We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$133
Hotels.comUS$133
PricelineUS$134
TravelocityUS$133
eDreamsUS$125
Prestigia.comUS$137
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveller rating
329
316
98
34
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
316
98
34
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view decent hotel recommend this hotel good size short break rooftop restaurant lovely hotel first floor comfortable beds the air conditioning city sweets taormina
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 808 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2022

Average hotel , overrated, not welcoming staff
First stop at Italy for our honeymoon but disappointed ☹️
Breakfast view is nice
Rooftop nice atmosphere
I have travel agency and I well never recommend it

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 752lamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 July 2022

Comfortable beds and nice toiletries in the bathroom are the only nice things to mention about this hotel.
Formal and indifferent check in process, small family room that is standard double with two extra beds but no view, old sliding door to bathroom that doesn't work, room generally quite dated, no water, no tea/coffee making facility or glasses, no hotel information in the room...
But worst of all was breakfast the next morning...No acknowledgement from two staff girls who were completely indifferent to what's going on, room was very hot, and the breakfast bar itself, where to start... Coffee mashine wasn't working, juice mashine wasn't working, omelette ice cold, trays of sweets empty, single bowl of rotten lettuce and etc.
To our complete disbelieve members of management were around as well but no one for one second carried what a mess this buffet was...
We really looked forward to this stay and left with huge disappointment.
For what they charge (quite expensive) there so much choice and nicer options in Catania.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonaDLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 June 2022

we stayed there 6 nights on May 2022 and the only good things there are location, the rooftop bar and the cakes at breakfast.
We had a seaview room on the 3rd floor which was a mistake. Seaside means roadnoise the whole night and 3rd floor means you are right under the rooftop bar and you hear all the chair movements upstairs. Morning and evening. We heard othe rpeople complaining about the noise but reception say they cannot do anything about it.
We left lacking a lot of sleep. Even earplugs did not help against the noise.
Certainly cannot recommend this hotel due to the noise.

Room tip: lower floor, away from the main road (not seaside)
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SeppSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Luca Trovato, Direttore generale at Plaza Hotel Catania, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your feedback with us.

We are glad to read your comment about our location, breakfast and Roof Top. However, we are extremely sorry to read that you were bothered by the noise during your stay. We are located in a very lively area, which means that both tourists and locals meet nearby our hotel. Due to high occupancy during your stay, our Staff could not help moving you to another room. We apologize for the inconvenience.

We keep at your complete disposal and hope to welcome you again in a quieter room for your next stay in Catania.

Best regards,

Asia Troisio
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2022

We were a group of 34, on a tour of the islands of the Mediterranean. Our first stop was in Catania, at this nice hotel close to the beach and the city centre. We managed to get a first floor room, with a large outside patio with great views of the sidewalk and beach. Very comfortable rooms, although it was a bit of trouble getting the air conditioning working to our satisfaction. Breakfast had a variety of foods, and was quite good. We were out and about most of the day, and did not have dinner any day. Although the roof top restaurant looked great!

Room tip: First floor has walkout patios.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Luca Trovato, Direttore generale at Plaza Hotel Catania, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at Plaza Hotel Catania. We are happy that you enjoyed our location, your room with a sea-view patio, our breakfast and contemporary-designed Roof Top. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the air conditioning,

We are happy to read that this was your second time as our guest: to us, this is a signal of consistent high-quality service. Your comment inspire us to continue pursuing higher standards for our valued guests. We are proud to read that you appreciated (for the second time!) our staff, our Roof Top and that the overall experience was perfect to you.

We look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Asia Troisio
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2022

Great hotel for our 3 day trip.

Staff were very helpful and gave us some good recommendations for places for dinner.
Room was a good size, well presented and we had a sea view with a balcony.
Breakfast was very nice.
On the first night we enjoyed a drink in the roof top bar and on the second night we dined at the roof top restaurant. The food was very good, the staff were very informative and helpful when navigating the menu which was in Italian and advised what i could have while pregnant.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamiTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Luca Trovato, Direttore generale at Plaza Hotel Catania, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Plaza Hotel Catania and for sharing your positive experience with us. We are happy to read you appreciated our friendly staff, your sea view room and our breakfast, as well as our contemporary designed Roof Top. Your review makes us proud and inspires us to further enhance the quality of our service. We are more than glad to help and make our guests feel pampered.

We hope to welcome you again in the future as our guest.

Sincerely,
Luca Trovato
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews