We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brooding Venetian romance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Ranked #18 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brooding Venetian romance”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Located on the grand canal, sunshine streaming into your room every morning it was stunning.

The decor is dark and smouldering, with the highest quality finishes throughout.

Black marble floors, 10' high free standing mirrors, the dark yet funky interior added to the romance. I must admit it would be hard to fault the theme and design. It left you feeling relaxed and almost hidden from the bustling canal.

Upstairs is a real gem, probably one of the most beautiful bars in Venice, but for residents only, it seems a shame not to share it as it was almost always empty.
Stunning desk lines and a long bar with its private balcony on the canal. Not to be missed.

Breakfast is simple but perfect. Every day they served a beautiful mix of pastries, fresh fruit all prepared with care. The coffee very well executed as one can expect in Italy. All in all a great breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    130
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
483
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

tThe hotel itself is in a lovely location (if a bit hard to find!) and looks great. The problem for us occured in the customer service. Coming back to the hotel on Saturday night we discovered the room to our door open - it appeared to have been left open when the evening turndown took place as towels had been changed and chocolates put on our pillow etc. As our room was right off the bar this wasn't ideal however, I accept these things happen but of course we made a complaint with reception.

The lady on reception wasn't particuarly apologetic but said she would come back to us. This didn't happen so when checking out the next day we again asked about it only to be told curtly 'the maid said she didn't leave it open so you must have, what else do you want me to do.' Apart from the fact that we were out of the hotel at dinner so this was impossible you can imagine service like this took us aback slightly and left a sour end to our stay in this lovely city.

Another incident over requesting a drink apparently 10 mins before the bar opened which ended with one hotel staff member shouting at another wasn't great.

So yes visit for the location but not for the service you'd expect from a hotel that positions itself as luxurious!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelphilosophy, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear customer,

first of all thank you for expressing an opinion on TripAdvisor and we feel obliged to provide clarification regarding the comment about your stay at Palazzo Barbarigo.

We would like to point out firstly that the personnel operating at the Palazzo Barbarigo is selected with extreme care, always friendly and available to clients' needs. Department managers and the hotel manager constantly monitor and control the work of employees and the degree found in general is extremely high.

Never having encountered anything like this before, we were very surprised to learn about the incident, the hotel management was personally concerned and involved interviewing the housekeeping to understand the dynamics.

They confirmed that they have followed the usual procedure, carefully close the door once finished cleaning up the room, this explained the answer given by the reception manager that morning at check-out. We regret to read that it was perceived by you as rude and not exhaustive.

Indeed, one of the strengths of Palazzo Barbarigo is located right in the extreme attention of ensuring the privacy and security of guests’ personal belongings, as well as their privacy and the care of their needs with extreme discretion.

These aspects have identified and made us popular in time even with very demanding travelers from around the world.

We are so sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel, but sure of having done our best, we hope to be able to have you again here at Palazzo Barbarigo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Finding the Palazzo on a chilly dark afternoon in February is not for the faint hearted. Don't look now sprang to mind as we were directed down a scarily narrow passagway to enter the back of the building. By far the best way would be to get a water taxi and arrive elegantly at the small platform on the Grand Canal and welcomed by the charming desk manager and his staff. The hotel is small,intimate and sexy. It is romantic and dark with big comfy beds and most rooms have a view of either the Grand Canal or one of the little side canals. Venice is totally amazing and this hotel is perfestly situated to be able to explore everywhere on foot. Being on the San Palo side of the canal it is quieter than the other side which I imagine is very desirable as Venice gets more busy. A good breakfast is included and served till 11AM. My only criticism is its very darkly lit in the bathroom so putting makeup on was a challenge. I emerged like a clown. OK for carnival but not clever at other times

Room Tip: try and get a canal view and 1st floor. Rooms at the back are smaller and darker
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The location is great, right on the grande canal and close to a lot of other things - restaurants, shopping, rialto bridge, but far enough out of the way from the hordes. The hotel presents well and is very clean, and the staff were all very nice.

The rooms are massive, but if you are after a view of the grande canal then you are going to need to upgrade to a suite. Our room faced a small canal and square, and was nice, very large but it really missed a few pieces of furniture - no coffee table or lounge chairs. its a bit of case of design over function and could easily be rectified.

The bar area is usually quiet but the canapes and prosecco for new years was very good and the bar manager is a real asset for this hotel.

The internet is a bit of an issue still, but once you learn where the signal is in the bar its ok.... (in the middle of the room worked best), and we found the breakfast area a little cramped and hidden behind glass cases for a hotel of this style. As others have noted there is no restaurant for dinner and room service is very restricted - there are many other options outside though... we really loved the little wine bars through the imposing orange doors with no signs!

Room Tip: if you are not needing the view of the grand canal take a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Como, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I red previous review, and I was aware of the walking entrance of the hotel, not esy to find, but with a map and asking around you will get there. staff told me that neighbour are not allowing to hang hotel signs on their walls.
once there the hotel is amazing, nice furniture, excellent bed, with nice linen, very good clima, individually controlled, the staff was very nice and kind. room very quiet.
breakfast more than ok, though they dont set up the " classic " buffet.
good food quality including fresh fruit, pineapple, tangerine, pear and apple.
we had a room on the side canal, with a glimpse of the " grand canal"
the hotel fully deserve the 4 stars. price for value 6 stars.


I regret i spent one night only. I will not wait another 50 year to travel to Venice again and to the hotel barbarigo.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank filippo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
1,892 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#23 of 386 in Venice
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 386 in Venice
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Address: San Polo 2765, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Venice, boutique hotel on the Grand Canal In an exciting and fascinating setting, the Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo awaits you in Venice with spaces and rooms evoking an enchanting atmosphere, perfectly blended with the seductive and romantic soul of our wonderful city. Elegant furnishings and original 16th century elements make Palazzo Barbarigo a unique hotel in Venice, where a refined setting and all the most modern amenities will make your stay an esclusive and unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing