We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and beautiful hotel! Read for Travel Tip!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #20 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and beautiful hotel! Read for Travel Tip!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I spent a while looking at various reviews on hotels to find the perfect one to take my wife away for her 40th birthday - In the end I decided on the Palazzo Stern and was not dissappointed. Even in the basic double room the furnishings were beautiful and you could not ask more from the friendly hotel staff. In summary I give this 5 stars for
- Perfect location (Vaperetto stop just outside, on the grand canal, 5 minutes walk to loads of good bars, restaurants and shops)
- Lovely hotel (clean, beautifully restored palace, quiet nights sleep!)
- Good Value for money (not mega cheap, but not expensive given the quality of the room)
I would highly recommend this for a romantic getaway to venice.

Top tip - if coming from Marco Polo Airport get the boat (Alilaguna) to the Rialto (Orange Line), jump off and onto the local Vaperetto (and travel a couple of stops to the Ca Rezzonico and you're there! You can get tickets at the airport for the Alilaguna (25euros return) and buy individual tickets on the local Vaparetto if you haven't bought a 48 hour or 72 hour pass (recommended) - You can buy 24/48/72 hour tickets at the Rialto Stop during daytime.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review!

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,350
    239
    54
    7
    13
See reviews for
345
1,046
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect! It is in a quiet street in the center of Venezia and you can easily go everywhere walking from the hotel. A vaporetto station is otherwise at 10 meters from the hotel. The staff is kind, attentionate and helpful. The room was great, big, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious and varied and if the weather is great you can take it on the terrace in front of the Great Canal. When we'll come back, we certainly will book the same hotel.

Room Tip: We took a room for 3 and even if we hadn't a view on the Great Canal we enjoyed a lot the space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you soon again.
Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chernex (CH)
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Location is perfect (protected from the San Marco crowd, between academia and rialto bridges, but still very close to San Marco and Ducale palazzo by walk or by boat, vaporetto station just in front of the hotel, very practical). The view over the canal grande is splendid and the terrace for the (excellent) breakfast is really nice. The rooms are cosy, well decorated and you feel the history of the building almost everywhere. Typical and excellent restaurants around the place.
Staff is professional and helpful. Maybe one small comment on the use of the spa, that was not clear to us before going there (it needs a quite long preparation time and extra costs are requested, maybe this is good to know).
Anyway, our stay in the hotel was absolutely perffeto!

Room Tip: room with view over the canal (east side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PascalVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
We all look forward to welcome you again here!
Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

There are few better locations in venice for a hotel! The palazzo stern is ideal for a romantic stay in venice. The staff is very friendly, helpful and with attention to details. They offered a little surprise as birthday present! The breakfast is delicious with a great and fine choice. There is a vaporetto station just outside the hotel, which is very convenient.
Only disappointment is the roof top jacuzzi that is charged 70euros per hour if you want to use it.
Overall a very recommendable address in the heart of Venice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Buongiorno!

I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to have the chance to welcome you soon again.
Yes the Jacuzzi has a charge and it include a bottle of prosecco with snacks (so not bad 70 € for all these things!!!).

Thank you and have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Hotel in best location, right on the banks of Canale Grande and with great view, very stylish interior decoration, perfect, efficient and very friendly service starting from welcome until farewell. Our room (junior suite) was big, well furnitured, very clean. In short: everything as we had expected it, maybe even better!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eberhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Buongiorno!

I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We all look forward to welcome you again!!!
Have a great day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,862 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,760 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
1,977 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#14 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing