We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,092)
Filter reviews
1,092 results
Traveller rating
205
464
286
88
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
464
286
88
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wall paper nice hotel huge bathroom buffet breakfast central location airport bus enjoyable stay italian hotels centre of town mt etna rooms are spacious stayed nights superior room balcony taormina
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,092 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Yes this is a 4 star hotel. and yes its a little dated.but you are out most of the day and who looks at the the walls on holiday. we found it clean. with good service. reception/room service.bar. breakfast is buffet (you vary your breakfast each day) wide selection of cold and some hotel food. you pay for poached/fried.omelet .we had a car for 4 days. hotel parking is a bit hit and miss.hotel have small 40 places underground.. public parking in the square in front. 50c per hr. free after 8pm. pay again from 8am. cheap unless you want to leave your hire car there all day.my only complaint was the food in the restaurant over priced and of average quality .tip there are LOTS of restaurant in the area ,mostly quite good. but if you walk around during the day the area look deserted BUT at night looks totally different

Room tip: the master light switch by the door turned off everything. including phone charging points BEWARE /room 315 far from the lifts quite.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Good morning alan p
Thank you for your time spent to write review,

Francesco Caselli
General Manager
Mercure Excelsior Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and had a good experience. Our Superior room as requested was on the top floor with stunning mount Etna views. There was a small balcony but no outside furniture to sit on. As many have said the rooms are dated and need some tlc but are fine. It’s old style decor works in fitting with the character of the hotel.
The hard working bar tender is very direct but does a great job and makes a good cocktail.
We didn’t use the evening restaurant as the menu wasn’t to our liking but we did have the buffet breakfast. You can sit outside on a lovely garden terrace and the spread on offer is decent. Others have said that the outside square area felt unsafe but we had no issues at all day or night and felt Catania to be quite friendly and safe over all.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LeisureGuy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Good morning LeisureGuy32
Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything

Francesco Caselli
General Manager
Mercure Excelsior Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights. The staff was ok, the room was clean. The only thing is that the breakfast could have been more variable and a little bit higher in quality.
There is a big parking lot in front of the hotel that you have to pay.
There some restaurants near the hotel in walking distance.

After our stay in Catania, we spent 3 nights in Palermo at the Mercure Excelsior and it was great. So please visit them and learn there.
Best of luck!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ovidiu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Good morning Ovidiu P

Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything

Francesco Caselli
General Manager
Mercure Excelsior Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night, and let me just say I am so grateful that we didn’t stay any longer. The front of desk staff are extremely rude and unwelcoming. The rooms are run down. We were kept waiting for half an hour after our check in time with no apology and our cases took another 20 mins to arrive once we finally got our room. I definitely do not recommend staying here. It ruined our experience of Catania.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank kavitamagecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Good morning
Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything.
Probably for your waiting at check in time there was a problem, and I apology your feeling if my staff had rude.

best regards

Francesco Caselli
General Manager
Mercure Excelsior Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were rude. Ate in the restaurant and had to send my pasta back! It was uncooked! (I know what al dente means - it was uncooked) and I was in Italy! So disappointing. The location of the hotel is not near anything and there are absolutely no restaurants in any direction except for a Chinese restaurant near the rear of the hotel. The only thing around was Pharmacies! Not near anything of interest and a long walk in the heat to the Bus terminal. Rooms were average. Wifi was extremely limited in the room.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HelenG2080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Good morning Helen G
Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything.
I apologize for problem had in our restaurant and with our staff in general. I don't know what you expect about location because we are far from Piazza Duomo 20 minutes by walk, an 5/10 minutes from Via Etnea. If our restaurant was not appreciated in the same block of the hotel (2 minutes walking) you have 3 typical italian restaurant, 1 chinese, 1 Japanes and 2 or 3 fast food.
Maybe has wrong who recommended location because you were looking for something different.

best regards

Francesco Caselli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews