We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Choice”
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #57 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2012

In all our travels, we have always managed to choose 'the perfect accommodation'. Not sure whether this is just good luck, or good research. In Venice, one is spoilt for choice. So many good accommodations.
HOTEL BECHER exceeded our expectations.
We booked through Booking.com, and right from the start, the communication was prompt - I even recieved an email from the hotel confirming my booking (and also confirming my request for a room with a canal view)
Knowing that the hotel has a private landing on the canal, we decided to take a water-taxi from the station. We were met at the landing by Massimo, who is the son of the owner- Massimo is also the manager.
He welcomed us, and lifted our luggage from the water taxi- things were looking up. A lovely welcome.
Check in was swift, and our luggage was taken to our canal facing room.
The room was.........just beautiful. Typical Venetian furbishing, with heavy brocaded curtains and bedspreads, Murano glass lamps, and deep pile carpet. The bathroom modern, clean and well lit.
After a wander around the hotel we went down to the landing, where there is a sitting area, with tables & chairs- and sat watching the Gondolas float by while sipping on tall glasses of icy cold fresh fruit juice. This spot we frequented daily, for breakfast, teas and at night after exploring the city.
The hotel is on a side canal, which was good. Noise levels were low, and water traffic busiest in late afternoons. At night it was quiet, only the lapping sound of the canal audible. Mozart stayed in a villa just opposite Hotel Becher. There is a plaque about his stay, with info and dates..
We had originally booked only 3 nights here, but loved Venice, and Hotel becher so much that we extended our stay to 8 days. Massimo was kind enough to juggle some other bookings around, and we managed to stay in the same room- except for our last night (of which I will post another hotel review)- Hotel Bechers 17 rooms were fully booked for our last night, so Massimo recommended another. He was so helpful , even moving our luggage himself (in his small motorboat) to the other hotel. Such quality service is rare, in my experience.
I can recomend this hotel with absolute confidence.

Unique Qualities: The breakfasts were pure joy. Served between 6.30am and 10 am, with traditional hot or Continental choices. Fresh juice (3 types)
The view and sounds from our room, and the landing, of canals with the singing Gondaliers made 'staying home' a pleasure. Often the midday sun was very hot, and we retreated to our hotel for a rest when this happened.
Free Wi-Fi and Flat Screen television in rooms.
Cleanliness and friendly staff.
Great location- within 5 mins to Piazza St Marco and surrounding shops and restuarants.

Address: San Marco 1857, Venice, 30010, Italy
Comparison: less expensive than average
Price: US$80-120
Theme: Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for canal facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elloraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 414 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

This little hotel is initially very hard to find but once you find it, it is a excellent start to visit Venice. You are close enough from everything but not too close to be in a quiet area. Once you get use to the city mazed, you noticed that the hotel is very central. Also they have their on very small deck for boats. You are minutes away from everything; shopping, historic locations and restaurant. In fact you are right in the middle, that's why the prices are all very high. The staff is excellent and helpful. The breakfast area is small but just enough, same thing for the breakfast. We needed a little bigger room for our party and had the family room. It was very spacious for Europe but a little old and needed some cleaning on the carpet and walls. It I go back to venice, this hotel will be on the top of the list.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CdnTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

It's almost impossible to find anything to fault at this hotel. Our e mail booking was directly with the hotel and from that moment on we met with nothing but efficiency and kindness from the hotel staff. We booked the principal room which has a balcony overlooking the canal and what a great choice it was. The room was immaculately clean and beautifully presented with sumptuous fabrics and chandeliers. It was extremely spacious with ample room to store our possessions - we've never mastered the art of travelling light so like to have plenty of cupboard space. There was an in-room bar and, astonishingly, very reasonably priced. Being English, we do like a cuppa so an in-room kettle is a bonus. Well no kettle here but a samovar instead! This hotel treats you like a tsar. The bathroom was spacious with modern attactive fittings plus complimentary quality toiletries though be aware that the water easily escapes below the shower screen on to the bathroom floor. Towels, bathrobes, free slippers - all were top quality. Breakfast was ample to keep you going through the day. There was a fine choice of food and the breakfast room, though small, looks out onto the canal. You can even have breakfast on the private jetty.


Another bonus of the hotel is its central location just yards from the Fenice (take their excellent audio tour) and 5-10 minutes to St Mark's square, Campo San Stefano, Rialto, Accademia, etc. But tucked down a side street it is quietly hidden from the surrounding bustle. Walking with luggage from the nearest vaporetto stop is not ideal so treat yourself and arrive by water taxi. Sometimes you have to do things in style.


An abiding memory of our stay at the Becher is being on the balcony at dusk watching the procession of gondolas below. It is a particularly favoured spot for those who hire singers to serenade their journey, their voices echoing between the narrow canal walls. You'll hear all the standard Italian classics: O Sole Mio, Santa Lucia, Volare, Funiculi Funicula (sp?) as well as others not in the classic repertoire including Roll out the Barrel, You don't have to say you love me, and Delilah. It was very tempting to join in. Indeed on one occasion 9 South Korean brides in full white wedding regalia, plus their bridegrooms, went past us. Now there's something you don't see every day of the week!

Back in London we were telling our cabbie about our holiday and he said he was looking to stay in Venice. We gave the Becher an unqualified recommendation and he dutifully wrote it down. For London cab drivers, and for all, the Becher will impress..

Room Tip: The main room with the balcony. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beauchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Reviews on hotels are difficult to write where all you have for a yard stick is comparison of hotels from other countries if you haven't stayed in Venice before. Anyway, we were offered a choice of canal view (room 102) or no canal view. We chose the canal view room which was very small as the view was all we could've wanted. The room size may prove a problem for some. The bathroom was a good size.
The A/C packed up on the last night but I didn't complain as it wasn't worth the trouble.
You MUST have breakfast on the jetty and have a coffee there in the evening. The atmosphere and experience I found truly magical (coffee is free of charge and could be got from a machine on the first floor) .
Breakfast is somewhat scant but that is probably true for many hotels in Venice.
This is a small family run hotel and the staff are very helpful.
So would I come to Venice again and if so would I stay in this hotel. Well the answer is definitely yes to both, although I would try and see if a larger room available with a canal view.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbosyourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Great location , only a short walk to st marks square . Room was clean with a real Venetian feel with a balcony overlooking one of the canals . It was nice just to be able to watch the gondolas pass by during the day . Think that you would have to state that you wanted a room with a balcony when booking . The Breakfast included was very good . Staff were friendly .

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinjackwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
788 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#51 of 387 in Venice
1,318 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#22 of 387 in Venice
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#41 of 387 in Venice
940 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#64 of 387 in Venice
782 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#74 of 387 in Venice
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: €74 - €293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing