We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
234
356
164
64
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
356
164
64
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky bar junior suite top floor old town breakfast in the sky where breakfast is served the bus reasonable hotel breakfast room few minutes walk central location fantastic hotel wi fi within easy walking distance private beach reception staff across the road
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 839 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

This hotel is situated outside the old town in a modern tower block. Rooms are smaller than elsewhere in Sardinia and service is more impersonal. The hotel makes much of its high-level bar and terrace but this is open to all and guests are squeezed out by the general public. This wonderful asset is actually not available to guests because there is no room and because of the noisy passers-by who occupy it. When we did manage to get a seat there the staff decided to close it down and sweep round our feet. It's rather disappointing

So if you want somewhere to sleep, this is OK. If you want an experience of Sardinia,then there are much better places elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Piknmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVisconti, Responsabile marketing & brand manager at Hotel Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Piknmix,
we thank you for choosing the Hotel Catalunya and we hope that you spent a pleasent stay here and that you enjoyed your visit in Alghero.
The Blau Skybar is open also to the public and especially during the summer our terrace is very popular.
For that reason we suggest to our guests to reserve a table when they arrive at the Hotel, moreover we always keep some tables reserved for our hotel guests.
The Blau Skybar is open from 10 am to 11pm and the staff cannot start to clean before the closing time.
We apology if you have to wait for a table and if you felt disappointed, as our aim is to offer a unique experience to all our visitators and guests.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Went for drinks at ninth floor Sky Bar and paid for canapés. Lovely sunset views over harbour from balcony. Bar service very slow, no waitress service, queue at bar. Canapés poor

Lobby staff very helpful getting taxi for us at end of night.

Wouldn’t rush back

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank jerseyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffaella V, Marketing and brand manager at Hotel Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Jerseyman1,
we thank you for visiting our Skybar on the floor of the Hotel Catalunya.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the view at sunset,so amazing.
Thank you for appreciating our reception helpful staff.
We hope you will come back soon to Alghero and visit us again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We came to this hotel as it last stop in sardinia and I’m so glad we did. We live it. It’s nice to be near town and the breakfast upstairs is wonderful. I asked them to make sunny side up eggs and they were happy to do so. the view on top is so relaxing. I really love Sardinia and the people. It’s great.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffaella V, Responsabile marketing & brand manager at Hotel Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Christine G,
thank you for choosing the Hotel Catalunya, we are glad that you are happy with your choice and that you spent a so pleasant time here.
We are happy that you appreciated our central location and our helpful staff and that you love Sardinia and its welcoming and friendly people.
We hope you will come back soon and visit us again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

This was our 4th time staying at the Hotel Catalunya, which, in itself should tell you something. Every time our biggest worry is that it couldn’t possibly be as good as last time. This year was no exception, with our expectations being blown away, leading to our best stay yet.

All the basics are more than covered. Best location in town, great breakfast (a lovely selection that gives a little more variety each day), great air conditioning, Wi-Fi and the views from the junior suites and from the 9th floor Blau sky bar can only be described as surreal. Rooms are well appointed and kept spotless throughout your stay.

As ever though, what separates this hotel from any other, is the staff. I can genuinely say it is the best I have come across. It would be unfair to say that service is of a consistently high standard, as every year, somehow, it improves. It is the attention to detail and the fact that EVERY member of staff genuinely seems to care. Small things and preferences are noticed, remembered and acted upon. During our two week stay there were so many small, random things that would mean nothing to anyone else, but actually reduced my wife to tears at their kindness and thoughtfulness.

Never happy with standing still, the hotel retains the things they do very well and by observation and by listening to their customers, they improve the things they could do better. The Blau sky bar on the top floor, which was always THE place in Alghero for drinks, now does a lovely line in food too. From simple nibbles to more substantial meals. I noted a few weeks ago that one customer had complained on trip advisor about the paper cups being used in the bedrooms (An eco-thing). When we arrived, they had been changed to mugs. So much better. A small thing that makes a big difference and shows that the hotel actually listens and reacts. We had a sneak preview of a new first floor terrace that the hotel is developing for their guests in August. Absolutely stunning and again, purely driven by the desire to provide more comfort to their guests.

I could genuinely write page after page about just how special this place is and still couldn’t do it justice. All I can say is, try it for yourself and you will very quickly appreciate why I feel this way.

Our thanks for yet another fabulous stay!

Room Tip: The junior suites on the 8th floor are a little more expensive but well worth the extra
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catspjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffaella V, Responsabile marketing & brand manager at Hotel Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Catspjm,
we thank you for coming for the 4th time at the Hotel Catalunya and we thank you for your lovely review!
Our aim is to have happy guests that bring at home good memories of their stay in Alghero and in our Hotel.
We always do our best to listen and satisfy our guests desires and expectations and we are very happy when we are able to do it.
We do look forward to your next visit.
KIndest regards from Hotel Catalunya!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

The hotel is placed very close to the city centre, near port. In front of it is the bus station-for the airport, and to the beaches. The closest beach is 5 minutes walk. It has very nice view to the port and the sea. The hotel is easy to find, being the tallest building in the area. The rooms are clean, the breakfast is very good. The bar on the top of it-where the breakfast is served has an awesome view. We spent a week at this hotel, and only few disturbing things we didn't like:
1-2 mornings in the top roof restaurant there is live music which we found too laud. 2-The rule of the hotel is to change sheets once at 3 days, if you want more often, just to put a sign on the pillow. We didn't ask for supplementary sheets but in the 4th day, when still they didn't change them (no problem for us-its for the good of environment), still, it looks like someone stayed with shoes on the bed, so when we called the reception and ask for changing them , the receptionist start arguing with us about the fact that they change only at 3 days. Even if we explained that it was the 4th day, the sheet is dirty (it wasn't when we left the room), it took some time to convince her to send someone to change them.
3-Another "discomforting" thing was warm water which was cold. Even if I complained at the reception, nothing happened.
In the rest, it is a quiet hotel, we slept very well.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexM1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffaella V, Responsabile marketing & brand manager at Hotel Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear AlexM1903
we thank you for choosing the Hotel Catalunya for your stay in Alghero.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location, close to the old town and the beach and well- linked to airport, beaches and surroundings thanks to the bus stop located just in front of the Hotel.
We are happy that you appreciated the comfort and cleaniness of our rooms, our various breakfast and the amazing view from the Blau Skybar & Restaurant on the 9th floor.
We will take note of your report about the live music during the breakfast, we have already informed our pianist and the restaurant manager to look after the music's volume.
We apology for the inconvenient ( probably a disguide) occurred with the sheets wich are usually changed every 3 days during the stay, the room maids usually changed them more often if necessary.
If there is any problem with the warm water our Hotel is used to call immediately the maintenance company wich usually solves the problem within 24 hours.
We hope that you will keep a good memory of your stay and that you will come back soon.
Kind regards.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews