We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment, wonderful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
220cm wide (7ft) 4 poster bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
220cm wide (7ft) 4 poster bed
Taken from entrance to the flat which is on the first floor overlooking Via Arduino
Bed settee (spare double bed)
The local beach in August
Via Principe Umberto where the flat is located
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Alghero, Province of Sassari, Sardinia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ferrarino...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great apartment, wonderful location”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a well maintained, well equipped first floor apartment in a superb location in the heart of Alghero's Old Town. It is one turn away from the sea and the entrance is on one of the towns most historic roads, yards from the old theatre and with the Cathedral at one end of the narrow street.
The owner, Antonia is very approachable and is contactable by phone as well as answering emails very promptly. Gordon, the English manager who lives locally is also very helpful.
It is an excellent option for those travelling without a car as parking is severely restricted in the area and all the local bus services are within 5 minutes walk.
Although the airport is close by there is no issue with aircraft noise and the bus from the airport is inexpensive and stops 5 minutes from the apartment. As we did not know the area when we arrived, we took a taxi which dropped us off at the apartment where we were met with the keys by the ever helpful Gordon. Total cost 25 euros
Eating out is a joy with many of the better / more affordable dining options being helpfully 'reviewed' in the apartments very useful visitors book which is filled with tips and suggestions.
When eating at home, there is a wonderful bread shop a few yards away and it is a short walk to the inexpensive and very impressive fruit and fish markets. the apartment has essentials such as olive oil and balsamic vinegar.
There are many other extras for which we were very grateful, beach towels, games, parasols and beach mats enable you to travel lighter (as does the provision of a washing machine).. I imagine this generosity of spirit encourages guests to leave things such as airbeds for use by later visitors.
DVD's, books, games and a playstation is available in the unlikely event that you should find yourself with time on your hands. We did find the free wifi very useful - for example finding information about the wonderful Nautisub company reviewed elswhere.
One word of caution. There is an extremely efficient portable air conditioning unit for use over the summer in the main bedroom. If this is required, the window must be left open to allow the hose to exit. This results in significant street noise until the early hours. We did not find this a problem and I actually loved the atmosphere. I think this is a recognised feature of all rentals in the old town, however if you are a lover of peace and quiet it could be an issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanniStra...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic apartment right in the heart of the Centro Storico”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Via Principe Umberto for 2 weeks in July. Our group was made up of myself, my mum and my sister for one week and myself, my mum and my husband for week number 2.

From the outset I found Antonia extremely efficient, friendly and helpful. We were provided with plenty of information about the apartment, it's location and the surrounding areas. Antonia contacted me personally once booking was complete to ensure we had all the information we needed. This really helped the whole holiday run smoothly.

The key pick up was smooth and we were shown round the apartment on arrival and provided with information on how to use the hot water etc.

In the apartment was a wonderfully helpful folder with maps, details of restaurants and excursions and all the info on the appliances within the apartment.

The location of the apartment is just perfect. We have stayed in Centro Storico previously on Via Carlo Alberto and so knew where we wanted to be. It was a lovely short walk to the old walls surrounding the town which are home to several fantastic restaurants. It is a short walk to the supermarket, other shops and many many restaurants.

The apartment itself was a fantastic size. There was a point where all four of us were staying there and there was ample room. The bathroom was fantasticly huge, the bedrooms and living room large and the kitchen (although we used it rarely) was perfectly spacious.

We spent most of our days at the beach, which was a leisurely 15-20 minute walk away. I have to point out that there are closer beaches, but we had previously discovered our favourite and return there each time!

We spent most of our evenings sampling the delicious Sardinian food on offer and exploring the cobbled old streets and people watching from our favourite bar!

The street noise on an evening and early in the morning throughout the entire Centro Storico is quite loud. During summer the rubbish collection is done daily (which is wonderful) but unfortunately this disturbed our sleep in the early mornings. HOWEVER I must also point out that you will not find an apartment in the old town that does not have this problem.

All in all we had a wonderful time in Alghero and this apartment was the perfect base for exploring the cobbled streets on an evening. I would recommend Alghero and Via Principe Umberto to all my friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: noisy dustbin men
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravit885
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect choice, perfect flat, location and host”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the flat as a group of five friends. From the outset, the communication with Antonia, the flat owner, was fantastic. She offered help and advice and answered all our queries very promptly. This goes also to manager who met us at the flat. Thank you very much for being so nice and accommodating.

Being in the very centre of the old town, the location of the flat is second to none. All the above, coupled with the flat's amenities and spacious layout, this is the absolute perfect choice for anyone seeking a comfortable, relaxing and fun stay in Alghero. The perfect location also means that you don't need a car to get around and enjoy the local amenities that the place has to offer.
We had the most wonderful stay in Alghero and in the flat and would highly recommend to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarateva
Chessy, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing