We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
204
463
284
88
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
463
284
88
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel wall paper central location buffet breakfast airport bus italian hotels mt etna rooms are spacious centre of town stayed here for nights balcony taormina
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights. The staff was ok, the room was clean. The only thing is that the breakfast could have been more variable and a little bit higher in quality.
There is a big parking lot in front of the hotel that you have to pay.
There some restaurants near the hotel in walking distance.

After our stay in Catania, we spent 3 nights in Palermo at the Mercure Excelsior and it was great. So please visit them and learn there.
Best of luck!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ovidiu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Good morning Ovidiu P

Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything

Francesco Caselli
General Manager
Mercure Excelsior Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night, and let me just say I am so grateful that we didn’t stay any longer. The front of desk staff are extremely rude and unwelcoming. The rooms are run down. We were kept waiting for half an hour after our check in time with no apology and our cases took another 20 mins to arrive once we finally got our room. I definitely do not recommend staying here. It ruined our experience of Catania.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank kavitamagecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Good morning
Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything.
Probably for your waiting at check in time there was a problem, and I apology your feeling if my staff had rude.

best regards

Francesco Caselli
General Manager
Mercure Excelsior Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were rude. Ate in the restaurant and had to send my pasta back! It was uncooked! (I know what al dente means - it was uncooked) and I was in Italy! So disappointing. The location of the hotel is not near anything and there are absolutely no restaurants in any direction except for a Chinese restaurant near the rear of the hotel. The only thing around was Pharmacies! Not near anything of interest and a long walk in the heat to the Bus terminal. Rooms were average. Wifi was extremely limited in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HelenG2080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Good morning Helen G
Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything.
I apologize for problem had in our restaurant and with our staff in general. I don't know what you expect about location because we are far from Piazza Duomo 20 minutes by walk, an 5/10 minutes from Via Etnea. If our restaurant was not appreciated in the same block of the hotel (2 minutes walking) you have 3 typical italian restaurant, 1 chinese, 1 Japanes and 2 or 3 fast food.
Maybe has wrong who recommended location because you were looking for something different.

best regards

Francesco Caselli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

A once grand hotel desperately in need of some tlc . Staff seem to be merely going through the motions and I can understand why . Our room was classic 1980’s once fantastic but now very tired .. a bit like the staff. The carpet in our room can only be described as disgusting. Certainly not good enough for a Mercure. Not good enough.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dummypete2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Good morning
Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything

Francesco Caselli
General Manager
Mercure Excelsior Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Actually Mercure as part of the Accor Group should be guaranteeing stable service and quality as a **** Star Hotel.

This one definately not! The reception desk is inxompetently and poorly manned. Staff does not even know anything about the free wlan connection. Written information supplied is simply wrong.

When asking for a city map a copy is received.

The restaurant is not opened in the evening although a nice terrass is available. Guest are offered/forced to eat at the bar.

No information is available toward this fact. One is simply left outside closed doors.

Although we reserved for 3 nights we checked out earlier. Our money is better spent elswhere.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Sabine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, General Manager at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Good Morning Sabine T
we work hard every day to garantee 4 stars standard. We have any technical issue because the hotel work hard but we try always to help our guest at our best.

Hotel resturant is every day in corner bar, we use the external terrace only during breakfast time but when possible we try to please everybody. During your staying this was not possible.

best regards

Francesco Caselli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews