We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time.....”
Review of Casa Barbero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Barbero
Ranked #1 of 338 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Going to Casa Barbero and seeing Antonio and Monica feels like home from home as this is now our third consecutive year we have been to stay.
This time we were using Casa Barbero as a base to explore the area so we caught a bus to Acireale and had a lovely meal at the picturesque fishing village of Santa Maria la Scala and enjoyed train trips to Taormina and Palermo.
Antonio and Monica are warm and generous with their time and local knowledge. Check in is easy - we arrived late so it was ideal that we could let ourselves in. Our flight was late in the day back to the UK and it was no problem to leave our luggage in the breakfast room. Our room was perfect - everything you need is on hand and the bathroom is small, well appointed and contemporary.
It was still warm enough in mid November to have breakfast amongst the greenery of the courtyard which was lovely. Antonio makes a great cappuccino!
Despite knowing Catania pretty well now I’m sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Internal courtyard rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hi Annie, for me it is always a great pleasure! Next time! Thanks Antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

Lovely place to stay. We had a big room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard, very peaceful and a good (off season) price. Really comfortable bed. We were well looked after with a lovely breakfast and really enjoyed our stay. It's not too far from the centre and both train stations ( for the main line and the small line around Etna), and there were good recommendations for places to eat.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Ciao Helen,
Thanks a lot!!
Monica & Antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Lovely and comfortable room that was one of several that bordered a lush courtyard garden---so delightful to sip wine and relax among the tropical plants or eat an alfresco breakfast. Excellent choice of breakfast foods and options.... Antonio very attentive of his guests and makes an excellent cappuccino! So delighted that we chose Casa Barbero for our base in Catania.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi Sharon, Thanks so much!
Soon, antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Very nice - wondeful. will come back some time. Very close to the city but still very quite. Possible to park the car was convenient. Charming courtyard where we ate breakfast. Can highly recommend this place. Clean and very good beds. Nice bathrooms.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Kristin,
Thanks so much!!
antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I stayed in Casa Barbero with a group of friends and budding artists as we were travelling through East Sicily sampling the beauty of the Sicilian Baroque. We spent two nights in Casa Barbero and we were very well looked after by our host Antonio. It was just great to come back to the relaxed atmosphere of the B&B after having spent some hours wandering in beautiful but at time chaotic Catania. The internal and verdant garden was a real oasis were to have breakfast and relax in the afternoon. The rooms were spacious, very clean and full of artwork with lots of features to admire, like the frescoes and plasterwork on the ceilings and the original designs of the floors. A real gem!

Room Tip: The internal rooms around the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank art2heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks a lot!!
I hope for a next time!
Ciao, antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Villa Romeo
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
576 reviews
1 km away
UNA Hotel Palace
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,820 reviews
0.6 km away
OttoMood Ala Ovest Catania Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Bed & Breakfast Catania Globetrotter
1.2 km away
B&B Miro
B&B Miro
#6 of 338 in Catania
231 reviews
0.9 km away
Etna Suite
Etna Suite
#3 of 338 in Catania
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Barbero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Barbero

Address: Via Caronda 209, 95128 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Borgo-Sanzio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range: €65 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Barbero 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city center of Catania, an elegant residence dating back to the early '900 wisely transformed into an elegant and charming B&B. This Bed and Breakfast retains the charm of Art Nouveau that lives through stucco and frescoes, expertly blended with contemporary furniture, all combined with warm colors and quality materials that will make you feel at home. In the centre of the residence and in front of every room, all with ensuite bathroom, a place of great relaxation is at your disposal: a Mediterranean garden where breakfast is served during the warm season or where you can have a break and use our free wi-fi. The B&B is 200mt away from the Borgo Metro and a few steps away from Cavour Square, crossroad of the Catanese autobus service. In a few minuts you can reach the Bothanical Garden, Villa Bellini (the city park), different restaurants, taverns and pizzerie. Via Etnea, Unesco heritage and shopping street, is attainable in 5 minuts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Barbero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Barbero Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing