We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster”
Review of Maxim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maxim Hotel
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Verona
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Been a while since my last review.This was entirely due to our visit to the hotel Maxim. Hotel itself was dull to say the least, needing some T>L>C. Although the room was very nice and comfortable. No restaurant open unless more than fifteen people.Reception was rediculously slow. and not a word of welcome or indeed any conversation at all. before leaving to go for dinner we had a drink at the bar..Completely empty. Very nice elderly member of staff looking after it and recommended a good restaurant. It was very good.Returned after 10pm bar shut. so early night'Early morning call 0600 to catch flight home from Verona
Tripped on way to answer the call, fell and broke my wrist, phone down to reception who were very uninterested, but did offer to send someone to take our luggage to car. Did go into restaurant and the spread was very good. I was not feeling like eating. so went to reception and booked out, No how are you or can we help...The hotel needs to send their staff for training and customer care. I for one would never book it again unless their attitude to customers changed.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear look into tenements across street. Not very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scotsman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2015

The Maxim is probably more of a business type hotel, but its quiet location was a nice change from the hectic city center. The rooms were comfortable and basic. If it's very hot outside, like it was in July 2015, the air conditioning doesn't work so well on the high floors. Breakfast and bar were good. Service was very good, friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel is only a 5 min cab into the centre of Verona. We stayed there as a family of 4 and the family room was big with plenty of room.
This is what I would call a 3 star hotel anywhere else in the world but having stayed in Italy several times before I understand how they rate it 4 star.
Staff were friendly and helpful and made it very easy getting is into town
2 negatives for me. We were there on avoiding day and the air con just could not cope. It was like trying to sleep in a furnace.
The breakfast was more Ibis than 4 star hotel. Very average with the only saving race of some great cakes.
These tourist cities are always hard to find a good value hotel especially in Italy, this was ok but pray for cooler weather

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The room was clean there was some issues like the card cover to the room fell out in our hands.
It was close to a supermarket and a great kebab shop across from the bus stop into to town.
The people were not very friendly and we had to pay for Wifi, after using a certain amount which was not much.

Room Tip: We were told that the 4th floors wifi doesnt work. We were on the 5th floor and it was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

Very good hotel, clean and wide.
(The only "problem" was the scent of cigars on the corridor, but inside the room it wasn't perceptible).
Great and gentle staff.
Quiet place, outside the city center.
Awesome price and incredible breakfast! Great deal!!!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank margot_kruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
2.1 km away
SHG Hotel Verona
SHG Hotel Verona
#32 of 78 in Verona
455 reviews
2.2 km away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#20 of 78 in Verona
508 reviews
2 km away
Brandoli
Brandoli
#42 of 78 in Verona
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#21 of 78 in Verona
831 reviews
5.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Verona - Fiera
6.3 km away
Ibis Verona
Ibis Verona
#45 of 78 in Verona
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxim Hotel

Address: Via Carlo Belviglieri 42, 37131, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range: €52 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maxim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maxim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxim Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing