We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant, loved the food and wine”

Osteria al Boscarel
Ranked #54 of 1,339 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Such a lovely restaurant hidden away. Luckily for us we were staying round the corner. We were lucky to get a table on Saturday night. They gave us an English menu thank goodness. Great choice of wine too. The food was excellent, so fresh. I had the pumpkin ravioli which was divine. Was full of locals which I prefer. The decor is cosy and loved watching the chef come out and speak to everyone. Def come here, our fav restaurant of all that we had in Verona

Thank Camilla88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glorialezzeri, Proprietario at Osteria al Boscarel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017
Google Translation

Grazie mille, vi aspettiamo nel prossimo viaggio a Verona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We had seen this place tucked down a hidden lane off Regaste San Zeno. Decided one day to see if we could grab a table for lunch and lucky for us it was quiet and so were seated immediately. Lovely ambience, dark and cosy.

We chose to have two antipasti and two primi. All were delicious but the standout was the Tortelli i al Boscarel. A little on the high side pricewise at €14 but soon proved to be worth it.

What a surprise. The tortellini turned out to be typical pumpkin tortellini di Mantova and the reason became apparent when the chef came to the table to have a chat and he informed us that he was from Mantova. The surprise was that the sauce was a yummy sausage and tomato sauce which when paired with the pumpkin tortellini was amazing.

We really enjoyed our experience.

Thank CafeDarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glorialezzeri, Proprietario at Osteria al Boscarel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017
Google Translation

Grazie mille per la vostra splendida recensione, vi aspettiamo nel prossimo viaggio a Verona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

On the last day of our trip we trekked across town with weary legs from Guarding Giusto to the Vesuvio Pizzeria based on a TA guide. Sadly that was closed (Monday lunch). The silver lining was that we found ourselves close to this place.

You can see from existing pictures that it's cosy and dark, but it's also contemporary in feel. It seems like a family business from the off. We had a warm welcome. The owner came soon after with the chalkboard menu and apologised that he had no one to translate that day.

We muddled through but his attitude made it fun rather than difficult. We went just with some pasta dishes and a glass of house red.

My wife's gnocchi with radicchio, walnuts and Monteveronese cheese was a completely new combination for us. It's powerfully flavoured but the bitterness of the braised radicchio against the powerful rich cheese sauce was great.

My tagliatelle with wild boar ragu was as easy menu choice. It was made with wild boar meat rather than the alternative (and still good sausages). Good fresh pasta, well cooked.

I can't be certain that a full meal would all be as good as we were only in the mood for a lighter lunch before getting to the airport, but what we had was lovely and made extra special by the warm owners.

Thank stuartb3502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glorialezzeri, Proprietario at Osteria al Boscarel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017
Google Translation

Grazie mille per le vostre splendide parole. Vi aspettiamo nel prossimo viaggio a Verona per gustare altre specialità.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

We chose to dine here after checking out other reviews for local restaurants.
We arrived a little before start of service but were welcomed in to a table at the rear of this quaint restaurant.
Cannot complain about any of our choices. Baccalá alla Vincentina, Maccheroni a cacio e pepe, then we decided to have an antipasto. Back to front but never mind. Selection of salumi with cheese and peppers. Finished off with strudel.
Excellent service, excellent food. Not much more to add.

Thank Moschi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

A recommendation from our BnB hostess directed us a block away from where we were staying on Via Rigaste San Zeno to this wonderful local osteria tucked away on a small side street of the same name. The proprietor ushered us inside and into the care of a gracious hostess who literally brought the tripod-mounted menu to our table and described every dish on it with great patience, which was helpful since it was hand-written and many dishes seemed to have local, unique names. We gambled on most of our choices and were not disappointed by any. The food was all delicious. OK, maybe the roasted rabbit was a bit dry but the exceptional olive-and-rosemary-based sauce and delicate side made up for that. Even the bread basket was filled with unusual and tasty baked items. Our only regret was not saving enough room for dessert, having observed what wiser guests were enjoying. This owner and staff clearly take their food very seriously and we hope you will be as delighted as we were.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria al Boscarel also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Osteria al Boscarel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing