We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #31 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We stayed in this hotel over a weekend in December to celebrate our wedding anniversary.The Hotel was wonderful,in a great position ,with friendly and helpful staff and a beautifully appointed and comfortable room.The weekend was booked through the agents "Italian Journeys" who could not do enough for us and arranged the WaterTaxi from the airport to the hotel,booked tickets for La Fenice Opera House,and laid on a champagne breakfast in our room for the first morning.We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,384 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2007

I am a regular visitor to Venice and visit at least 3 times a year, I have just returned from a 4 day visit with my sister, we stayed in a hotel which was new to us. Hotel a la Commedia, perfect in every way, rooms were modern with a traditional twist, spotless and clean and a bathroom to die for. Location was spot on also, just off the Campo San Luca 5 mins walk to Rialto Bridge and 10 mins from San Marco. It is situated in a quite little corner, away from the noisy alley ways. Breakfast was superb, everything you could wish for, and served in a smart breakfast room with pleasant staff. We had drinks in the bar also served by smart and efficient staff, and the prices were not extortionate. The bar was furnished with comfortable chairs and was beautifully decorated, with flowers and christmas floral bowls. I could have sat there all evening. Reception staff were excellent, helpful,polite but also very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. I have already booked to go again and take my husband for a special birthday treat. Looking forward to the next visit. My last and final comment is that I cannot praise it enough !!

6  Thank afrequentvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2007

Date 25/11/2007
I have just returned to Belfast after spending 4 nights in your beautiful hotel and would like to thankyou for a most enjoyable stay.Your hotel was excellent and the staff so very helpful and courteous. It's location was also a big bonus.
Venice is so very beautiful and it's history is fascinating, no doubt I will return one day and will certainly stay in A La Commedia again!
Regards
Clare Doherty

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank callasBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2007

Spent 4 nights in Venice in the care of La Commedia hotel and although I had read some "horror" reviews on TripAdvisor prior to going we were very impressed with this hotel. We were placed on the 3rd floor in a standard double but the room was superb with probably the best bathroom we had ever encountered and it even came with a small balcony from where we could see the Campanile in San Marco. The hotel staff were excellent and very friendly as were the waiters in the breakfast room, all in all we could not fault it and would certainly recommend staying there.
I did investigate the previously reported "noise problem" one night and found one bar, separate from the hotel, that was noisier than the others but as the receptionist commented later it is very quiet in Venice late at night (no traffic etc.) and I'm not sure what could be done as I'm sure the bar will have a licence. We certainly could not hear a thing and had 4 excellent nights stay.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Venice and would recommend:
a) Bascilica di San Marco, be there for 9am to get in as soon as the doors open (9:30) and go upstairs (extra €3)
b) Campanile di San Giorgio, excellent views from the bell tower (see photo)
c) Alla Zucca, a trattoria in Santa Groce district (excellent for vegetarians)
d) Bacaro Jazz, just for the music, late night entertainment and the ceiling!
e) Good walking shoes, then take a few hours wandering through the narrow streets, you will probably get lost but continue and you will find yourself back where you started

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brightside54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2007

It's not worth the money, we had two torturous evenings. Taken in by the charming photographs and other travelers' reviews, we booked the expensive and small suite for over 400 euros a night. It was terrible. Located under the bar, all night you could hear people walking around, moving chairs, and the like. Indeed, the noise echoed through our small suite. We spent two nights tortured by this noise -- which did not cease until well after 1:00AM which was especially deadly on our departure morning which required a 4:30AM wake-up. When we complained about the noise, we received shrugs. It seems that the noise occurs when all managers with any power are gone and as we spent our days touring Venice we never talked to anyone "in control." I sent an e-mail when I returned to the US to advise management of the issue and have yet, three months later, to recieve even a courtesy reply.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
16  Thank babettetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 385 in Venice
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,912 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,153 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: €111 - €450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel A la Commedia is located in one of the most lively, interesting areas of the ancient Venice. A few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marc’s Square, the hotel is also conveniently situated close to the shopping boutiques of Venice. The city’s most fascinating mysteries and landmarks among the narrow streets and the vibrant squares are just a step away from your hotel. The elegant building, parallel to the Grand Canal and in front of the Goldoni Theatre, was beautifully restored in 2006, and now transformed in the Hotel A la Commedia. The hotel features state-of-the-art facilities in all the rooms: advances air-conditioning system, mini-bar, safe, telephone, wi-fi broadband internet, LCD flat TV with cable and satellite channels, radio, cd player and hair-dryer. The warm welcome of its staff and the beautiful atmosphere make the Hotel A la Commedia a real jewel in the heart of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing