We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,194)
Filter reviews
1,194 results
Traveller rating
580
420
138
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
420
138
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star hotel free soft drinks sea view mini bar executive room pool area old town lovely hotel bottle of champagne plenty of sunbeds pool attendant reception staff breakfast was excellent salt water pool towels large balcony half board
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 1,194 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Just got back from a weeks stay and we loved it. The hotel was lovely, the rooms were spotless, with a king size bed, lovely balcony, a mini bar and free soft drinks topped up daily. Dressing gowns, slippers were also provided, all little touches which added up to a great experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English and listened patiently while we attempted Italian. We were really pleased and amazed to find a full vegan menu in the restaurant and ate there several times. Just little touches missing like vegan margerine and mayonnaise and the tiramasu wasnt available, but a great start to expand on! The breakfast was ok but there could be better choices for vegans to match the evening menu.Vegan margerine and pastries and Vegan sausages would have got a 5*
The pool and bar area were clean with great views, and at this time of year no problem getting a sunbed, the drinks were a good price and again the staff were lovely.
The hotel is a 15/20 minute walk from the hotel and a pleasant walk in the evening as it's partly pedestrianised and comes alive at night with street traders and music. The town and harbour are beautiful especially at night with a good choice of bars, restaurants and street entertainers.
We will definitely stay at Carlos V again, already looking forward to it!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Mrs Shena,
thanks you so much for sharing your experience.
We are proud that you enjoed your stay at the Hotel Carlos V, and that you appreciated our friendly and helpful staff,and all of our services that make the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible.
Please don't hesitate to contact us for your next stay in Alghero!
Kind regards, Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We booked directly with the hotel as no spare rooms with thomson and went for half board, what a bonus this turned put to be. Best breakfast buffet ever, juice lots of fresh fruits , cakes and croissants , cheeses and ham . A machine that made awesome pancakes, omelette station, the fried breakfast was ok but have found nowhere on the continent does well . Half board excellent value for four courses , as single starter could be 9 euros. Not standard hotel buffet fare, we tried numerous italian dishes we had never had, if you go looking for lasagne and bolognaise you will be disappointed , highlights included cuttlefish salad, suckling pig , monkfish, tiramisu and a panna cotta with forest fruits that was out of this world. maitre d rosalba was brilliant as was our main waitress valeria but could not fault the smiles and attitude of any of the staff. The place was spotless , nothing to much trouble , only downside was drinks very expensive, smll glss of prosecco 6euros likewise bacardi and coke. We had a room facing the ocean , worth paying the extra as fab sunsets. Can walk to the edge of the old town in 20 mins or to the port in 30 direct , lovely historic centre. We had no car but having been twice before and seen all the local sights not considered a problem. Husband snorkelled from the rocky beach in front every day and saw loads of fish.

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank kasperc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Mr Kasperc,
thanks for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the Hotel Carlos V in Alghero.
We are so happy that you consider us " one of the best Hotel trips ever" that means that we done a good job!
Thanks for choosing us, and we do hope to having you as our special guest asap.
Kind regards from all the hotel staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

What can I say, arrived apprehensive with it being an Italian hotel too be honest I was just expecting average, service of staff for our 1 week stay was excellent especially reception, the hotel pool was excellent and covered by a life guard from 8am to 7pm, breakfast was just great I looked forward to this daily, the room was a good size with a good bathroom and well stocked with all essentials, the hotel is well placed and within easy walking distance of Alghero old town. The view from the hotel terrace was beautiful, so all in all our stay was excellent with not one bad word to say, would I go back definitely yes. was it 5 star = yes. Thank you for an enjoyable stay. Tip hire a car and travel to Bosa on the coast road, also a large beer was only 4 euro's a very good price for Alghero

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank X8677QYjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Mr John,
thank you for your lovely 5 stars review!
We are very proud that you appreciate our staff and their very good job!
We do hope to welcoming you again as our special guest.
kind regards from all the Hotel Staff, Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We stayed for 11 nights in the Carlos in June and the hotel was brilliant .We recommend upgrading to a sea or pool view the sunsets were spectacular .The rooms on the third floor are large with a good balcony looking out to a first class view over the bay .The pool area is clean with plenty of sunbeds . The breakfast was brilliant with a choice of cooked food, omlettes or cold meats . The walk into to town takes about 20 minutes on flat going with a few bars on the way.

Date of stay: June 2017
1  Thank patandbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Mr Bryan,
thank you for staying with us and this great review! We're thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much hope to welcome you back!
Kind regards,Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 Nights on group holiday. Fairly modern hotel with good facilities, lovely pool and poolside bar. Rooms nicely appointed with mini bar and complimentary water. Staff attentive and helpful. Excellent Buffet Breakfast. Great location just 15mins walk from Alghero old town. Would recommend if staying in the area

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BobP258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Mr Bob,
thank you for sharing your experience.
We are proud to know that you appreciate our attentive and helpful staff, and that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Carlos V.
We do hope to welcoming you as our guest again!
Warm greatings from all the staff of the Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews