We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,032)
Filter reviews
1,032 results
Traveller rating
670
287
54
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
287
54
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canal view water taxi watch the gondolas rialto bridge private landing gondolas passing family room teatro la fenice san marco singing gondoliers small hotel junior suite breakfast room small canal the hotel staff lovely hotel gondola ride
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 1,032 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here last August, 2012 for four nights. It was our first time in Venice. Hotel Becher was the perfect location to discover Venice, being situated at the centre of San Marco district and within 5 minutes walk from the San Marco Square. It is a small little boutique hotel hidden in a narrow alley, but right from the entrance, was clean and air conditioned. We rented the family room (hard to find in Venice), which offered surprisingly plenty of space for our family, which includes two grown teenagers. Right from when we disembarked from our water taxi, we felt the warmth, welcome and genuine hospitality from the front staff. Both front clerks, Anna and Massimo, offered consistent, friendly and helpful service throughout our stay, making us feel like part of a family. Another big plus was the included buffet breakfast, which was one of the best I've seen - fresh and full of variety. The ladies serving the breakfast were super helpful and very courteous. The best location and the best value - you will not be disappointed! We will visit again!

Room tip: If you are travelling with three or more, pay extra to get the family room.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank O J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed here last week for 5 nights... The hotel staff make the place, so helpful and friendly. Especially in giving tips on where to go/see and places to eat etc.

The hotel itself is in an ideal location, 5 minutes walk from the Water Bus stop (San Marco) that you get from the Airport (the best way to go IMO). Also only 5 minutes from St.Mark's Square and also The Rialto in the other direction. The rooms are clean, warm, nicely decorated, and cleaned daily, and the shower/bathroom is nice too (important for me). We stayed in a 'Superior' room and would recommend this for the value for money.

The breakfast put on by the hotel, although fairly basic, was decent and kept us going for a few hours until lunch.

Would definitely recommend staying at Hotel Becher.... Go get lost in Venice, great fun!

Room tip: Go for a 'Superior' room with a Canal view
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomP1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Hotel Becher is a small hotel (only 17 rooms) 5 minutes from Place St-Marc and the Water Bus Station.
The service is excellent and the room decorated in typical Italian style. Breakfast are served in a quaint room beside the canal and a good variety of food ,not usually offered in a "continental breakfast, is available.
The staff was very helpful in recommending good restaurants. and making arrangements for our departure
I has been quite an adventure to find the hotel in the rain and in the dark upon our arrival, even with precises directions, but that is the fun of being in Venice, i.e. getting lost!!
Everything was very clean and well kept.
We will stay there again when we visit Venice.

Room tip: Try to have a room on the canal. It is more expensive but it is quite an experience to have the gondolas with signers and musicians passing under you window late in the afternoon.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

After disembarking from our cruise, my husband and I set off to find the hotel. It's not easy to locate after the first time. We made arrangements with the ship to have our luggage brought to directly to the hotel which is a plus. Arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by the friendly staff who was able to answer our questions about transportation and sites to visit. Our room was located on the third floor and with a large sitting area in front of our room. The elevators are very small but we were able to fit with two large suitcases. Our room was large and had a nice size bathroom. Our window opened up over the canal and near the bridge. The air conditioner worked but decided to open the windows when it got warm. (Voices carry from the bridge so beware). Nice sized armoire to hang your clothes, The second day there was no hot water and the staff manager came up right away. We got hot water after 30 minutes. The breakfast was filling and breakfast area a bit cramped. We would definitely return again.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazycruiser59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

a very nice hotel, conveniently located near to st mark's square, yet off the beaten track so as to be quiet. the hotel has a private landing on a canal, so arriving/leaving via taxi is the way to go! the staff are extremely nice and friendly and helpful; that alone makes the stay worthwhile. the breakfasts are fine, with enough food to tide you over 'till your next meal.

it should be noted that the rooms do differ in size and views. we had three people travelling together and had three different (types of) rooms: my room was a single, on the ground floor, and was small with quite low ceilings. i had a window on the canal; the water level at high tide was just about 3 feet below the window. for me, it was claustrophobic. but i must admit that for the (low) price that i paid, it was very reasonably priced. one other of our rooms was very-good sized, but had a view of an interior air shaft. and the third room that we had was enormous and had a private balcony over the canal. all were, in my opinion, appropriately priced; you got what you paid for.

i would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joesob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews