We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastiest vegetables for a very long time”

Nuova Trattoria del Forestiero
Ranked #197 of 1,235 Restaurants in Catania
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro Catania
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Went to this restaurant by a friend's reference and we can tell we succeeded. Dishes in general were pretty tasty, specially an started based on different vegetables.

The only thing would be the wine's price. Bottles in menu are below 15€. We decided to follow waiter's recommendation and bottle was 20€!! It was a surprise. At least it was good :)

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ramon_Quemasda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Trashy food and trashy place. Too much crap oil everywhere, nothing to do with Sicilian/Italian cuisine.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Antonella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We have had the privilege to visit mama Rosanna’s place twice, one lunch and a dinner. We had pasta norma, mama Rosanna hidden gem recipe, and arosto misto for lunch, amazing all the way! Pasta is for people who can make the difference b/n good and extraordinary, but above all - you feel at home and it tastes perfect. That’s why we came back the next day-arabiata best in my life so far and the fish-pesce spada-just amazing, my wife had calamari-on-the-grill, again astonishing. But do not push it, take your time and if you are fast-food lover, run like hell, its not your place. I will come back to this lovely place again, that’s for sure.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Filipov1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

I guess some folks don't cook. The pasta alla Norma was good but not great. My husband ordered the veal "normal" ie just breaded and pan fried. It was bad. It was burned although the bread crumbs looked "normal". So I guess the oil was burned or else they scraped off the burned coating, recoated and refried. It smelled burned and tasted burned. It was inedible. Plus the veal was paper thin. The waiter said the cook said it was "normal". Yikes. The fennel salad was delicious. Can't really recommend this place despite the review in Lonely Planet. Go elsewhere.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank KKLA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

When you had a grandmother from italy and remember how good her cooking was this puts you right back at home The staff couldn't have been any nicer like family to me hugs from mama De Fiore made us feel as good as the food

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank surfwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nuova Trattoria del Forestiero also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Nuova Trattoria del Forestiero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing