We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good time with friendly people”
Review of B&B San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B San Marco
Ranked #12 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My partner and I enjoyed our stay at San Marco's very much. We chose the large room and loved our afternoon siestas listening to the lapping waves in the canal below. It was a great retreat from the hot afternoons of August this year. The owners were especially nice to us. Helping us navigate the Venice Biennale and what would be the best restaurant for that late evening meal. The only issue is carrying our suitcases up the stairs. That was hard! But it was worth it; especially sharing time with this lovely Italian family and their friends. Russell and Jo

Room Tip: Big one is the best but the other rooms are good too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

I was in Italy with my sister in March and we spent 3 days and 2 nights in Venice. Needless to Venice is gorgeous, but we were even more thrilled with our accommodation at San Marco. When we got there, Marco was extremely welcoming, he showed us to our room, spent time with us in the common kitchen to recommend us places to go, how best to get there, and even recommend restaurants to us!

The room itself was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. The only drawback was that the bathroom was shared, but it was very clean and well maintained, so we had no problems. Our room even had a nice view of a canal, and when the sun came out, it was a breathtaking sight!

If I ever go back to Venice again, I'd be sure to stay at San Marco again! It's prices are very affordable by Venice standards, and the stay was more than satisfactory.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paritamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Our booking with B&B San Marco was last minute, but because of a cancellation, they were able to accommodate my husband and I for a couple of nights. Clear directions, including a map, were emailed to us to accurately guide us through the labyrinth streets of
Venice. Less than ten minutes from the boat stop. Just a fantastic location! Very quiet, clean and comfortable. The large bathroom is shared between three rooms, but it was never a problem. And an additional bathroom is in future plans. The hosts were extremely helpful in directing us to our particular areas of interest, and also recommended wonderful restaurants off the beaten path. I definitely recommend it to singles or couples who don't love hotel living, and want local flavor!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I recently spent a few nights in the apartment of the B&B San Marco, with my 2 year old son and mother. It was perfect - great location, extremely comfortable, with all amenities and lots of space. Alice and Marco are tremendous hosts - extremely welcoming and generous and will give you as much information as you want right down to where the local supermarket is. In addition, Alice has a 6 month old baby who my son adored and played with from time to time, so everyone was happy. We were there for the Biennale, and the location was perfect - but even if you were going for sightseeing it's still a brilliant location, just past San Marco and at the centre of everything but still managing to be off the beaten track. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirandapope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. Reasonable prices for being Venice. Room was huge and always clean. Alice and Marco were great hosts and recommended good places to visit. It was quiet and very central.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malaky_shish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 384 in Venice
1,879 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 384 in Venice
1,852 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#121 of 384 in Venice
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 384 in Venice
2,416 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 384 in Venice
1,946 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#160 of 384 in Venice
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B San Marco

Address: Castello 3385 / L | Fondamenta San Giorgio degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range: €77 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 cosy rooms overlooking the canal in central Venice, traditional b&b where residents really live and run since more than 12 years, friendly atmosphere the hosts dedicate time, information, advices for guests, and Marco is a real expert of Venice and grow up in the house :-) to travel low cost enjoing the real luxe: to live genuine experience of the local culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your B&B San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast San Marco
b&b San Marco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing