We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good dinner”
Review of Il Sale

Il Sale
Ranked #100 of 1,212 Restaurants in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro Catania
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

It’s a very nice small restaurant. Also it’s 10:30pm - we had to wait about 20 min to get a table. We ate mainly appetizers and first dishes - all were good. I was surprise with the short list of wine.....

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 629amiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

As it turned out, the art in Il Sale Art Café is not for sale. Huh? I still don’t get it. However, the food was nice. No gluten-free art as well. But we managed. Please go here.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank pieter435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Excellent service and atmosphere and the food is excellent! I ordered the arugula salad served with thinly sliced perfectly ripened pear and Gorgonzola and lots of nuts sprinkled in. It was the best salad I have had anywhere, including the states! The pasta dishes and the fish dishes looked good too!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank sidney j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Having had a previous disappointing evening out elsewhere we wanted to find somewhere with good reviews,and Il Sale did not disappoint. Beautifully presented, good quality dishes - prices equivalent to gastro pubs in the UK (but with more pistachios!) . Friendly staff and a modern, light atmosphere. Ravioli portions perhaps a bit small

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Viv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

- Recommendation by our hotel
- Try the Ravioli Norma! It was really delicious! Portions for Ravioli and meat were quite small for the price paid, but the quality of the ravioli was amazing.
- Wine price was ok. There are many different options you can choose.
- Dolci: Apple crumble type of dolci was really nice, too.
- We didn’t try the pizzas, but they looked good and were really big.
- Atmosphere was ok. We were seated in a small room in the upper part with other tourist. It was maybe a bit too stiff and other parts looked more cosy.
- Staff was friendly.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Sale also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Il Sale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing