We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Setting out of a fairytale, with gracious hosts...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Sogara

The Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa
Swimming Pool Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Villa
Swimming Pool
Bedroom
Living Room
Dining Room
Swimming Pool
Upper Loggia
Library
Library
Living Room
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Vineyards
Courtyard
Patio
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Verona, Province of Verona, Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
clwtrmom
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Setting out of a fairytale, with gracious hosts and amazing food!”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed June/July 2015.

We arrived by train in Verona from the Amalfi Coast. We were two families traveling together with a total of 5 boys. Tommaso arranged to have transportation pick us up at the train station and bring us to Villa Sogara.

Because it was evening, we really weren't able to see too much around us. However, the inside of the villa did not disappoint. It was huge and filled with original but lovely furniture. Tommaso gave us a tour and explained some of it's history. You could definitely feel the pride he had for this place.

Before we arrived, Tommaso had told me that a meal could be prepared for us so that we wouldn't have to worry about cooking. I thought it was a great idea because I knew we would be very tired from traveling and with 5 boys, starving. What he didn't tell me is that his wife Ela, was such an amazing cook. Truly her food was absolutely delicious and we ate Al Fresco style outside. What a wonderful way to start our week long visit in Verona. We still talk about how wonderful her meal was. I hope she will one day start up her food blog and post her recipes!!

In addition to that, Tommaso did shopping for us and had some basic staples (fruit, eggs, juice, milk, bread, prosciutto, cheese etc) ready at the Villa so we could easily prepare breakfast the next day and then go do a more thorough grocery shopping later. Speaking of the next day, we were able to see the grounds and the outside of the Villa. Indeed the villa was just as beautiful as the pictures we had seen on the internet and the grounds even more so.

Any questions we had, directions, help we needed etc - Tommaso and Ela were there to assist us and always with a smile. And their beautiful daughter, Sofia was a joy to be around. Having them near (they live in the apartment connected to the villa) was comforting and convenient.

While we were there, we traveled to many places in, around and away from the area, but it was always good to come back home to Villa Sogara. Verona itself is a beautiful city. If you have a chance to take in an Opera at the Arena di Verona, don't miss it. It's a fabulous experience. Though touristy, we even enjoyed going to see the house of Juliet. You're there, why not go? Also, wonderful just to walk around the city and enjoy life sitting in the square.

In closing, I really recommend that you consider staying at Villa Sogara. You will not be disappointed. Again Tommaso and his family are wonderful and will do everything they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Make sure you ask Ela to cook for you!!

Tommaso, we can't thank you enough for everything. Our stay at Villa Sogara contributed greatly to a wonderful vacation in Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say, it was all wonderful
Liked least: It was hot, but not their fault! We happened to come during an unusual heat wave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
“Everywhere you look is a photograph waiting to be taken!”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I arrived at Villa Sogara to find that the photos on the website while accurate cannot begin to capture the romantic beauty of the villa itself and the surrounding gardens and vineyards. Beautiful, interesting and serene, it was the perfect setting for our sketch booking workshop, cooking classes, lounging around the pool, and easy trips into Verona. Tommaso and Emma are warm and their pride in sharing this legacy is palpable. Eleven of us were quite comfortable in large, high ceilinged bedrooms, each with its own charm, and yes, to modern amenities and bathrooms! There was a unanimous "Let's come back next year!"

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it, including the warm dessert Emma surprised us with one afternoon!
Liked least: Minor and only complaint: the kitchen knives could be sharper
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect slice of heaven”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Every year I take a group of adult students to Italy for a sketching workshop and this year we stayed at Villa Sogara. It was a dream of a place: beautiful rooms, modern conveniences (like elevator and air conditioning and a swimming pool!) blended wonderfully with old world beauty (antique furniture, art, books, courtyard). The host, Tomaso and his wife, Ella, are wonderful too. Available, flexible, kind, thoughtful. Just a slice of heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
75annabel...
Lymington
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Dream Stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The most wonderful place. Tomasso and Ella were perfect hosts and so welcoming. The house with all its history is stunning and tranquil. I stayed here with 11 other friends and we had a really happy few days, swimming in the good sized pool, eating the most delicious food cooked by Ella in the loggia and basking in sunshine within the idyllic grounds of the villa. This place is an absolute must!!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie246...
New Forest, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in stunning surroundings.”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the beautiful Villa Sogara where we were met by the owner Tommaso. He is very knowledgeable and proud of the history of the villa and shared this with us as he showed us around.
You get a sense of this history as you walk around the rooms, all furnished with antiques and pictures that his family have collected over many generations.
Once unpacked, we headed to the pool where we sat on the loungers and soaked up the afternoon sun. The pool is a good size and perfectly situated to get the most out of the sunshine and views across the vineyards.
That evening we gathered under the shade of the trees and drank in the heady smell of the Gardenia and Jasmine that is growing in the garden.
Ella and Tommaso had catered for us for 2 out of the 3 evenings that we stayed, we were treated to 4 or 5 courses of the most spectacular food that Ella had lovingly cooked for us and to some wine from Tommaso's own vineyards.
Villa Sogara is a unique property and is set in the most spectacular scenery and if you are looking for somewhere to stay that offers a real sense of Italian history and style then this is definitely the place for you. But what will really make your holiday something to truly remember are the owners Tommaso and Ella for whom nothing is too much trouble. They had purchased our shopping for us (we had previously emailed a list to them), organised transfers and taxis throughout our stay, and booked a table in a restaurant opposite the Arena for the night we had gone into Verona to the opera.
I would highly recommend Villa Sogara as a place to stay especially if you are a large group (we were a group of 12).
Verona itself is stunning I highly recommend a walk along the river and stopping for a gelato. The Opera was something definitely worth doing but suggest taking a seat cushion and a bottle of water.
We were only in Italy for 4 days but definitely intend to return and hope to stay at the Villa Sogara again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing