We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, welcoming and homely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ca del Giglio

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
affaccio sul canale Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Living Room
affaccio sul canale
Kitchen
zona giorno
Kitchen
angolo cottura
Kitchen
balcone
Living Room
Kitchen
soggiorno
The Master Bedroom
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
angolo TV e stereo
The Master Bedroom
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
camera da letto
The Master Bedroom
Kitchen
finestra camera
Living Room
Kitchen
terzo letto
Bathroom
bagno finestrato
Bathroom
specchio bagno
Bathroom
vasca e lavatrice
Living Room
doccia
Entrance
vista dal canale
Street
pianta appartamento
Street
dove siamo
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Sheldon T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm, welcoming and homely”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights for our 3rd anniversary. Before we arrived, Martina was very quick to respond to any questions that I had.

Once we'd arrived in Venice, Martina had then met us at the Alilaguna stop at Giglio, and showed us the way to the apartment, which was just a short distance. Once we had arrived, we were very pleased with what we were presented with. A very comfortable and homely apartment, that I feel most would be pleased with.

Martina had surprised as with a bottle of Prosecco and some Biscotti to welcome and congratulate us. She was very informative and gave us some very useful locations to help make a trip comfortable. I had told her that we were planning to visit the theatre, so she had kindly printed out a programme from the teatra la fenice website, which was just a few minutes away from the apartment.

There were several very helpful additions to the service that we were provided with, that made our stay all the more memorable

I would recommend staying here to anyone looking for somewhere that is exceptional value and in a prime location in one of the most beautiful cities the world has to offer. I look forward to visiting again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PABMB
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds but regularly serenaded by the gondoliers passing our window !”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were met at the water bus stop by the owner's son. Apartment was just perfect for our needs.Within walking distance of San Marco but away from all the crowds. A highlight had to be the many gondolas that passed by our windows ! Apartment clean ,tidy and well equipped. The water bus stop was approximately 5 mins walk away.Was able to take the water bus straight from the airport to this stop too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leea K
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place and great location.”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great location, spacious apartment for 3. Apartment is just as in the photos.

One spacious bedroom with double bed and a single. A living, kitchen, dining room where the lounge was also a fold out bed. We preferred for teen to us the single bed as this allowed us to retain a lounge area and access the dining table easily. The bathroom has toilet, bidet, washbasin, shower and separate bath and washer/dryer. There is also an entry area suitable for coats, bags, shoes etc.

The bathroom had a range of washing detergents and shampoos from previous guests. The host had left fresh milk and juice in the fridge. There is a little alimentary shop and a bake shop in the next campa (square) and little cafes and restaurants in surrounding streets.

All rooms have large opening windows so plenty of light and air. The windows at double glazed so it can be very quiet when they are closed.

The apartment is on the first level and is right on a small canal just off the Grand Canal. There is a flight of steps, broken by a landing halfway.

The gondola "depot" is at the end of the canal which means there are regularly gondolas passing below the windows. Not a privacy problem as it is below window level and it can be interesting hearing the conversations and the music and singing.

The location is great for being able to go late to the Doge's Palace (no queue, no crowd), a late tour down the Grand Canal (only 7 people so we got put on a water taxi, great views) or to turn up early to the markets or to be able to have a siesta in the air conditioning or a comfort break when needed. The local residents appear to be mostly other tourists.

When arriving in Venice by train we got the Line 1 water bus down the Grand Canal to get off at the Giglio stop. Fantastic introduction to Venice and the apqrtment was only a few mins from the stop. We were met by a friend of the host and shown straight to the apartment. On departure we took his advice to get the airport from the Giglio stop and it was cheap, convenient and a great farewell trip across the lagoon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, size lightness of apartment.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TTandE
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AMAZING vacation rental!!!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Ca del Giglio with our 16 year old daughter and it has been the absolute highlight of our European tour! Martina greeted us warmly at the boat stop and showed us everything we needed. The location was excellent, and the pictures do not do the house justice - it was WAY better than expected! If you are planning on staying in Venice this is The Place! We loved falling asleep listening to the gondoliers singing right outside our window! Other than the beautiful music it was very quiet. Close by are some wonderful restaurants for sitting in or take-away. We couldn't recommend it more highly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, great condition and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing, it was fantastic!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tianjama
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location - excellent appartment - nice reception”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The flat lies between Academia and Marcus Square - right in the middle of it all - but tucked away in a small side alley, in the first floor.
Both living room/kitchen and bedroom face the small channel, where occasionally Gondoliere pass by with tourists on board - singing! -(the opera is right across the corner).
The flat is fully equipped - even an espresso - maker(tabs) is there. It looks exactly as on the photos and is well maintained and clean.
A major part of the fun is also how to reach the flat: From the aiport, you can take a boat (Alilaguna linea arancia) that takes you - through "Canale Grande" - right to the boat stop S. Giglio. There, Martina (the helpful, corteous, punctual landlord) expected us, took us the last 200 m to the apartment and explained everything. We recommend Ca'Giglio appartment highly to everyone!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing