We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, wonderful service”
Review of Hotel Torcolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Torcolo
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2017

This is a lovely hotel, centrally situated. Our room was clean and spacious, and the breakfasts good. It is the staff who make it really special. The two lady owners are charming and helpful, as is Camilla. Caterina is something very special: enthusiastic and keen that one should get the very best of one's stay in Verona. We would never have thought of going to Mantova (Mantua) for the day by train, but thanks to Caterina we did. Verona is great. Wonderful city, wonderful hotel, wonderful people.

Room Tip: If you get up late, ask for a room where you will lewast hear the dust carts coming round
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017

The location was very good - close to the "bra" (the piazza) and the arena.We spent 6 nights there, exploring Verona and taking side trips to Padua and Lake Garda. Not 5 stars, as bed could have been better.

Room Tip: Shutters wouldn't open. Once,due to a soccer rally, we closed the windows and we heard little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GrammieAnnie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Hotel Torcolo is a great place to stay when visiting Verona, it is so centrally located seconds from the Piazza Bra, and besides the Roman Arena amphitheater, Opera or Juliet’s balcony, it’s a great base to visit Venice and Lake Gard were you can cruise the lake on the ferry and return by bus the same day. All the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff are really helpful and friendly, especially the receptionist Caterina. The hotel is owned by two very nice older ladies called Sylvia and Diana, who will give you many tips on what to see in and around Verona. Breakfast is more than ample and is served early which gives you a chance to see the castle, bridge, gardens and museums and take people free photos. After which you can explore the side streets for a new place to eat brunch. We spent a wonderful week here, and never got bored, as there are wine bars everywhere, all you have to do is just be a little adventitious.
TIP: If coming by train its 10 Euroes from Verona Porta Nuova train station by taxi or 1.50 Euro by bus to Bra Square (piazza Bra). Then just a short walk.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

This is a delightful small hotel in an outstanding location in Verona. If you want a large modern room with all facilities, find a Hilton or Radisson - Torcolo will give you a slice of Verona. From the ladies on reception to the views and noises of the surrounding streets it is full of character.

The facilities are basic, as is the breakfast. The restaurant on the ground floor is excellent, if a little pricey, but there are half a dozen others to choose from within 100 yards of the front door. Piazza Bra is a minute away, Castelvechio, 5 minutes and the staff will help with directions to anywhere. I'd come straight back if we visit Verona again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We stayed for one night and although the owners and staff are very friendly and extremely helpful we didn't think the hotel as that great. We were advised to keep our windows closed because of the noise outside but the noise trouble came from the adjacent room. We were kept awake until after 2.00 am with the three guests in the next room talking, nothing more than that but indicates how thin and lacking in insulation the walls are. We chose to have breakfast at 10 euros which I have to say was not money well spent, that and the fact that the room was tiny and cramped I would recommend breakfasting elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank B-HomeExchange50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 km away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.6 km away
Best Western Hotel Armando
0.1 km away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#5 of 78 in Verona
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#10 of 78 in Verona
230 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#26 of 78 in Verona
469 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Scalzi
Hotel Scalzi
#16 of 78 in Verona
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torcolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torcolo

Address: Vicolo Listone 3, 37121, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range: €77 - €152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Torcolo 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Torcolo, traditional family hotel, is located in the historic center of Verona, a few steps from the "Arena" the Roman amphitheater, home to summer opera festival and from the balcony of Juliet .The hotel has a lift and 24 hour Front Desk and GarageAll our rooms are: non smoking, with private facilities en suite with shower and hair-dryer; all rooms are with TV with CNN and BBC news, direct telephone, air conditioning /heating, fridge with safe and Wi-fi connection.The owners, Silvia and Diana, and the staff Caterina and Riccardo will be happy to welcome and provide you with all the information you may need to sightsee the town.Feel free to ask them to book restaurant, opera tickets, visit in a museum or provide you information and timetable of trains and buses to reach the neighborhoods.In this gracious Hotel in Verona, you will be greeted by the friendly and professional service to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Torcolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torcolo Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing