We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and service”
Review of Filo d’esca

Filo d’esca
Ranked #5 of 1,211 Restaurants in Catania
Price range: US$11 - US$40
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 October 2018

We went as a group of six and everyone enjoyed so much of the top quality of food, environment and service. It’s a wonderful experience! We had the best local beer and their wine lists are very attractive too. Don’t be cheated that it’s located in a quiet street; it’s full house on the evening we visited.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Scenic478504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

A breath of fresh air for Catania. What a delightful find this is with great food, presentation, and service.

We had the shashimi platter which was terrific. It has the best oyster we’ve ever tasted. Plus it had clever combinations of fruit and seafood such as passion fruit and baby shrimp.

We each then had a pasta main that were also beautifully presented. And oh, then the desserts.

The ricotta and pear was superb. Beautifully balanced. And the seven chocolates was the same. Normally such a dish would be too much to finish (too rich) but this was also beautifully balanced. Both dishes were a delight to eat.

The service from the manager and the waiter was excellent.

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank spacewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Being close to the fish market of Catania is clearly an advantage to get the best sea food in Sicily. They prepare it to perfection in this restaurant, either as sashimi, marinated, fried or cooked. The fruit de mer appetizer is greatly recommended. Beautifully presented with several good combinations with fruit. The amberjack sashimi with pineapple, the raw shrimp with passion fruit and the tuna tartar with strawberries
were perfect. The octopus fish burger was a bit big, but the bread with ink was very light so we were just able to finish it after the appetizer. Perfect and friendly service and good wines makes a five star rating surely deserved.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank hermans993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

You should try the antipasto mix for two. Kind of think again the seafood. It could be enough for diner, but we split a pasta after all.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

We joined this restaurant twice, one wasn’t enough. Michelin style of cousin with a lovely atmosphere. Liberty in style, clean and bright. I could make my own Espresso Martini behind the bar!!!!!! If you love fish DON’T MISS IT!!!!!! Gaetano&Izabela

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank 187871Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Filo d’esca also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Filo d’esca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing