We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
669
286
54
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
669
286
54
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canal view water taxi watch the gondolas private landing rialto bridge gondolas passing family room teatro la fenice san marco small hotel junior suite breakfast room small canal lovely hotel gondola ride stay in venice booked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

The hotel is in a great location and the breakfast was good, but I did not like this hotel room at all. It was a standard double room that was very, very small and appeared to be room added in the lobby of the hotel. It definitely did not look like the picture on their web site. There was not even room for a second suitcase. The ceiling was only about 7 1/2 ft high so you felt very closed in. The bathroom was a decent size, but the shower was a plastic 2 1/2 x 2 1/2 ft square that opened from the corner. Fortunately we could get in and out of it. But a heavy person would not have been able to. Our room was on the canal which was probably the cause of a bad mosquito problem. They gave us some type of fumigator that did get rid of the mosquito, but you had to unplug the TV to plug it in. The cost of 220 E was very pricey for this room. I realize that space is at a premium in Venice, but this price of this room was way too much for what we got.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room. Not one in the lobby
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the hotel Becher.
The manager Anna was very nice and helpful. She helped us with directions on where to go as one can get easily lost in Venice. As it was our 10th year anniversary, we requested a room overlooking the canal and she kindly gave one to us.
Breakfast was great with pastries and cold meats and cheese.
A good choice for anyone staying in Venice. Nice atmosphere and lovely staff!
Thank you hotel Becher, particularly Anna for a very special anniversary experience.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Twjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We arrived on the night of a terrible thunder storm, and the water level was so high that the water taxi could not drop us off at the dock as he couldn’t get under one of the bridges, so dropped us at the grand canal with directions, it was easy to find but we arrived soaking wet even clothes in our cases were wet…….. Not really the start to the holiday I had planned, any way we spent the first hour or so with an ironing and ironing board drying out our clothes with our shoes in the sink under a towel with the hair dryer hose to get them dry, it worked a treat. We were pleased with our room it did overlook the canal and was wonderful to wake up to this seeing the gondolas and boats go by. It was great value compared to some of the hotels in Venice. It’s in a great location, very easy to walk to anywhere from, and easy to get to the grand canal to get a water bus. The breakfast room is a bit tight, but the breakfast was really good and on our second day they reserved a table for us to sit on the dock outside which was lovely but nearly spoilt by someone coming out to smoke, while we were eating. Compared to the other hotel we stayed in this was by far better. We ate at the little restaurant opposite, we were very late the first night and the pizza and wine were good and a real bargain. The second night my husband had sea bass which was good but expensive for what it was. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarinersTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Very Old, Dated rooms. Friendly staff and service. Limited Breakfast Choices. We were put in a corner room which had an extra bed but carpet, beddings were just old and yucky with very low ceiling and stuffy room. we requested for a room swap the next day and they granted this with a much better room. Book here if you want centrally located hotel as the location is just superb right next to St Mark's Square. But be forewarned re the conditions of the rooms. they have a private jetty, very convenient for those arriving via private water taxi.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner room at all means! Stuffy, low ceiling
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxe_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this beautiful hotel after a cruise. It was the perfect end to our holiday, and our room was lovely with a 4 poster bed. Although we didn't have a view from our window, it really doesn't matter, as most of our time was spent out and about in Venice.
We took the Aliluguna ferry from the cruise terminal, and got off at San Marco, Vallaresso. This is the best stop for easy access to the hotel, with only 1 bridge to heave your cases over.
The staff are very welcoming and friendly, and we found the choice at breakfast to be very good. There was cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs and pancakes. Also various delicious cakes and pastries.
The location is perfect, around 10 minutes walk from San Marco, and in a lovely area full of amazing shops and galleries.
The style of the hotel is typical Venetian, with fabric covered walls, and lovely furniture in all the areas. The breakfast room is tiny, but so quaint!
We used a private water taxi to the airport for convenience. It's pretty expensive at £120, but a great experience and well worth budgeting for. It was like being in a James Bond movie!
I loved this hotel, and would love to stay here again some time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews