We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Torcola is a gem”
Review of Hotel Torcolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Torcolo
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2006

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Hotel Torcola.

We have nothing but praise for this hotel. Our room was simple and furnished in traditional Italian style, spotlessly clean and the linen changed frequently. The shower room was functional with a good shower and plenty of hot water. The air conditioning worked well, which was a relief as the weather was extremely hot. The bed was firm but comfortable.

This is a small, family run budget hotel, and is very good value for money in what can be an expensive city. Continental breakfast was served on the pavement outside the hotel and consisted of coffee, bread, rolls, eggs and fruit.

The location of this hotel is wonderful; literally yards from the Piazza Bra and the Arena. It is perfect for the opera and for sightseeing.

But what really makes this hotel exceptional is the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and staff. As far as we were concerned, nothing was too much trouble. In an world of faceless hotel chains, the Torcola is a little gem.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jacksgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 296 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2006

We have had the most wonderful stay at Hotel Torcolo. The staff are friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are pleasant and adequate, some nicer than others but the location is absolutely fantastic! So close to everything. Lots of restaurants and cafes close by. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Twin_1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2006

On arrival we were met with apologies as we had booked a double room and they only had a twin for the first of our 3 night stay. We accepted this and were taken to a room at the back of the hotel which was a throw back from the 70s. The furniture was dreadful and cheap looking, the tiny bathroom needed a complete refurbishment and the shower was in the main bedroom area, with only a glass door to separate it from the room. We found it difficult to sleep the first night due to the youths hanging out outside the windows and we were woken at about 6.30 am by the bin men.

We were moved to another room on day 2 and this was altogether a different experience, making it hard to believe it was the same hotel. Our double room was lovely with a modern bathroom, old traditional furniture and facing the side of the hotel (not the back). We were a lot happier with this room.

The location of the hotel is cracking, just a 30 second walk from the Arena and it was wonderful to explore this fabulous city.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vivacioussarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2006

We called the Hotel from the train station after being let down by another Hotel. We had tried to book at Torcolo before leaving through the Net and couldnt get a booking so presumed it was booked out. Christine was delighted to help us out; very friendly and welcoming.
The hotel is perfectly located in this delightful town, and its a cheap taxi ride from the train station.
We were well treated by the two owners, and Christine, with good advice and helpful hints about what to see and where to eat.
My partner was ill for the first day or two, and the staff delivered broth and tea to the room, which contributed to her speedy recovery!
The small breakfast area works well, and the staff are friendly and efficient. There is some passing noise from the hall, but not from room to room, and we were not inconvenienced at all by this.
The room is not huge, but is very comfortable, clean and well serviced... with a great bathroom.
We enjoyed our stay, and appreciated the delights of Torcolo!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Verve_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2006

We loved our stay in Verona and at the Torcolo. We made the reservation the night before based only a mention in Rick Steve's book. We found the hotel to be fantastic - the staff were really top notch. Very helpful. When we arrived, they suggested a fantastic restaurant (I see it has been mentioned here already - Bottega Vini) and to take a romantic moonlit stroll on the castellovecchio bridge. We were very pleased with their recommendations and had a wonderful evening. Additionally, the next day, they arranged for us to visit a winery we discovered - called and made a reservation for us, and arranged for a driver! It was truly a fantastic ending to our trip. The rooms were pretty standard - but a great value. The bed, like most we stayed in during our trip, was so-so, but the room was spacious and decorated nicely. We found the place easily after arriving at the train station (short bus ride to the city center/Piazza Bra, and then a easy walk from Piazza Bra). Overall, we loved it and recommend the Hotel Torcolo.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank nenaghgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 km away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.6 km away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#10 of 77 in Verona
221 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Hotel Armando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#5 of 77 in Verona
809 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Mastino
Hotel Mastino
#35 of 77 in Verona
1,168 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Scalzi
Hotel Scalzi
#16 of 77 in Verona
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torcolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torcolo

Address: Vicolo Listone 3, 37121, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range: €76 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Torcolo 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Torcolo, traditional family hotel, is located in the historic center of Verona, a few steps from the "Arena" the Roman amphitheater, home to summer opera festival and from the balcony of Juliet .The hotel has a lift and 24 hour Front Desk and GarageAll our rooms are: non smoking, with private facilities en suite with shower and hair-dryer; all rooms are with TV with CNN and BBC news, direct telephone, air conditioning /heating, fridge with safe and Wi-fi connection.The owners, Silvia and Diana, and the staff Caterina and Riccardo will be happy to welcome and provide you with all the information you may need to sightsee the town.Feel free to ask them to book restaurant, opera tickets, visit in a museum or provide you information and timetable of trains and buses to reach the neighborhoods.In this gracious Hotel in Verona, you will be greeted by the friendly and professional service to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Torcolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torcolo Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing