We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$512
US$481
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Ca' Vendramin di Santa Fosca(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$312
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$383
US$276
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$365
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$425
US$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rialto(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$246
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$271
US$222
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Al Codega(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$327
US$287
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Dei Dragomanni(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$236
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,018)
Filter reviews
1,018 results
Traveller rating
660
283
54
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
660
283
54
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal viewwater taxiwatch the gondolasprivate landingrialto bridgegondolas passingfamily roomteatro la fenicesan marcosmall hoteljunior suitebreakfast roomsmall canallovely hotelsmall roomgondola ridestay in venice
Filter
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 1,018 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This little hotel is initially very hard to find but once you find it, it is a excellent start to visit Venice. You are close enough from everything but not too close to be in a quiet area. Once you get use to the city mazed, you noticed that the hotel is very central. Also they have their on very small deck for boats. You are minutes away from everything; shopping, historic locations and restaurant. In fact you are right in the middle, that's why the prices are all very high. The staff is excellent and helpful. The breakfast area is small but just enough, same thing for the breakfast. We needed a little bigger room for our party and had the family room. It was very spacious for Europe but a little old and needed some cleaning on the carpet and walls. It I go back to venice, this hotel will be on the top of the list.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CdnTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

It's almost impossible to find anything to fault at this hotel. Our e mail booking was directly with the hotel and from that moment on we met with nothing but efficiency and kindness from the hotel staff. We booked the principal room which has a balcony overlooking the canal and what a great choice it was. The room was immaculately clean and beautifully presented with sumptuous fabrics and chandeliers. It was extremely spacious with ample room to store our possessions - we've never mastered the art of travelling light so like to have plenty of cupboard space. There was an in-room bar and, astonishingly, very reasonably priced. Being English, we do like a cuppa so an in-room kettle is a bonus. Well no kettle here but a samovar instead! This hotel treats you like a tsar. The bathroom was spacious with modern attactive fittings plus complimentary quality toiletries though be aware that the water easily escapes below the shower screen on to the bathroom floor. Towels, bathrobes, free slippers - all were top quality. Breakfast was ample to keep you going through the day. There was a fine choice of food and the breakfast room, though small, looks out onto the canal. You can even have breakfast on the private jetty.

Another bonus of the hotel is its central location just yards from the Fenice (take their excellent audio tour) and 5-10 minutes to St Mark's square, Campo San Stefano, Rialto, Accademia, etc. But tucked down a side street it is quietly hidden from the surrounding bustle. Walking with luggage from the nearest vaporetto stop is not ideal so treat yourself and arrive by water taxi. Sometimes you have to do things in style.

An abiding memory of our stay at the Becher is being on the balcony at dusk watching the procession of gondolas below. It is a particularly favoured spot for those who hire singers to serenade their journey, their voices echoing between the narrow canal walls. You'll hear all the standard Italian classics: O Sole Mio, Santa Lucia, Volare, Funiculi Funicula (sp?) as well as others not in the classic repertoire including Roll out the Barrel, You don't have to say you love me, and Delilah. It was very tempting to join in. Indeed on one occasion 9 South Korean brides in full white wedding regalia, plus their bridegrooms, went past us. Now there's something you don't see every day of the week!

Back in London we were telling our cabbie about our holiday and he said he was looking to stay in Venice. We gave the Becher an unqualified recommendation and he dutifully wrote it down. For London cab drivers, and for all, the Becher will impress..

Room Tip: The main room with the balcony. Perfect.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beauchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Reviews on hotels are difficult to write where all you have for a yard stick is comparison of hotels from other countries if you haven't stayed in Venice before. Anyway, we were offered a choice of canal view (room 102) or no canal view. We chose the canal view room which was very small as the view was all we could've wanted. The room size may prove a problem for some. The bathroom was a good size.
The A/C packed up on the last night but I didn't complain as it wasn't worth the trouble.
You MUST have breakfast on the jetty and have a coffee there in the evening. The atmosphere and experience I found truly magical (coffee is free of charge and could be got from a machine on the first floor) .
Breakfast is somewhat scant but that is probably true for many hotels in Venice.
This is a small family run hotel and the staff are very helpful.
So would I come to Venice again and if so would I stay in this hotel. Well the answer is definitely yes to both, although I would try and see if a larger room available with a canal view.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbosyourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Great location , only a short walk to st marks square . Room was clean with a real Venetian feel with a balcony overlooking one of the canals . It was nice just to be able to watch the gondolas pass by during the day . Think that you would have to state that you wanted a room with a balcony when booking . The Breakfast included was very good . Staff were friendly .

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinjackwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My husband and I !! - have just returned from our honeymoon a one week stay at the Hotel Becher. It was wonderful. The hotel is ideally placed for walking a short distance to all the major attractions - The Doges Palace, St Marks Basillica, The Academia and is right next to the wonderful Fenice theatre where we were fortunate enough to see a performance of La traviata. Prior to our stay I emailed the Hotel to request a canal side room. They could not have been more helpful. We were fortunate that this was granted and how wonderful it was! The rooms are on the small side but you expect that in a city like Venice (Rome is the same) but was perfectly adequate for us and all my luggage. The walls are padded material which made the room feel luxurious. We had a Juliette balcony and patio doors which we inevitably kept open so that we could hear the singing Gondoliers passing by. It was heaven. Breakfast was great, continental style but plenty of choice and as much tea and coffe as you would like. Hotel staff were the nicest we have encountered and are willing to help with anything. We took the Water Taxi from the hotel to Murano (provided by the factory to encourage you to buy) which was a fabulous experience. We had it all to ourselves and felt like Film Stars! We did buy some (expensive) jewellery at the Glass factory but it is beautiful. If you book this hotel you will not be disappointed we were amazed at the standard of the hotel for the very competitive rate and would not hestitate to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal room it is worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews