We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working from the beautiful terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for an orange juice and espresso and enjoyed the peaceful setup at the beautiful sea view terrace. Everyone has been very professional and warm hearted. One day we will come back to stay a few nights, this time it was the most impressive #workplace in Alghero :)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank awsdcophill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Last minute trip for long relaxing weekend . Took pot luck and chose this hotel in northern Sardinia. What a gem! The location is absolutely stunning - the hotel is a villa style and totally charming .
It almost feels as though time stands still , peace and tranquility and outstanding scenery all the way . The service is attentive and everywhere is well maintained and very clean . The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The location of this hotel is a short 1 Km stroll from the old town of Alghero which is lovely. The restaurants we ate in we're amazing. Tip - restaurants in the little streets for example Janas and Al 43 are far superior than the usual tourist haunts where all seating is generally outside. Overall amazing. If you are looking for that well deserved break to relax and unwind completely this is the place to come

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tapdap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Beautiful period building and gardens with antique furniture decorated in traditional style.
This hotel had very good write ups but we have to admit we were slightly disappointed in some areas.
The good things first
The staff around the pool ( particularly Nellie) and the lovely waiters in the restaurant were really excellent. Friendly, helpful and obliging at all times.
Very nice spa with indoor pool.
Beautiful position with views over the bay.
Comfortable sun loungers with umbrellas. Often had the pool to ourselves as many people seemed to go out for most of the day.
The room and bathroom were spacious enough and were quite well equipped with robe, slippers, hairdryer and toiletries as one would expect from a 5* hotel
The cleaning was very good at all times. Room was spotlessly maintained every day.
Within an easy 15 min walk of Alghero with its many restaurants, bars and shops.
Quiet and peaceful if you're looking to chill or relax.
Free cycles for your use
Sky TV
The poached eggs at breakfast were superb!
Things we were not so keen on
For a 5* hotel, the basic room was rather too basic, although the rooms with balconies didn't look a lot different in style. It was almost austere and not very welcoming. No tea and coffee making facilities, no iron or even access to one. The Italian law apparently prevents these being in the room but I feel there should be a small room somewhere to allow you to iron your own things. You can pay to have your clothes ironed but just for a few creases this is rather a lot of money. The male receptionist, Paulo, looked down his nose at me when I suggested this!!!
The bed was so hard I would have preferred to sleep on the sun beds. They did say they had changed the mattress but to be honest I couldn't tell the difference. I didn't sleep at all well all week so the relaxation didn't happen for me. If you like a firm bed you will be ok. If not.......!
Breakfast was fine but again for the money you are paying, to have to pay extra for omelette seems a little rich. There was fruit but it would have been nice to have fruit salad. The bread was a bit limited. There were plenty of sweet cakes.
There was nothing going on in the evening. No one was in the bar, there was no entertainment and certainly not even soft music. When I asked if they ever have music playing, they looked astonished at the thought despite there being a grand piano and plenty of sheet music. The whole place lacked atmosphere in the evening.
The first day I asked for a soda and lime and was told it would be €8. A pina colada would be €12. We don't mind spending money but this seemed a rip off. Cocktails in the town ranged from €5-7.
Internet was free and ok in the hotel but not great around the pool.
Watch out for the aggressive seagulls who will mob you if you try to explore the rock paths
Overall it was a pleasant week but we don't think we will be back. This is our honest and genuine opinion having travelled worldwide.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anenome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

One of the best holidays l have had staying here. Beautiful room & surroundings. Close enough to walk into Alghero.
V nice restaurant & excellent service all round. Nicely done out. It was worth the cost & we had a very restful time. Wifi connection was good & I did yoga in the grounds.the pool was a nice temperature & clean.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sara M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Despite the closure of the heating swimming pool because of the season, this is a Sardinian gem, with excellent staff, beautiful rooms and stunning views. I loved the parc, and the historical salon downstairs. Lovely situated, must be even better in spring or summer.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms have a large terrace (on the first floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RickKessel_Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
10.7 km away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
6 km away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
121.3 km away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
0.3 km away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#8 of 49 in Alghero
1,046 reviews
5.1 km away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 49 in Alghero
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Address: Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#2 Business Hotel in Alghero
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: €155 - €363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Tronas is the delightful 5-star hotel that has become the symbol of Alghero - “the Golden Door to tourism in Sardinia” - situated on the Riviera del Corallo on the north-west coast of the Island. The hotel rises from the sea-shore with its Spa, nestled in the greenery of nearly two hectares of park that separate it from the Alghero waterfront, on a headland surrounded on three sides by the crystal-clear water of the bay. Numerous quays invite you to sunbathe and swim in the most comfortable, private way. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere so intense and romantic as to steal the hearts of Italian Royalty, who chose the Villa up to the nineteen-forties for their holidays in Sardinia. The bar and panoramic restaurant are the ideal place to relax, while your gaze takes in the Bay of Alghero and rediscovers the timeless luxuriousness inherent in the unique features and character of the villa. The Hotel and the Spa – with its covered sea-water swimming-pool (also looking out over the Mediterranean), sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walkway, gym and the beauty area – are open all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Tronas Hotel And Spa
Villa Las Tronas Hotel Alghero
Hotel Las Tronas
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing