We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business & tourist hotel”
Review of Maxim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maxim Hotel
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Business and tourist hotel Aboutaleb 3.5 km from Piazza Bra and Verona city center. Friendly staff. Spacious clean room and bathroom. We stayed here for one night wagen riding to Vicenza. Breakfast Ok. 4 star hotel withouten swimming pool. Little to see or go out for dinner in the neighbourhood. Bus stop to city center at 5 mins walk.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
There are newer reviews for Maxim Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017

The hotel was disappointing, not least because of its location surrounded by apartment blocks in an unattractive part of town. There was a reasonable choice of food for breakfast but fruit salad tended to be from a tin and jam was squeezed from a squeezy jar. Cereals were better and there was a good choice of bread and bread substitutes. The hotel does not do lunches or dinner and there is only one decent restaurant in the area but there is a good bus service into the centre of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We visited Hotel Maxim in June 2017 as a couple. I'd recommend it but I think we'd rather be closer to the city next time.

The hotel is in a residential area about 15mins away from Verona arena on the bus, there aren't any places to buy tickets near the hotel (as far as I can tell) but you can get them on the bus for 2 euros.

We had a bit of an issue finding it, and a heart attack inducing moment when we thought it was closed!! It's not (thankfully) but the supermarket that used to be attached to it is.

The staff were abrupt on reception, didn't really feel very welcoming because of this. The hotel itself (in the public areas) is very well presented internally. I get the impression it was designed more for business use but that might just be me.

The room we had was large and spacious, from the fire plan it looks as if they are all of a similar size. They're also well equipped with a bath/shower, a minibar (useful for your own drinks if nothing else!), hairdryer, free safe, TV etc. It was a bit dated but comfortable enough, especially for the price we paid.

Free breakfast is always a bonus, but the breakfast here was good with a selection of hot and cold food. Coffee is from a machine but still good. Again, the biggest problem was the staff who were generally rude, not much of an issue as you can avoid them at breakfast!

There's no restaurant on a night which would normally put us off given the distance from the city. However the hotel recommend a few local Italian restaurants, frequented by residents. We visited two and they were both excellent and only 5 mins away. The food there was much better than you'd get in a hotel anyway.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel if you're just looking for somewhere to rest your head after a long day, it's not the easiest place to walk to (although we managed) but it's not a deal breaker. Overall it's okay, but I'm sure there's better out there.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rhys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We brought a large group to Hotel Maxim at the beginning of April to visit Verona. Our stay was very smooth from the beginning – the check-in process went extremely quickly considering there were 50 people in our group! The hotel is of a very good standard and the rooms were large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was of epic proportions and wonderfully varied. Hotel Maxim was a pleasant stay for our large group and is clearly used to dealing with parties like ours.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank LoyolaCenterNCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We booked this hotel at the last minute for a city break. In parts it is a bit tired but the room was comfortable and the breakfast which was included in the very reasonable price was very good indeed. The staff were friendly and we were delighted with the advice and guidance provided by the reception staff. It is however located well outside the city in a rather run-down residential area which seems a bit strange. There are on most days frequent buses into the city which run close to the hotel but watch you do not over shoot the stop on the return journey as we did. On the Monday of our stay there were no buses running due to the holiday and it took us 40 minutes to walk to the Arena at a good pace. I would recommend the hotel itself as great value as long as its location out of the city is not regarded as a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WIGGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
2.1 km away
SHG Hotel Verona
SHG Hotel Verona
#33 of 77 in Verona
363 reviews
2.0 km away
Brandoli
Brandoli
#41 of 77 in Verona
222 reviews
2.2 km away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#19 of 77 in Verona
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#23 of 77 in Verona
809 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Leopardi
Hotel Leopardi
#27 of 77 in Verona
609 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Piccolo
Hotel Piccolo
#30 of 77 in Verona
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxim Hotel

Address: Via Carlo Belviglieri 42, 37131, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range: €61 - €264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maxim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maxim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxim Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing