furnishing cozy and with love for details. The hosts we extremely friendly and helpful. Unfortunately it's just a bit dark, because it only has windows to the one side of the house. But we would definitely stay the again and recommend it to everyone!

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaNur55
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$47
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing