We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room and view ”
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #57 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

The room and view we had at hotel Becher is our favourite from our recent Italian vacation.

The room was romantic and looked directly out over a small canal. We loved hearing the gondolas going by in the evenings; it felt very special.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PTDeaconHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017

The hotel is in a great location and the breakfast was good, but I did not like this hotel room at all. It was a standard double room that was very, very small and appeared to be room added in the lobby of the hotel. It definitely did not look like the picture on their web site. There was not even room for a second suitcase. The ceiling was only about 7 1/2 ft high so you felt very closed in. The bathroom was a decent size, but the shower was a plastic 2 1/2 x 2 1/2 ft square that opened from the corner. Fortunately we could get in and out of it. But a heavy person would not have been able to. Our room was on the canal which was probably the cause of a bad mosquito problem. They gave us some type of fumigator that did get rid of the mosquito, but you had to unplug the TV to plug it in. The cost of 220 E was very pricey for this room. I realize that space is at a premium in Venice, but this price of this room was way too much for what we got.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room. Not one in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the hotel Becher.
The manager Anna was very nice and helpful. She helped us with directions on where to go as one can get easily lost in Venice. As it was our 10th year anniversary, we requested a room overlooking the canal and she kindly gave one to us.
Breakfast was great with pastries and cold meats and cheese.
A good choice for anyone staying in Venice. Nice atmosphere and lovely staff!
Thank you hotel Becher, particularly Anna for a very special anniversary experience.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Twjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We arrived on the night of a terrible thunder storm, and the water level was so high that the water taxi could not drop us off at the dock as he couldn’t get under one of the bridges, so dropped us at the grand canal with directions, it was easy to find but we arrived soaking wet even clothes in our cases were wet…….. Not really the start to the holiday I had planned, any way we spent the first hour or so with an ironing and ironing board drying out our clothes with our shoes in the sink under a towel with the hair dryer hose to get them dry, it worked a treat. We were pleased with our room it did overlook the canal and was wonderful to wake up to this seeing the gondolas and boats go by. It was great value compared to some of the hotels in Venice. It’s in a great location, very easy to walk to anywhere from, and easy to get to the grand canal to get a water bus. The breakfast room is a bit tight, but the breakfast was really good and on our second day they reserved a table for us to sit on the dock outside which was lovely but nearly spoilt by someone coming out to smoke, while we were eating. Compared to the other hotel we stayed in this was by far better. We ate at the little restaurant opposite, we were very late the first night and the pizza and wine were good and a real bargain. The second night my husband had sea bass which was good but expensive for what it was. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinersTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Very Old, Dated rooms. Friendly staff and service. Limited Breakfast Choices. We were put in a corner room which had an extra bed but carpet, beddings were just old and yucky with very low ceiling and stuffy room. we requested for a room swap the next day and they granted this with a much better room. Book here if you want centrally located hotel as the location is just superb right next to St Mark's Square. But be forewarned re the conditions of the rooms. they have a private jetty, very convenient for those arriving via private water taxi.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner room at all means! Stuffy, low ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxe_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
786 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 387 in Venice
939 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#75 of 387 in Venice
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#50 of 387 in Venice
1,316 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#64 of 387 in Venice
777 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#62 of 387 in Venice
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: €74 - €293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing