We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour of Sardinia!”

Motus in Sardinia Travel Company
Book In Advance
More Info
US$2,723.81*
and up
Foodie Tour in Sardinia Italy
Ranked #2 of 11 Tours in Sassari
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From a complete holiday package in Sardinia to just one charming hotel, Motus has it all! We offer you a unique travel experience, thanks to a first-hand knowledge of the people, cities, villages, local traditions, hotels, restaurants and resorts. We are leader in Tailor Made Travel and Tours to Sardinia, Corsica and around the Mediterranean. You may combine more then one destination in just one trip. English-speaking assistance over the telephone during your travel in Sardinia. Travel Motus (in Sardinia) in a fully insured Travel Company registered in the Official List of Sardinia (Albo Regionale delle Agenzie di Viaggio della Regione Sardegna, al numero 253) and member of the Chamber of Commerce of Sassari, granting lawful financial protection.
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Words cannot describe the fantastic experience we had with our tour in Sardinia with Travel Motus during July. We were a family of 4 adults on the private 5 day tour organised through Paola. Paola was fantastic to deal with in putting our tour together for us and Travel Motus delivered a holiday that exceeded our expectations. Even the fact that we lost two of our bags when travelling from Norway to Sardinia, could not dampen our spirits as our guide was just fantastic and perfectly matched with us. Our guide and Paola did so much to help us in getting our luggage back, which we are so grateful for. I think when you are planning the tour with Travel Motus, it is important to research the accommodation you want to stay in and then work with Travel Motus to plan it that way. We were also specific that we wanted to stay in Cagliari for only two days and then explore smaller villages after that. Thanks Travel Motus, we will be back!

1  Thank tstreczynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Sardinia, Owner at Motus in Sardinia Travel Company, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your brilliant review. It is a pleasure to work with customers like you. Thanks to your frankness and open-mindness, we had the chance to offer you some of our best, out-of-mass food and wine tours.

I look forward to meeting you again in Sardinia or Corsica

Mario Delitala (owner) for Paola Marras (incoming director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cooking class"
in 5 reviews
"driver guide"
in 4 reviews
"anyone planning"
in 2 reviews
"mario"
in 22 reviews
"arrangements"
in 5 reviews
"itinerary"
in 9 reviews
"suggestions"
in 4 reviews
"ferry"
in 4 reviews
"sardinia"
in 37 reviews
"island"
in 9 reviews
"coast"
in 3 reviews
"hitch"
in 2 reviews
"winery"
in 2 reviews
"ajaccio"
in 2 reviews
"october"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2017

We arranged a private tour for 2 with Motus Travel to Corsica and Sardinia for October of 2016 and had a very mixed experience. Despite being very descriptive and specific about our interests and preferences (off the beaten track locales and lodgings, food, wine, people) we found the initial itinerary—specifically lodgings, to be rather generic and bland—and there was very little attention to our stated desires to spend less time in cities and more in smaller villages. We found some new lodgings, on our own, before we left the States (which proved to be the best ones!) and Mario was more than happy to change the reservations. We also changed some lodgings while on tour, which again Mario graciously helped facilitate. Unfortunately, he did not provide us any material or suggestions for times we were not on tour.

In terms of the guides, we were very fortunate to have a fantastic guide in Corsica, Isabelle. She was a perfect match for us…personable, lively, good-natured, spontaneous, smart, flexible and lots of fun (We learned from our next guide that he had been the first choice and Isabelle was only ours by default.). This first portion of the trip was fantastic and we were very sad to leave Corsica. Unfortunately, the driver/guide that Motus picked for us in Sardinia was a very bad match and really made this part of the trip unpleasant. We found this guide to be rigid, humorless, not interested in us or our interests and not enjoyable to be with during our precious vacation. Unlike our previous guide who included us in all her interactions with locals which we loved, he spoke with people, never translated or included us and often ignored our questions.

In general, we felt that this trip was not planned with us in mind. We were lucky in Corsica and unlucky in Sardinia, leaving us feeling not very positive. Mario is personally lovely to deal with and was open to hear about our issues upon our return, although he did not offer any compensation for our problems.

In summary, while we feel that Motus has many resources at hand, we were left less than satisfied with their consideration of our expressed desires and interests. In terms of guides, it is our strong recommendation that Motus consider personalities in matching guides. It seems possible that Motus should include some discussion about preferences for a guide and/or a Skype interview between client and guide early on in the planning process. A private tour is not an inexpensive venture and should be one that is tailor made and without the issues we encountered.

1  Thank aandeMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Sardinia, Direttore generale at Motus in Sardinia Travel Company, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

My name is Mario and I take responsibility for all that Motus does and did.
 
Please read our version of facts, mostly taken from our email conversation:

- We exchanged about 150 emails and made many skype/phone calls with the customers. Many of their requirements were almost impossible and/or inconsistent. We helped the customers have realistic expectations.

- During the planning, we felt that they were not fully satisfied, and I offered the customers to cancel the trip at no cost. They confirmed they were happy to continue with planning.

- Our guide Martin received outstanding reviews from all customers except the above.

- We go out of our way for our guests and we are happy to do so.

We love our customers, and we are very open and frank before/during/after the trip. We provide custom-made tours, often very complicated and expensive. We accept good/bad critics (most are excellent though). We follow up in any case. 

Thank you for the feedback anyway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

This intimate journey through the land of Sardinia, including beaches, plains, and mountains, was one of the most personally moving adventuresI have taken. We were introduced to the people of Sardinia and the hospitality was warm and inviting. We have made lifetime friends and once in a lifetime memories. The food was incredible and the guide's passion for the country was palpable. Ivo made the trip a delight from beginning to end. Thank you for the best honeymoon I could have ever imagined!

Thank 852rossyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Mario's flexibilty and knowledge of the area and his selection of Laura, our driver-guide with a background in archeology made this tour special. We came away pleased with the beauty and variety of cultural and geographic sites the island offers. We had a chance to interact with Sardinians, had excellent accommodations and incredible food and wine. What a treat!

1  Thank sjsalinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Sardinia, Direttore generale at Motus in Sardinia Travel Company, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you Steve and Val for your kind review. It has been a pleasure.
regards

Mario Delitala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

My wife and I thrive on independent driving tours whenever possible. We have "driven" Croatia, Ireland, Spain, New Zealand, Malta, and mainland Italy, plus a few others. I do my research on line through travel sites, and reading magazines ( for me history and archeology, my wife birding and photography). I specifically look for local agencies that have good reviews, and that's how I found Travel Motus.
And boy, did we succeed. Paola and the others took our criteria and crafted a truly exceptional 15 day tour of Sicily and Corsica, with stays in 2 locations in Corsica (Cap Corse and Boniffaccio) and 4 in Sardinia (Costa Smeralda, Alighieri, Chia, Gologone). The hotels were unique, comfortable, and the cornerstone of our trip. My only regret is cancelling a visit/drive to Ajaccio in favor of additional days elsewhere (we tried for 3 day stays with 2 at the beginning and end), not just for missing the history and sites but the experience of another wonderful hotel selection.
In addition, Travel Motus included many wonderful suggestions for stops on our drives reflecting our interests ( I now have become an amateur expert on nuraghe ). While we couldn't see them all, the itineraries were ex

Thank HRSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Sardinia, Direttore at Motus in Sardinia Travel Company, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Dear Rod,
grazie for your kind review. In the behalf of Paola also, we thank you for taking the time to give us your precious feedback. Best regards to your wife, and I wish a pleasant winter in Delaware. Hoping to see you again

Saluti da Mario Delitala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Motus in Sardinia Travel Company also viewed

 
Sassari, Province of Sassari
Sassari, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Motus in Sardinia Travel Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing